There are at least two
possible derivations of this name. Firstly, from the Norman French barony of d'Agneux, via England
and Liddesdale in the Scottish Borders. Secondly, from a branch of O'Gnimh, who were the hereditary poets of the O'Neils in
The name was written in English as O'Gnive, then O'Gnyw and later O'Gnew.
Whatever its origins,
the family became established in Wigtownshire in south-west Scotland.
Andrew Agnew was appointed hereditary Sheriff of Wigtown in 1451 and his descendants hold that office to this day. Lochnaw Castle was their base with another branch in Lochryan. Andrew Agnew of Lochnaw was killed at the Battle of Pinkie in
The family prospered
and there were a number of judicious marriages with other wealthy families in the area. The 5th Baronet, Sir Andrew, commanded
a regiment at the Battle of Dettingen, Bavaria in 1743,
when King George II commanded the English and Hanoverian troops against the French (the last monarch to do so directly). When
the king commented on the way the French cavalry had penetrated Sir Andrew's troops he replied "Yes, please your Majesty,
but they didna win back again". Sir Andrew later held Blair
Castle in Perthshire against the Jacobite forces.
The 6th Baronet married
the daughter of the Irish Lord Kingsdale and the 7th Baronet inherited the title and estates. He set about rebuilding Lochnaw
castle (though it is now no longer in Agnew hands). A number of Irish Agnews emigrated to the American colonies, especially
in Pennsylvania. The 11th Baronet, Sir Crispin Agnew of
Lochnaw, is one of Scotland's leading
heraldic experts and is the Rothesay Herald at the Court of the Lord Lyon.
The Sons of Andrew: A History of the Anderson Name
former Clan Anderson Genealogist
The use of surnames started in France around the year 1100 AD, The Norman
invaders brought the practice to Scotland nearly 100 years later. However, the use of surnames was not common for some 50
years or more after this time, or around 1155AD. Prior to this, Malcolm Ceannmor (1057-1093), spouse to Queen Margaret of
Scotland directed his subjects to adopt surnames after their territorial possessions. Such was the origin of the first earls
of Scotland, such as Leslie, Gordon, Shaw, and Abircrumby among others. Written references to actual surnames are first found
during the time of David I, who reigned from 1124-1153AD. One such reference is found for Robertus de Brus (Robert the Bruce).
In light of this understanding about the use of surnames, one can appreciate
that the name ANDERSON would not be a Scandinavian name, as the Danes invaded Britain between 997-1014 AD, some 150 years
prior to the use of surnames. However, we do recognize that some Scandinavians may also bear the name.
Anderson means "Son of Andrew". Typically, the intent was to denote "servant
of Andrew", Andrew being the patron saint of Scotland. The Gaelic form of the name is Gillanders. The Andersons are a diverse
group, with no specific place from which the name is derived. Most likely, the name cropped up all over the country over a
period of time, with one group of Andersons not necessarily related to another group of Andersons.
Anderson or Ross or Donald?
Occassionally, the Anderson name is affiliated with Clan Ross, which creates
some confusion among Andersons. The first five earls of Clan Ross bore the name "Aindrea", and not Ross. They too were "Servants
of Andrew". As the title passed to descendants of the female line, the name, Ross, was assumed by the male representatives
of the earls as it referred to their territorial origin. The name "Ross" is actually derived from the District of Ross, and
is therefore a territorial name. In fact, the Ross's first referred to themselves as do the Andersons: "Andrew's Servants".
It is also possible that some descendants of Highland Andersons rightfully share a heritage with what today is the Ross Clan.
Some other Highland "Gillanders" (Servants of Andrew) may be associated with
Clan Donald, also through the female line. The Lord of the Isles (Clan Donald) assumed the title of Earl of Ross. In fact
it was Donald MacGillandrish who accompanied Moira McDonald of Clan Donald when she became the wife to a McIntosh chief in
the 1400's. their descendants became known as MacAndrew (son of the servant of Andrew). This is the origin of the affiliation
with Clan Chattan.
A Clan in its own Right
According to the Lord Lyon, there was an Anderson of that Ilk in the 1500's.
This specific Anderson is unknown to us today. But this reference verifies that the Andersons are a clan in their own right,
despite having a shared ancestry with other groups. The Anderson name shows up in many forms: Andrews, Andirsoone, Andersonne,
Andersoun, Andersoune, Andison, Andreson, Andherson, MacAndrews, Endirone, and many other
The forename Arthur may owe its origins to the Greek word "arktouros" meaning
keeper of the bears and in the Celtic world it came to mean "strong as a bear". The name is now known around the world as
a result of the legendary King Arthur who may have been a Celtic chieftain around the 6th century. The first reliable record
of the name is in Adomnan's "Life of Columba" which tells of a king of the Scots called Aedan mac Gabhrain named his son
Arthur, also in the 6th century.
The MacArthur clan is believed to have the same roots as the Campbells, but claims that further back they are descended from the legendary King Arthur,
are not provable. The clan is certainly regarded as ancient and there is a Gaelic saying "as old as the hills, the MacArthurs
and the Devil". The more established records show that they originated from the district of Lennox, part of the old kingdom
of Strathclyde and moved into Argyll. The clan seat was established at Strachur, on Loch Fyne.
The clan was at its peak in the 14th century when a MacArthur married the
heiress of the progenitor of the Campbell lords of Loch Awe. The MacArthurs from Loch Awe supported Robert the Bruce and fought at the Battle of Bannockburn. Their leader, Mac-ic-Artair, was rewarded
with land previously held by the MacDougalls of Lorne (who had supported the Comyns). The MacArthurs became keepers of Dunstaffnage castle.
When King James I attempted to subdue the Highland clans who were becoming too powerful in the
15th century, the MacArthurs were amongst those who bore the brunt of his actions. The clan chief, Iain MacArthur, who could
summon 1,000 men, was executed in 1427 and most of the clan lands were confiscated. For all practical purposes that was the
end of the clan; unlike others who suffered setbacks and managed to recover, the MacArthurs never regained their clan lands,
though the name survived as many of the clan dispersed.
For a while, a sept of the MacArthurs were the hereditary pipers of the MacDonalds of Sleat, who were frequently at odds with the Campbells. Charles MacArthur,
piper to Sir Alexander MacDonald, was a pupil of Patrick Og MacCrimmon. Another group of MacArthurs were armorours to MacDonald
Towards the end of the 15th century, and into the 16th century, a number of
MacArthurs held prominent positions in Argyll. Some of their neighbours became jealous and as a result of a skirmish on Loch
Awe, Duncan MacArthur and his son were drowned. The Earl of Argyll ordered compensation to be paid but took advantage of the
situation and appointed his nephew John to be leader of the Loch Awe MacArthurs.
