In 1650 the parish of Cumnock was sub-divided into the two new parishes of Old Cumnock and New Cumnock. The parish of Old Cumnock was served by the existing parish church, the site of which sits at the modern day town of Cumnock. A new church was built for the parish of New Cumnock, adjacent to the site of Cumnock Castle, the ancient seat of the barons of Cumnock. This church, built in 1659, now lies in ruin and is now known locally as The Auld Kirk. The adjoining grounds, including the cemetery is known as The Auld Kirkyard.
History of the parish of New Cumnock, Ayrshire, Scotland