Make your own free website on Tripod.com

The Old Iligan Wharf circa 1903.

It was said that this was the place where the Boholano tobacco vendors and traders from Sulu loaded and unloaded their goods.

Source: Saber Family, Caluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

This was the third Spanish fort constructed in Iligan (Fort St. Francis Xavier, the first fort was erected in 1642). It is sometimes referred to as Fort Malcanan. Governor General Ramon Blanco and Valeriano Weyler repaired it after the 1888 and 1898 campaigns, respectively. It was washed away by the destructive flood of 1917. It stood on the eastern bank of the Iligan River in the area where the present Philippine National Bank stands.

Source: Saber Family, Caluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

The Kiosko

This octagonal structure served as the place where VIP’s were honored during ceremonies such as the Commonwealth Day celebration. In the summer months before the war, the Iligan youth would engage in singing and rondalla contests. Evenings were made memorable by the scent of jasmine trees that lined the sides of the Plaza. Spanish land posts lit up the area.

Reportedly constructed in 1921, names of the past town president mayors (the last entry being that of then Ll. Badelles Sr.) could be found at the base of the Kiosk. It gave way to "modern city" in the mid - sixties.

Source: Candida Bagamaspad – Nuņez , Caluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

It was the newly renovated building of St. Michael’s School in 1929 – 1930. It was Fr. Andrew Hoffman S.J. who was the director of the school at that time. He had done much for the renovation of the school in an effort to provide the students with better facilities.

Source: St. Michael’s College Yearbook, 1956.

A 1932 Christ the King Procession along Commercial Street, (now Quezon Avenue). The devotees had just left the church and are passing in front of the site where the present Far East Bank building stands.

Source: Candida Bagamaspad – Nuņez , Caluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

The arc of St. Micheal in 1933. This view was taken along Coco Grove, Iligan City going to old market place. It is now the street of Quezon Avenue.

Source: Iligan Public Library.

A 1933 procession in honor of "Christo Rey" by the Iligan folk. This was along Agoncillo Street. The main building of St. Michael College now blocks a portion of this area.

Source: Candida Bagamaspad – Nuņez , Cluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

 

The asphalted street of Commercial Street (now Quezon Avenue) showing a 1938 political campaign for Tomas Cabili by Women Nationalista Party supporters . Note wide slabs of lumber being displayed by "Estrelle factory" on the left side. Commerce was dominated by Chinese businessmen together with a handful of Japanese who managed sari – sari stores in the vicinity until the outbreak of Pacific War. In the evening the street would be illuminated by gas lamps dutifully lit by a hired person every 6:00 p.m. and extinguished early the following day.

Source: Candida Bagamaspad – Nuņez, Caluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

This was the fourth church erected in 1650. This edifice faced northward and was bounded on the west by the present Quezon Avenue. Its rear end should be touching portion of the new PCI Bank.

Source: Iligan Public Library.

 

This was the view of the far end of the commercial street (Quezon Avenue, now pier 1) in 1938. The occasion above was the arrival of the S/S Panay, the first inter island vessel to regularly ply the Manila – Iligan route. It was historic event for the Iliganons as shown in the festive atmosphere when the ship arrived and was welcomed. The regular voyage enable many young professionals from Luzon to come to Iligan and their contribution to the development of Iligan are now part of the community’s history.

Source: Candida Bagamaspad – Nuņez, Caluen’s Vignettes of Iligan History.

 

 

This was the faįade of St. Michael’s School taken between 1938- 1941. The Jesuits who were assigned in the town of Iligan built the school in 1941. At first was exclusive for boys but later girls were admitted. English and Spanish were among the student’s first subjects. An extension of the small building was made later to accommodate the increase in student population. The buildings were taken by the Japanese Imperial Army and were made its headquarters and garrison. A number of Filipino civilians, as well as soldiers were executed here. The Sisters went back to Manila and while others remained hidden in different parts of Mindanao. Upon the arrival of the Americans the school buildings served as a hospital and refugee center for the war victims. In 1946, these buildings were taken back by the Jesuits.

Source: St. Michael’s College Yearbook, 1956.

 

Maria Cristina Falls

Behind is the famous and legendary Maria Cristina Falls. Because of its vigorous water falls, the National Power Corporation’s "The Philippine Power Program’ and with the authorization of former President Elpidio Quirino, the hydroelectric power plant was established in 1951.

Source: St. Michael’s College Yearbook, 1956.

 

The Old Rizal Statue

This 1954 photo shows members of the City Health Department in a floral offering for the hero. The base of the statue reads "Jose P. Rizal, Patriota y Martir por El Pueblo de Iligan, Lanao". The statue is facing south with the old city hall (razed by the 1957 fire and located at the present site of the PNP Headquarters) to its back. It is said to be kept "in prison" since it is believe to have been locked up in the city jail when plaza underwent reconstruction.

Source: Clarita S. Caluen, Vignettes of Iligan History.

Image11.jpg (74153 bytes)

In 1955, the St. Michael’s School changed its name to St. Michael’s College. The grade school pupils in 1958 were selected to perform a folk dance in order to make the program livelier. The program was held at the open space of SMC’s playground at the back of the school. It was Rev. Mother Ignacia Magdalena, RVM, who was the superior – directress during that time.