In the 17th century, one of the MacArthurs of Milton in Dunoon rose to be
a baillie in Kintyre and a chamberlain to the Marquess of Montrose in Cowal. Large numbers of MacArthurs fought on both sides
during the Jacobite Uprisings in 1715 and 1745. After the '45, many emigrated to the West Indies and North America.
John MacArthur (1767-1834) came to New South Wales in Australia in 1790. He
was one of the earliest sheep farmers there (he successfully crossed Bengal and Irish sheep and later introduced the Merino
breed from South Africa). His sons planted the first vineyard in Australia.
In more modern times, US General Arthur MacArthur, whose parents came from
Glasgow in Scotland, became Lieutenant-General in the Philippines in 1906. His son, General Douglas MacArthur, became even
more famous in the Pacific and the Philippines during WW2 as commander of the US forces in the Far East.
The last clan chief of the MacArthurs died in India in the 1780s. He had no
obvious male heir and so the hereditary chiefdom of the clan seemed to have died with him. But after a long gap, Canadian-born
James Edward Moir MacArthur was recognized by the Lord Lyon in August 2002 as the Arthur clan chief. The new chief was 87
at that date and lived in Edinburgh. He had not sought the title - the research was initiated by a group of senior clan members.
The genealogist had to go back to the 16th century to find a common ancestor for the last chief, Charles MacArthur of Tirivadich.
The Lord Lyon further decreed that the Chief of Clan Arthur's shield should be "three antique crowns Or (gold) set on an Azure
(blue) background". The silver cross molene which, up until now, was thought to form part of the Clan Arthur Chief's shield,
has been omitted. James MacArthur's coat of arms now reverts to the earliest, original arms of Clan Arthur, a shield identical
to the description given in ancient manuscripts for the legendary King Arthur's blazon. James MacArthur was officially inaugurated
in April 2003 but the old chief died in April 2004.
The MacArthur clan motto is "Fide et opera" which means "By fidelity and labour".
Surnames regarded as septs (sub-branch) of the MacArthur clan are limited
Motto: Vincit veritas
(Latin: Truth prevails)
Names associated with the clan: BAXTER BAXTAR BACSTER BAXSTARE BAXSTAR BAXSTAIR BAKSTER
BAXSTER MACVAXTER MAKBAXSTAR MACBAXTAR MACBAXTER BAKER
This is an occupational
name derived from the Old English word "baecestre" meaning a female baker and later Middle English "bakstere" which was applied
to both male and female bakers. In early Latin charters the name is rendered as "pistor" - the Latin word for baker. In that
form the name is found as early as the 12th century.
Baxters are found all
across Scotland but those in the west are generally regarded as dependents of the Clan Macmillan.
they were a prominent family in their own right and witnessed important documents in the 13th century. Between 1200 and 1240
a Reginald Baxtar witnessed a gift of a church of Wemyss
in Fife. The name is still found frequently in Fife and the Baxters of Earlshall in northern
Fife lived in a baronial castle there. Kilmaron
Castle was a mansion built for a Baxter family near Cupar in Fife,
In 1296 Geffrei le Baxtere
of Lossithe in Forfar took an oath of allegiance to the king. Baxter was (and is) a common name in Angus as Forfar was at
one time a royal residence and the first Baxters there may well have been royal bakers.
The Baxters of Kincaldrum
were the first to bring power-weaving to the City of Dundee.
They prospered as a result and gifted Baxter Park to the city. They endowed a college which eventually became the University of Dundee.
In more modern times,
the Baxter family in Fochabers on the river Spey in Morayshire have built a successful business creating quality soups and
produce from local suppliers. And Stanley Baxter has had a long career as an actor and comedian.
The Baxter clan motto
is "Vincit veritas" which means "Truth prevails".
MacBaxter is regarded
as a sept (sub-branch) of the McMillan clan.
CLAN CLAUS SOCIETY
Founder and Chairman: Santa Kona Gant
the 1st day of June in the year 2008, Santa Claus authorized the formation
of The Clan Claus Society. Since that time, membership
has grown to 352 members representing 13 countries around the world!
Kona, a professional Santa Claus, firmly believed in the family ideals inherent in the spirit of
the way of life of the Scottish Clans. He put together
a group of Santa Claus performers, including Santa Bruce “Mac Claus” Arnold and
Santa Bear Garner. Together, these Jolly
Old Elves, along with Mrs. Zelina Shaw another advisory board member, dedicated themselves
to establishing a unique family of Santas, Mrs. Clauses, Elves, Reindeer Handlers, Helpers and others
who, in similar fashion, sought to perpetuate the traditions and family values of the Scottish Santa
The Clan Claus Society,
it’s Founder and Advisory Board members, all have their own separate passion for things
Scottish, the Celtic arts in general, and the music of Scotland’s most famous
musical instrument, the Great Highland Bagpipes.
is the cornerstone to all activities of the Clan Claus Society.
The basic mission of the society is to bring members together in a family-friendly
atmosphere, where the magic of Christmas and the traditions of Scottish Culture
can be enjoyed and experienced by all.
Santa Kona and Advisory
Board Members of the society invite anyone and everyone who believes not only in the spirit of
Christmas and family fun, but also in the thrill that only the spirit of the
Scottish Highlands can inspire, to join the Clan Claus Society.
To all nations throughout the world,
the Society and its membership extend best wishes for Peace, Joy and our Warmest of
Blessings during the coming Christmas Season.
Clan Chief: The current chief of Clan
Haldane is Martin Haldane of Gleneagles.
Origins of the Haldanes of Gleneagles
[The following text is
copied verbatim from The Haldanes of Gleneagles, General Sir J. Aylmer L. Haldane, 1929, William Blackwood & Sons, Ltd., London and Edinburgh, which book is in the Public Domain since 2004. While this
text may appear on some message boards, it is NOT a copyright violation. Contact John Haldane for more information.]
HISTORIANS and genealogists
have ascribed various origins to the family Haldane. Sir James Dalrymple, Nisbet, and others have suggested its descent from
a Danish chief called Haldanus, or from an Anglo-Norman, Brien1 by name, whose son Bernard came to Scotland during
the reign of King William the Lion (1165-1214), and was given by him a manor on the Border.2 The legend of Danish
descent, which probably arose from the resemblance of the family name to that of this chief, is not borne out by the Kelso
charters. In one of these,3 which is dated between 1165 and 1171, Bernard son of Brien is recorded, with some circumlocution,
as granting to the monks of Kelso Abbey a carucate4 of land, ' which they have in the town of Hauden, and which
they had before I came to Hauden in perpetual alms by the same boun¬daries by which they had the same before I came to Hauden.'
A later charter from Bernard's nephew to the monks, which confirms the earlier gift, is couched in precisely the same words.5
A perusal of these two documents shows unmistakably that before Bernard obtained his lands on the border, they bore the name
of Hauden, and proves that his surname - or rather that of his successor and his descendants, for he himself never dropped
his designation of 'son of Brien ' - was derived from the title by which the lands were known, and from it alone.
