Make your own free website on


Aaniish Pii- When? | Zhichige Kidwinan- Verbs | Ojibwe Alphabet | Enmanjwang- Feelings | Zhigewin- Buildings
Ojibwe Alphabet

In the Ojibwe language, there are 26 letter symbols, which 19 of the English alphabet are used. These single letters are:
a, b, c, d, e, g, h, i, j, k, m, n, o, s, t, w, y, z.
The letters f, l, q, r, u, v, and x are omitted.

There are 7 vowels in the Ojibwe language:
a, aa, e, i, ii, o and oo.
There are 4 long vowels and three short vowels.
long vowels- aa, ii, oo, and e.
short vowels- a, i, and o.
There are 6 double letter symbols on the Ojibwe Alphabet, including the vowels:
aa, ch, ii, oo, sh and zh.
There is a global marker signified by the apostrohe mark '. The global stop takes place of a consanant.

Enter supporting content here