Source: Mrs. Hilda Mercado

 

The Cannon

This cannon is among the very few concrete reminders of the once mighty Spanish military in Iligan. They are the same guns that guard the entrance of the Iligan Central School.

Source: Iligan Public Library.

Timoga Swimming Pool

Above picture is the 1960’s view of Timoga swimming pools. It was developed in 1986 with three additional family swimming pools. In 1990, two more swimming pools were added and big Mansion House on the top. The picture shows the pools owned by Mr. and Mrs. Marzo, Sr. Timoga spring (source of water is located at Timoga, Barangay Buru-un, 9 kilometers from the city proper). The spring is known for its "ice cold crystal clear water", freely flowing downstream to the pools.

Source: Marzo Family

 

A View of NASSCO Office.

The company hosted summer sports competitions exclusively for employee. NASSCO was a government owned National Shipyard and Steel Corporation in 1955 earlier authorized by rated steel mill. IISSMI was a joint venture of the Philippine Government and Jacinto Steel Inc., which subscribed to the 25 M pesos of the Steel Company’s capital stock on November 1960. In October 1963, IISSMI was organized and awarded the right to establish the steel mill as a private venture.

Source: Mrs.Hilda Mercado

 

This was taken in 1970. A Caltex gasoline station (present shell gasoline station) owned by Mr. and Mrs. Capuno. This old Caltex Service Center is located along Tibanga Highway.

Source : Mr. And Mrs. Fidel Capuno

 

This site was the old street of Sabayle going straight to Pier 1 of the port area. This picture was taken in the 1970’s.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

The big building shown is the Maharlika theatre at Quezon Avenue. The traffic sign shown was manually operated by using handle. More buildings and banks nearby have been erected in this today.

Source : Office of Iligan Tourism

A view inside the big industrial plant of Iligan Integrated Steel Mill Inc. It was on August 15 1965 that it started its operations as a privately owned company.

Source: Mrs.Hilda Mercado

This Mindanao Sanitarium and Hospital which was formerly known as Southern Mission Clinic. It was established in 1952. Some of the facilities of this hospital were from the Lakeside in Dansalan (now Marawi City). Operations of the hospital were transferred to Iligan because of the unstable peace and order conditions in Marawi.

Source: Mindanao Sanitarium Hospital

 

Fronting Berd's was the Mimi’s beauty parlor and restaurant, which is now XRG Pharmacy. The vacant lot on the next block (left) is today’s huge and busy Pala-o Supermarket.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

Sunburst Fried Chicken House

This was Sunburst Fried Chicken House situated beside Tino Badelles St., Pala-o Iligan City. This establishment is owned by Mr. Fernando Congmon. The restaurant’s operations in 1972 together with its Cagayan do Oro branch. This place was beautified by the owners by planting some trees and the painting of old walls. The street in front of the establishment is already cemented. It continues to serve the residents of Iligan City.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

 

The Pala-o Supermarket was built in the 1980’s because the old market could not cater to the increasing population of Iligan City. This new supermarket situated in Pala-o is bigger than the old market. Vendors display and sell varieties of commodities – from fish to fruit, to vegetables to meat and other basic needs of the people.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

 

This way to the view of today’s Rotunda of Iligan Medical Center, Pala-o.

Source: Permites Family

 

A view of the Iligan Lumber Company. Later this was made an office of the Iligan Veterans. This site is located at No.1 Araneta Corner Ramiro Streets, Barangay Poblacion Iligan City. It is now utilized as the office of the Commission on Higher Education and the Congressional Office of Congressman Mariano Ll. Badelles.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

 

 

 

The Street of Quezon Avenue

The building of the old First Iligan Savings and Loan Association is shown here. Beside the road is the Baslayan creek. More improvements had been made after the big fire occurred in 1980’s.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

A former view of the Iligan City Hall taken in the 1980’s now called Buhanginan Hill. Under the administration of Mayor Camilo P. Cabili the City Hall building was renovated, an amphi-theater was erected and the roads / streets were asphalted.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

This was Aguinaldo Street before noticeable of which is the tall building where the old Derbe Cinema and Emilia Supermarket are located. Beside is the vacant lot where the MARATEL (formerly MATELCO) Office is now situated. On the left side of this is today’s Bakers Square bakery and the adjacent building is where the Berd’s Cinema is located.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

Iligan Sea Port

Iligan Public Seaport has an area of 12, 482 square meters. Inter-island ships plying the Cebu – Iligan – Manila routes regularly dock at the place. The picture shows how pier 3 looked like before. Modern buildings and sea walls were erected.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

Tinago Falls

The Falls named so for its location is hidden in a deep ravine. The falls cascade beautifully into a basin-like pool calm, deep, and icy cold. The site is in Taytay, Barangay Bur-un, 16.5 kilometers away from the city proper. To reach the site one will have to go down the slopes. In the mid- 1990’s a hundred steps were made to make it easy for the tourist to visit the place. Lately they built cottages and two swimming pools for rent. Today, Tinago Falls is considered as one of the country’s pride.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism

 

Jade Pension House

It was established in1995 and is owned by Ms. Gilda Aguilar. Between 1993 –1995 the building was rented out by the family and thus became the office of the Maria Cristina Tourism. Today, the building has been utilized as Fleckstone Inn.

Source: Office of Iligan Tourism