This Bernard, son of Brien
was the undoubted founder of the Haldane family in Scotland. He was a frequent witness
to royal and other charters, and these, through their being dated at different places, show that he belonged to the royal
retinue and probably filled some post near the person of the King. That he was a man of birth and consequence is obvious from
the fact that he appears as a witness in company with some of the most important persons in the kingdom. Take, for example,
the charter by King William to the abbey of Scone, dated at Dunfermline between 1165 and 1171.6 This charter, which
confirms to the abbey all liberties that had been granted to it by the King's elder brother Malcolm IV., was witnessed, amongst
others, by Nichol, the Chancellor of Scotland Duncan, 5th Earl of Fife, who was Justiciar of the northern kingdom for more
than twenty years, and who, 'as in the case of former Earls of Fife, is given precedence over the other Earls of Scotland
as witnesses to the King's charters;' 7 Walter Fitz-Alan, the first High Stewart of Scotland, who had great possessions
in the lowlands ; David Ollifard, godson of David I., and the earliest known holder of the high office of Justiciar;8
a Richard Cumin, ancestor of the Red Comyn, who fell by the hand of Bruce ; Robert de Quincy, who through marriage owned
estates in Fife, and whose son, Sair de Quincy, 1st Earl of Winchester, was one of the twenty-five celebrated barons who were
appointed to enforce the observance of Magna Charta ; and last on this list of notables comes Bernard son of Brien.
Apart, however, from the
inference to be drawn from the royal charters, it is otherwise clear that Bernard son of Brien was a man of good birth, and
one who knew who his ancestors were. This emerges from the fact that both he and his nephew, also called Bernard, in not less
than six charters, refer to their 'ancestors and successors' - an expression which, though it is to be found in other deeds
of the time, more particularly in deeds of mortification or bequests to religious houses, is not without significance.9
The question of Bernard's
descent from a Danish source has been shown to be unfounded, and as regards the suggestion that he was of Anglo-Norman extraction
no evidence has been found to substantiate it. It may, however, be mentioned that his father's name Brien was a common one
in the family of the Counts of Brittany, who, though not Normans in the strict sense of the word, were nominally vassals of
the Conqueror, and fought under his banner at Hastings. The dates associated with one of them, known as Brien Fitz-Count,
a son of the head of that family, coincide closely with those of Bernard's father. This alone might count for little, but
the facts that Margaret, a sister of King William the Lion, was the wife of Conon IV Duke of Brittany, and that Bernard was
in that king’s retinue, and was given a manor by him, lend colour to the possibility of a connection with that nominally
Norman family. [please refer to Clan Haldane for further information]
Motto: "Vive Ut Vivas" - Live, So That You May Live
Arms: Three black Talbots (a species of hound) heads
Haule, Haul, Hal, De Aula, Hale, Haw, Collingwood, Crispin, Fitz William, MacHall.
History: The history
of Scotland, shrouded by the mists of
time, indicates that the name 'Hall', is a Norman surname. The name 'Hall', was found in Lincolnshire [England] where they were granted lands
after the Norman Conquest in 1066.
Upon entering England with the Norman Conquest, the Hall's were actually 'FITZ WILLIAM'S', they being settled in Greatford Hall in
Lincolnshire, and being directly descended from Wentworth,
Earl FitzWilliam. The younger son of this noble house, Arthur FitzWilliam, was called 'Hall', to distinguish him from his
senior brother. Hence Arthur Hall would be the first on record about the year 1090 AD. The line continued in Lincolnshire, and intermarried with the Crispins, and the Earls of Chester. In Cheshire [England],
the Hall's were a cadet branch of the Kingsley Hall's of that county. By 1340 AD, the name had moved northward at the invitation
of Earl David of Huntingdon, later to become King David of Scotland.
In Scotland, they were granted lands in
Berwickshire, specifically the lands of Glenryg in the barony of Lesmahagow.
The Hall's were one of the sixty (60) major riding families of the Anglo-Scottish border
and were involved in reiving as other border clans were. During one of the 'Day of Truce' occasions, a Robert Spragon 'fyled' a complaint
against two Halls that had rustled 120 sheep. The traditional homes of the Hall's were at Redesdale in England; East Teviotdale, and Liddesdale, in Scotland.
Some notables in the Scottish East March were: John Hall of Newbigging; George Hall (called Pats Geordie there; Andrew Hall
of the Sykes, and Thom Hall in Fowlscheils. Other Hall's lived in Aynstrother; Glenryg, in the barony of Lesmahagow; Garvald;
Irvide; Glasgow; Sancharmvr, in Preswick; and Perth.
By 1600 AD, many branches had developed in England
and Scotland: Lord Llanover, Sir John Hall, Bishop Hall of Bristol,
Bishop Hall of Wearmouth, and at the same time, continuing their interest and seats at Skelton
Castle, Yorkshire, Greatford Hall in Lincolnshire,
and Gravell House in Middlesex. Notable amongst the family at this time was Hall of Berwickshire.
[This information courtesy
of W. Wiseman of New Zealand]
Badge: An oak tree, penetrated by a frame saw, standing above a ducal coronet.
with the clan: Hamilton, Hammeltoune, Hammyltoune, Hamyltoune, Hammyltoun,
Hamyltone, Hamulthone, Cadzow.
Origin of the name:
In Old English "hamel dun" meant "bare
hill" and there were a number of places in England with names derived from these
words. Walter de Hameldone, owned property in near Paisley in Renfrewshire in 1294. In the
War of Independence in 1290-1305, he was initially loyal to King Edward I of England but later supported
Robert the Bruce. He was granted further lands by Bruce in Lothian and Lanarkshire, including lands at Cadzow (which was later
renamed Hamilton). Walter's son, David, fought for King David II at the Battle of Neville Cross in 1346.
In 1474, James Hamilton married Princess
Mary, daughter of King James II and was made Lord Hamilton and their son, who was in line of succession to the throne, was made Earl of Arran.
The family built Brodick Castle as a Highland home (it is now National Trust
property). The second Earl of Arran was made Regent of Scotland during the childhood of Mary Queen of Scots and proposed that his son should marry her. However, she married the Dauphin (heir to the throne) of France instead. Nevertheless, the Earl of Arran was created
Duke of Chatelherault, a French title. Later, the Earl tried to save Mary after her ill-fated marriage to Lord Darnley and
sheltered her at Cadzow after her escape from Loch Leven.
The fourth Earl of Arran became Chancellor
of Scotland and in 1599 and he was advanced
to the rank of Marquess. His brother Claud was created Lord Paisley and then Lord Abercorn and this branch prospered, becoming
a dukedom in 1868, with a seat in Ulster.
The third Marquess supported King Charles I and he was made Duke of Hamilton in 1643 and the premier peer of Scotland.
His daughter, Annie, married William Douglas, Earl of Selkirk. The foundations of a palace, near Hamilton in Lanarkshire, were laid at this time. The palace was later demolished because
of mining subsidence but the magnificent hunting lodge named Chatelherault still survives in a public park. The seat of the Duke of Hamilton is now Lennoxlove, in East
of note in Scottish history include Patrick Hamilton who was martyred for his Protestant beliefs in 1528 and the grandson
of the 3rd Duke who climbed Vesuvius 22 times and married Emma, Lord Nelson's beloved. The 14th Duke was the pilot of the
first plane to fly over Mount Everest (in 1933).
clan motto is "Through".
Names Associated with Clan Hannay: Hannay
Hanna · Hanney · Hannah Clan Chief: Ramsay William Rainsford Hannay of Kirkdale
and of that Ilk, Chief of the Name and Arms of Hannay, Died 10 January 2004 – Gatehouse-of-Fleet,
Scotland and was succeeded by his son, Dr. David R Hannay.
Origins of the clan: The
name Hannay may have originally been spelt Ahannay, possibly deriving from the Gaelic word 'O'Hannaidh' or 'Ap Shenaeigh'- "Son of Senach". The family can be traced back to Galloway in South-West Scotland. The name 'Gillbert de Hannethe' appears on the Ragman Rolls of 1296, submitting to King Edward I of England. The Hannay's lands of Sorbie in Wigtownshire were reportedly acquired by the same Gillbert de Hannethe.
many Scottish nobles and clans the Clan Hannay did not support Robert the Bruce but instead supported John Balliol because he was more local to them through his descent from the Celtic
Princess of Galloway.
& 16th centuries: In
1488 the Clan Hannay fought at the Battle of Sauchieburn. Later in 1513 the Clan Hannay fought at the Battle of Flodden Field which was part of the Anglo-Scottish Wars. In 1532 Patrick Hannay was acquitted of the murder of Patrick McClellen as he had killed him in self defense.
James Hannay, the Master Gunner in the reign of James V led the clan at the Battle of Solway Moss in 1542 and the Battle of Pinkie Cleugh in 1547 which were part of the Anglo-Scottish Wars. The family began to spread and a tower built at Sorbie in 1550 which commanded views their ever increasing territory.
The ancient clan seat, Sorbie Tower
is owned by the members of Clan Hannay International and in 1965 received grants from Historic Scotland.
century Patrick Hannay had a
distinguished military career and was patroned by Queen Elizabeth of Bohemia, daughter of James VI and sister of Charles I. After the death of Queen Anne who was the wife of James VI in 1619 Patrick Hannay composed two eulogies
and in return had many published on his own death, one of which said: 'Go on in virtue, aftertimes will tell, none but Hannay
could have done so well'. Sir
Patrick (3rd) Privy Councillor of Ireland, and Master of the Chancellery in Ireland, died at sea in 1625.
Possibly the best known Hannay was James Hannay, the
Dean of St Giles' in Edinburgh who had the claim to fame of being the target of Jenny Geddes' stool. In an infamous incident in 1637 the Dean had begun to read the new liturgy
when with a cry of "Thou false thief, dost thou say Mass at my lug?" was heard and a stool came flying from the congregation,
thrown by an incensed Jenny Geddes. The incident began a full scale riot which took the town guard to control. Sir Robert
Hannay of Mochrum was created a Baronet of Nova Scotia In 1630, and from the Sorbie roots the Hannays of Grennan, Knock, Garrie
and Kingsmuir also evolved.
conflicts The fortunes of the
original Hannays of Sorbie were seriously dented in the seventeenth century when a long running feud with the powerful Clan Murray of Broughton resulted in the Hannays being outlawed. The clan has also had previous
feuds with the Clan Kennedy and Clan Dunbar. After the feud with the Clan Murray the famous tower at Sorbie fell into disrepair and was lost along with the neighbouring
lands around 1640. Many Hannays moved to Ireland, in particular Ulster and the name can still be found there and in many surrounding counties,
particularly in the form "Hanna".
Another form of the name, "Hannah", is particularly
common amongst the descendants of those that remained in Scotland.
Another variation of Hannay is "Hanney". In Oxfordshire,
England, there are two villages called East Hanney and West Hanney. Yet another version of Hannay
is "Hanner". Although less common, Hanner, like Hanna, is found amongst the descendants of those who moved to Ireland.
Clan Hannay Sir Samuel Hannay, who
had served within the Habsburg Empire. He returned to Scotland
having amassed a considerable wealth and built a great mansion house which was said to be the inspiration for Sir Walter Scott’s novel, Guy Mannering. Sir Samuel's baronetcy became dormant on his death in 1841 and the estates passed to his sister, Mary, then further
to her nephew, William Rainsford Hannay, on her death in 1850. From this direct line comes the present chief Hannay of Kirkdale
and of that Ilk.
One branch of the family begun by a younger son of
the Sorbie Hannays, Alexander Hannay took lands at Kirkdale, by Kirkcudbright. The line established by his son John Hannay of Kirkdale is now recognised as
the chiefly one.
Motto: "Veritas Vincit" which means "Truth conquers"
Chief: The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Kintore
with Clan Harvey: HERVEY/HERVIE/HARVEY/HARVIE.
Origins of the name:
This ancient surname, well recorded in Scotland, has two possible sources, the first being from the Breton personal
name "Aeruiu" or "Haerviu", composed of the elements "haer", meaning battle, and "vy", - worthy. The 1086 Domesday has various
references to followers of William the Conqueror, including Herueu de Berruarius of Suffolk,
and later Heuei de Castre of Lincoln, in 1157. These were
not surnames, although in fact the first surname recording was only just behind. The second source is Irish. It is said that
a Galway clan called originally the O'hAirmheadhaigh, did 'anglicise' their name to Harvey
The Gaelic translates as 'the descendant of the son of Airmed'. The surname is generally recorded as Harvey,
Harvie, Hervie and Hervey, and early recordings include William Hervy of Essex in 1232, Warin Harvi in the Pipe Rolls of Cambridge
for the year 1273, and John Hervy, burgess of Aberdeen in
1398. The roll of famous namebearers includes William Harvey (1578 - 1657), who discovered the circulation of the blood in
1616, whilst Edmond Harvey, a Parliamentarian Colonel, was one of the fifty three regicides who signed the death warrant of
Charles 1st in January 1649. Beauchamp Bagenal Harvey was one of the 1798 leaders of the Irish rebellion, whilst curiously
Robert Hervie of Scotland was a member
of the Huntly Volunteer force, raised to combat a possible French-Irish invasion. The first recorded spelling of the family
name is shown to be that of William Hervi, which was dated 1190, in the 'Calendar of Abbot Samson of Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk',
during the reign of King Richard 1, known as "The Lionheart", 1189 - 1199.
There are those who could argue that the Keith Clan name more correctly would be Harvey.In the time of
David I, King of Scotland (about 1160), a Scottish Knight named Hervey is said to have obtained a grant of the north-west
portion of the lands of Keith, in East Lothian (near Aberdeen). From the owner, it was called Keith-Hervey. It was this Hervey
who held the office of King's Marischal under Malcom IV and William the Lion. The title Marischal became hereditary, and was
passed to his grandson Philip upon Hervey's death in 1196. As was the custom at the time, the family became known by the name
Keith, after the lands they possessed. The Keiths were a very powerful Celtic family in the far north of Scotland and their chiefs continued to hold the important
office of Marischal of Scotland for six hundred years. Numerous Earl Marischals used the name Hervey or Harvey throughout
their history. Famous episodes of their chronicles are a bloody and treacherous battle with their Norse neighbors, the Gunns,
in 1464 and the rescue in Cromwell's time of the Scottish Regalia which the sixth Earl Marischal hid safely at Dunottar Castle.
Crest: A horse's head coupled Argent. Motto:
Aegre De Tramite Recto (With difficulty along the right path) Chief: Armigerous*
The lands & barony of Horsburgh lie near Innerleithen in Peebleshire.
The ruins of the tower of the same name still stand, and according to Black, the first of this race is believed to have been
an Anglo-Saxon designated horse or orse, who settled on the north bank of the River Tweed and there built the castle which
communicated the present surname to his descendents.
The earliest name on record is Simon de Horsbrock, who witnessed a charter by William Purveys of Mospennoc to the monks
of Melrose Abbey in the reigh on Alexander II. William de Horsboroch is recorded in 1283. In the diocese of Glasgow
in 1287, he is lited as a Notary Public. In 1297 Simon de Horsbrok was in the foreigh service of Edward I and had his
lands restored in the same year.
Horsbrock of that Ilk is recorded in 1479. and another Alexander Horsbruik
was served heir to John Horsbruik, his father, in the lands and mill of Horsbruik (1550). Lady Horsburgh of Horsburgh was
the last Horsburgh to hold the barony, which, upon her marriage, passed into the Chinnery family.
The arms recorded by Nisbet of a silver horses head
on a blue shield are clearly a pun based on the family name.
James Horsburgh, a fellow
of the Royal Society, was a distinguished hydrographer at the beginning af the nineteenth century. In 1810 he was appointed
hydrographer to the East India Company. He published numerous works on maritime subjects, which were to become standard authorities
in that field.
The name is still found
in the Borders and around Edinburgh..
Chief: Rt Hon Merlin Hay, 24th Earl of Erroll and Lord
High Constable of Scotland.
Badge: A falcon flying. The coat of arms shows farm implements which, legend has it, were weapons
by which the Hays repelled a Danish invasion at Luncarty.
Motto: Serva jugmen - "Keep the yoke".
Names associated with the clan:
Alderston, Arroll, Aue,Ay, Aye, Ayer, Beagrie,
Con, Conn, Constable, da Hay, Da Haya, D'Ay, D'Aye, de Hay, de Haya, de la Hay, De la Haye, de Plessis, Delgatie, Dellahay,
Des Hay, Deshays, Drumelizior, Dupplin, Erroll, Garra, Garrad, Garrow, Gifford, Hawson, Hay, Hayburn, Hayden, Haydock, Haye,
Hayens, Hayes, Hayfield, Hayhoe, Hayhow, Haylees, Haylor, Hayne, Haynes, Haynie, Hays, Hayse, Hayson, Hayston, Haystoun, Hayter,
Hayton, Haytor, Hayward, Haywood, Hea, Hey, Heyes, Kellour, Kinnoullm Laxfirth, Leis, Leith, Lockerwort, MacGaradh, MacGarra,
MacGarrow, MacHay, McArra, O'Garra, O'Garrow, O'Hay Aue, O'Hea, Peebles, Peeples, Peoples, Slains, Turriff, Tweeddale, Yester.
Also certain families of: Ritchie, Ley, Watson, and King.
The first record
of the name Hay, Norman in origin, is William de Haya, Cupbearer of Malcolm IV of Scotland, who arrived in this country around 1160 and married
a Celtic heiress. He was one of the hostages held in England
with William the Lion and on his return was granted an extensive manor in Erroll. His younger brother Robert was progenitor
of the Earls of Tweeddale. Tradition has it that Thomas the Rhymer prophesied that an oak tree, covered by mistletoe would
fall during a strange Hay ritual which took place every Halloween. When this prophecy became fact, the estate of Erroll was
sold in 1636. The 3rd Baron, Gilbert was Co-Regent of Scotland, Sir Gilbert the 5th chief featured prominently in the Scottish
War of Independence and was given Slains castle in Buchan and made Hereditary Lord High Constable of Scotland by Bruce. (A post which the family retains and is the highest ranking
position in Scotland after the Royal family)
The 7th chief married the King's daughter, while William, 9th chief was created Earl of Erroll in 1452. At the Battle of Flodden
in 1513, the 4th Earl, William was killed along with 87 other Hays. In 1594 the Royal forces under Argyll were defeated by
the Earl of Huntly in alliance with the 9th Earl of Erroll. In revenge King James personally blew up Slains Castle. Sir William Hay of Delgaty,
Montrose's Chief of Staff was beheaded with him in 1650. The 13th Earl, Charles helped to organise the 1708 Jacobite attempt
and was imprisoned after the Rising. His sister Mary who succeeded him as Countess of Erroll in 1717 raised her clan for Prince
Charles during the '45. The Border branch of the Hays became Lords Hay of Yester in 1488 and are now represented by the 11th
Marquis of Tweed-dale.
Henderson Gaelic Name:
Motto: Sola virtus nobilitat (Virtue alone
Badge: Cotton grass
Lands: Caithness and
Origin of Name: Henry's son
The Chief of Clan Henderson is Alistair Donald Henderson
of Fordell, an environmental engineer specialising in air pollution control who lives in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. The Chief is recognized by Lord Lyon, King of Arms, and is a member of the Standing Council of Scottish
Origins of the Clan
Clann Eanruig (pronounced
KLAHN YAHN-reegk) is the Gàidhlig (Scots Gaelic) name for the Scottish clan known as "the Hendersons" in English. The words "Scot," "Scots" (not scotch), "Scottish," and "Scotland" derive from the Latin word "Scotus" meaning a Celtic inhabitant of Hibernia (Ireland) at the time of the Roman occupation of southern Britannia (Great Britain), i.e., an Irishman. The Scots of Caledonia flourished and soon outnumbered their Pictish neighbors.
The ancient Picts and Scots followed
the Celtic custom of matrilineality. This meant that sons could not depend on their father's status, but instead had to establish domains of their
Pictish prince Eanruig Mor
mac Righ Nechtan (Big Henry the son of King Nechtan) established a distinguished family line. The descendants of Prince Henry
were known collectively as “clann Eanruig” meaning the “family of Henry.” The males of the clan took
the surname “mac Eanruig” meaning “son of Henry,” which was later translated into English variously
as “Henryson,” “Henderson,” “McHenry,” “McHendry,” “MacKendrick,”
and such. The females of the clan took the surname “nic Eanruig” meaning “daughter of Henry.” A woman
normally kept her own clan surname after marriage, and she could usually depend on her clan's support in a dispute with her
husband. Families could give children the clan surname of either their mother or father. Over time, the descendants of other
prominent Henrys also took the family name "clann Eanruig." Eventually, the most prominent of these families coalesced into
a single clan identity.
Though a small clan, the
Hendersons rose to prominence in Caithness, Glencoe, the Shetland Islands and Fordell in Fife. In Caithness, Clan Henderson associated with Clan Gunn. In Glencoe, Clan Henderson forged a close alliance with the powerful Clan Donald. A separate family grouping arose in Liddesdale and Ewesdale, being one of the smaller families of Border Reivers.
The Hendersons known for their size and strength became the personal body guards of the chief
of the Clan MacDonald of Glencoe. In 1692, King William III, suspecting the loyalty of Clan Donald, secretly set the Clan Campbell upon the MacDonalds and Hendersons in the Massacre of Glencoe. Standing six feet and seven inches tall, the powerful "Big Henderson" of the Chanters was the MacDonald chief's
piper and protector, and fell with the chief in the cold February night of 1692. After the Massacre, many Henderson families emigrated to Ulster ,North America and mid wales.
During the Highland Clearances from 1746 to 1822, many more Henderson families left Scotland for Ireland, England, North America, Australia, New Zealand, and other lands.
Hendersons in the Modern World
In 1934, British statesman Arthur Henderson was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his work for world disarmament. Epidemiologist Dr. Donald Ainslie "D.A."
Henderson led the World Health Organization's successful effort to eradicate smallpox throughout the world.
Hepburn is a family name of the Scottish-English border area. It is associated with
a variety of famous personages, places, and things. Although usually a Scottish name, the origins may be just south of the
border in the north of England. It may have derived from the Northumberland towns of Hebron or Hebburn. It is perhaps
the same as Hebborne, from the Ancient English words heah ("high") and
byrgen ("burial mound"). Alternatively it could mean something along the
lines of "high place beside the water. A "burn" is a word meaning "river" in both English and Scots. ,
The remains of a Bastle Tower can be found near Chillingham
Castle. This is where the family originated. This was the seat of a line of the family until the eighteenth century
when that branch died out having left only a female heir. The Hepburn family is perhaps best remembered because of the Earl
of Bothwell, a husband of Mary, Queen of Scots. Katherine Hepburn, the famous American actress is another well
remembered part of this family. A branch of the family originated in Lothian. A Hepburn was granted land for having
saved the Earl of March from a horse that had lost control. Subsequently they became the Lords of Hailes and were ultimately
rewarded by being granted the Earldom of Bothwell.
There were also Hepburns of Waughton, thought by some to have branched off from the Hailes line, thought by others
to predate it. Another line was the Hepburns of Beanston, and yet another was the Hepburns of Athelstaneford. Primarily located
in East Lothian, all of these families were prominent in various ways at various junctures of Scottish history.
Associated With Clan Hogg: Hogg, Hogge, Hogue, Hoig
Origin of the
Taken from a person who was very tall. From the
Germanic element hoch meaning 'tall'. This is a hereditary surname of Nickname Origin. Nicknames were derived
from a physical feature, character, a favoured style of clothing or from animals, birds, flowers or a colour. Naming was borne
thousands of years ago and at first there were just first names.
Around the 11th century the Normans introduced the first hereditary
surnames taken from their estates in France.
By the 15th century they had spread to England, Ireland,
Scotland, Wales, Germany, Italy, Spain,
Portugal and the rest of the European
countries. They consisted of a store of Baptismal, Locality, and Occupation names with Nicknames being formed from the Norman
originals and Old Norse terms.
In these early centuries Coats of Arms were borne.
The knights wore heavy armour from head to foot and the only means of identification for his followers was the emblem on the
shield and on this surcoat. The Coat of Arms for this surname is one of the first granted from the very early centuries.
Clan chief: The chief of Clan Hope is Sir John Hope of Craighall, Baronet.
The chiefly line of the Hope family survives through the Baronets of Craighall.
Motto: At Spes Infracta [Yet My Hope is Unbroken]
Origins of the clan: Hope is a native Scottish name. However, in middle English it
means 'small valley'. Another suggestion is that it derives from 'oublon', which is French for 'hop' and could be from the
family de H'oublons of Picardy.
HISTORY: The Clan Hope was a Scottish border family and their name is among
those found on the Ragman Rolls giving the oath of fealty to King Edward I of England in 1296.
16th century: The principal line can be traced back to John de Hope, who travelled
from France with Magdalen the first wife of King James V of Scotland. John settled in Edinburgh and became commissioner for Edinburgh to the first General Assembly of the Church of Scotland in 1560.
17th century: John de Hope's grandson Sir Thomas Hope was Lord Advocate as appointed by King Charles I. The family became 'Hope of Craighall'
after acquiring the estates of the same name in the parish of Ceres in Fife. Sir Thomas Hope's contribution to the Scottish
legal profession was immense and his works are still referred to by Scottish lawyers today. He saw two sons raised to the
Supreme Court Bench and was created Baron of Nova Scotia in 1638. He also drafted the National Covenant. After his death
in 1646 his eldest son took the title 'Lord Craighall'. Lord Craighall became a trusted advisor to Charles II, his advice
proved particularly useful in his dealings with Oliver Cromwell.
18th century: The younger son of the great Sir Thomas Hope founded the Hopetoun branch
of the family and settled in West Lothian. His son was lost at sea when the frigate Gloucester sank. There is a story that he died saving the Duke of York, James VII of Scotland. Sir Thomas's grandson was a young member of parliament for
Linlithgow, rising rapidly to the Privy Council and by 1703 was made a peer; Earl of Hopetoun, Viscount Aithrie and Lord Hope.
Around this time the magnificent Hopetoun House, one of William Adam's best known houses, was built for the family.
In 1792 the Craighall estates were sold on by the sixth Baronet to the Earl of Hopetoun, Sir Thomas Hope.
The eighth Baronet is best known for turning former plague pits in Edinburgh into the 'Meadows' park. The Earl of Hopetoun's
estates grew rapidly in the 18th century with most of West Lothian, and parts of East Lothian and Lanarkshire.
19th century: The fourth Earl, who had a notable military career, particularly
during the Peninsular War, worked with Sir Walter Scott in welcoming George IV during his visit to Scotland in 1822. Hopetoun
House was used to host a lavish reception for the monarch.
20th century: The name John Adrian Hope is well remembered on the other side
of the world; the seventh Earl was first Governor General to the Australian Commonwealth in 1900. Two years later he was made
Marquess of Linlithgow. The second Marquess was Viceroy of India from 1936 to 1943. The family still live at Hopetoun House.
Clan Castle: The seat of the Clan Hope is at Hopetoun House. Hopetoun House is the traditional residence of the Earl of Hopetoun (later the Marquess of Linlithgow). It was built in 1699 and was designed by William Bruce, and extended in 1721 by William Adam. The house is located near South Queensferry to the west of Edinburgh, Scotland.
Classical musical recitals are occasionally put on at Hopetoun House. During the summer months, the castle
is open to visitors. It can also be rented for weddings, conferences, and as a film set.
Chief: A living member of the clan, Josh Houston, has taken up the case with the Court of the Lord Lyon to be instated as the Chief of the Houston Clan. The Court
has yet to reach a decision. Until then the clan will be considered as armigerous.*
Motto: In Vicis ("In Time").
Origins of the Clan: The name is territorial in origin, derived from an old barony of the name in Lanarkshire. Hugh de Padinan, who is believed to have lived in the twelfth century, was
granted the lands of Kilpeter. By about the middle of the fourteenth century, these lands had become known as Huston. Sir
Finlay de Hustone appears on the Ragman Roll swearing fealty to King Edward I of England in 1296.
The castle of the de Hustones was built on the site of an ancient Cistercian abbey. The family also acquired a substantial
barony near Whitburn, West Lothian, where Huston House, which was rebuilt in the eighteenth century,
still stands today. Sir Patrick Hustone of that Ilk, who was probably the eleventh chief, married Agnes Campbell of Ardkinglas.
16th & 17th Centuries: During the Anglo-Scottish Wars, Sir Peter Huston fought with the Earl of Lennox on the right wing at Battle of Flodden Field in 1513, where he was killed. His son, Sir Patrick Huston of Huston, was a companion of James V of Scotland and Keeper of the Quarter Seal. He intrigued with Lord Lennox
against the king, and was slain at the Battle of Linlithgow. The next Sir Patrick, his grandson, was knighted by Mary, Queen of Scots, and accompanied her when she visited Lord Darnley in Glasgow.
The nineteenth chief was created a Baronet of Nova Scotia by Charles II in 1668. His son, Sir John, was falconer to Queen Mary and her husband, King William of Orange.
18th & 19th Centuries: The fifth Baronet was a prosperous merchant who had substantial interests in United States. His son, who was educated in Glasgow, made his home in Georgia (U.S. state), and he and his brother greatly increased the family’s
colonial estates. They are reputed to have owned over eight thousand slaves when the thirteen American colonies broke from
Great Britain and declared their independence. The Hustons renounced their
Scottish titles in favour of their American wealth. From this family descended General Sam Houston, born in 1793, who fought for the independence of Texas from Mexico. He was first president of Texas and later a United States
Senator. Sir Robert Houston, descended from a Renfrew branch of the family, was a prominent Victorian ship owner who was created
a baronet of the United Kingdom. He is credited with developing the theory of convoys first
used during the Boer War
Crest: A demi lion rampant Argent
Motto: Nobilis Est Ira Leonis (The Lion’s Anger is
Names associated with the clan: Englis, Ingles, Inglis, Ingalls, Ingals
The name Inglis
is believed to have come from the old English for 'Englishman'. An Early (12th century) mention of the name (Richard
Anglicus) is found in the witnessing of a charter of David I to Melrose Abbey.
In 1296, when Edward I invaded Scotland, the names of John de Inglis, Walter de Inglis
and Philip de inglis are recorded as owning a great deal of land.
During the early 14th century there was an Inglis
family living in Douglasdale, Lanarkshire, along with the Douglases. Douglasdale was at this time being frequently invaded and held by the English. The Inglises did
a great service when one of them overheard an English plot to take the castle, and sent a warning at great personal risk.
The Inglises were asked to name their reward, and were granted a part of the local church, St Brides, as their family burial
place. The Inglis coat of arms can be seen on the wall of the south transept to this day.
During the reign of
Robert the Second and Third, in 1395, Sir William Inglis duelled with Sir Thomas Struthers, killing the English champion. As a reward,
the family was given the Barony of Manner by royal charter the following year, thereafter tracing their descent from Sir William.
The family had for some time been followers of the Douglases, and now strengthened this association by adding the three Douglas stars to their own coat of arms.
The Barony was finally sold in 1707, when Chiefship
was given to Charles Inglis of Craigend, an edinburgh lawyer
who died in 1743.
A prosperous branch
of the family lived in Crammond, Edinburgh, since purchasing land from the Bishop of Dunkeld in 1624.
In 1680 John
Inglis built Crammond House near the Bishop's palace, and a short time later, in 1687, Sir James Inglis received a baronetcy.
Sir James's son later became Postmaster General of Scotland until 1725.
Motto: Be Traist (Be Faithful) Crest: A Boar's Head Plant:
The Great Bullrush Accepted spellings: Eanes, Ince, Inch, Innes, Ennis, Inness, Innis
Septs of the Clan Innes (sub clans of the Clan Innes):
MacTary, Milnes, Marnoch,
Mitchell, Maver, Oynie, Mavor, Redford, McInnes, Reidford, Middleton, Thain, Mill, Wilson, MacRob, Milne, Yunie
Origin of the Name
The clan takes its name from the lands of Innes in Moray, Scotland. It dates back to 1160 AD when King Malcolm IV conferred the Barony of Innes on one of his knights, Berowald of Flanders. The Barony
was located on the outskirts of Elgin in Morayshire. It stretched
for over 6 miles along the shore of the Moray Firth between the Spey and Lossie rivers. The
name derives from the Gaelic, Innis, which means meadow, greens or island, all descriptive of this area. The Innes' grew to
become one of the most powerful families in the province of
Moray, dominating the parishes of Urquhart, Lhanbryde and the surrounding
district. Innes House was built on the Barony by Sir Robert Innes, 20th chief of the Clan Innes, between1640 and 1653.
Sir James Innes, 22nd chief, married Lady
Margaret Ker in 1666 and as a result their great grandson, Sir James Innes, inherited the Dukedom of Roxburghe in 1805 when
the Ker family line died out. Today Sir Guy David Innes-Ker, 10th Duke of Roxburghe is the 30th Baron of Innes in direct descent
from Berowald of Flanders. He resides at Floors castle near Kelso in the Scottish borders.
During the latter part of the 14 century
Kinnairdy came into the ownership of the Innes family when Sir Alexander Innes married Janet, daughter of Sir David de Aberkerder,
the lineal descendant of the Thanes of Aberkerder An imposing structure overlooking the river Deveron in rural Aberdeenshire,
this ancient fortress has stood sentinel over the surrounding valleys since the 12th century, the present stone construction
replacing a wooden structure known as a Motte & Bailey, in the 14th century.
The Tower of Kinnairdy Castle, which occupies
the present site is believed to have been built by Sir Walter Innes (son of Sir Alexander Innes, 9th of that ilk) around 1420.
For the next two centuries Kinnairdy remained in the hands of subsequent Clan chiefs who took a full part in the tumultuous
history of Scotland.
The break with the Innes Clan came in 1627
when Sir Robert, the 20th chief sold the lands of Kinnairdy, in part as a result of his political activities and close association
with the Court of Charles, many lawsuits and also in order to concentrate on the original Innes lands in Morayshire which
was the home territory of Sir Roberts wife, she being Lady Grizel Stewart, 3rd daughter of the "Bonny Earl of Moray".
In 1923 Kinnairdy was again restored to
the Innes family when it was purchased by Sir Thomas Innes of Learney, Lord Lyon King of Arms 1945 - 1969. The author of many
learned papers on Scots Peerage Law, Heraldry and Ceremonial, he was deeply interested in the family history. He set about
restoring Kinnairdy with the help of his sister Miss Helen C. Innes of Crommy, a very able and astute lady who assisted with
many of the more mundane tasks and who's advice was invaluable during restoration of the interior.
Following on from Sir Thomas' work, his
son Sir Malcolm Innes, (Lord Lyon King of Arms, now retired) continued to restore the building which is now nearing completion
under the guidance of the present owner, Mr Colin Innes.
Chief: Sir Alexander Maule Jardine of Applegarth, 12th Baronet and Chief of the Name and Arms of Jardine.
Chief's crest: A spur rowel of six points Proper
motto: Cave adsum (Latin: Beware I am
badge: Apple blossom
Septs Associated with Clan Jardine: Jardine,
Jardines, Gardino, Gardin, Gardinus, Garden, Jardin, Jardane, Jerdane, Jerden, Jerdone, Jarden, Jardyne, Jarding, Jardyn,
Gerden, Gerdain, Gairdner, Gardynnyr, Gardynsr, Gardnsrd, Gardinare, Gardinar, Gardenar, Gardenare, Gardnare, Gardener, Gardennar,
Gardnar, Gardiner, Gardner.
of the clan: The Clan Jardine is believed to be of French
origin. The French word jardin means garden or orchard and it is presumed that the Jardine family originally
came from France. Members of the Jardine family travelled with William during the Norman conquest of England in 1066. However records of the name Jardine do not appear in Scotland until 1153 with the name Wmfredus de Jardine appearing on several charters.
The first mention of the name Jardine is contained
Chronicles of England as one of the Normandic knights that fought for William at the Battle
of Hastings (AD 1066). There is also evidence that may suggest that the Jardines were of
Norse extraction that migrated to Normandy with a warrior named Rollo prior to 1066.
At some point in time the name or its meaning
appears to have been translated into English. Patrick de Gardinus was chaplain to the Bishop
of Glasgow and there is a signature on a document from 1245 of Sir Humphrey de Gardino.
To add to the confusion Jorden del Orchard's signature appears on the Ragman
Rolls of 1296. Later Humphery de Jardine's name appears on a charter drawn up by Robert
of Scottish Independence: Unlike many Scottish clans during the
Wars of Scottish Independence the Clan Jardine are said to have fought against William Wallace and in support of the English at the Battle of Stirling Bridge in 1297 and the Battle of Falkirk (1298). However the Clan Jardine supported King Robert the Bruce at the Battle of Bannockburn in 1311 where they helped the Scottish King defeat the English.
During the 14th century the Clan Jardine settled
in Applegirth in Dumfriesshire. There they built Spedlins
Tower which was the family's seat until the 17th century when Jardine
Hall was built on the opposite banks of the River
16th century and
Anglo Scottish Wars: The
border region between England and Scotland
was a difficult place to live. There were constant raids and incursions by both sides. Chief Sir Alexander Jardine of Applegirth
led the clan when they met an advancing force of English near Carlisle in 1524 where they took hundreds of English prisoners during the Anglo-Scottish Wars.
In 1547 the tables were turned when Alexander's
son, the next chief, had to deal with over 5,000 English who overran the area, sacking the Jardine lands and forcing John
Jardine of Applegirth to yield. John later sought assistance from the French and along with the Clan Jardine fell on their
English oppressors taking many lives.
The Clan Jardine also supported the cause of Mary,
Queen of Scots, however her scandalous marriage to Bothwell after the suspicious murder
of Lord Darnley turned the Jardines along with many other Scots to support her infant son James's claim to the throne.
In 1573 the King confirmed the grant of
lands to Sir Alexander Jardine of Jardinefield in Berwickshire; Applegirth and Sibbaldbie in Dumfrieshire; Hartside and Wandel
in Lanarkshire; and Kirkandrews in Kirkcudbright. It is recorded that he had to muster 242 men to fight for the King if required.
It was these retainers who then had no surnames who became known as "Jardine Men" and adopted Jardine as their surname
century: A later Sir Alexander Jardine forged a link to the powerful
Clan Douglas through marriage to Lady Margaret Douglas, sister of the first Duke of Queensberry. They had a son, Alexander, in 1645, who was later created a Baronet of Nova Scotia.
The chief of the Clan Jardine and his family were
reportedly forced to move from their seat at Spedlins
Tower to Jardine
Hall because of a grisly family secret; A miller had been left to starve to
death in the dungeon of the tower and his ghost had driven the family from their home.
century: The fourth Baronet was a Knight of the Sovereign Order
of Malta, taking a vow of celibacy. When he died in 1790 the title passed to his brother, Sir William. Jardines also made
their mark on the literary world. Reverend John Jardine, born in 1716 mixed in the intellectual heart of Edinburgh during
the Scottish Enlightenment had the good fortune to be part of a society that included great Scots such as economist and writer
Adam Smith, philosopher David Hume, and the painter Allan Ramsay. He was one of the founders of the Edinburgh Review. His son, Sir Henry Jardine, was one of those present when the Honours of Scotland were re-discovered in 1818. He was knighted in 1825 and later made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.
Clan seat: The seat of the Chief of Clan Jardine was at Spedlins Tower. Spedlins Tower
is situated by the River Annan, 4 miles (6.5 km) northwest of Lockerbie. It is a 15th century fortalice which was abandoned by the Clan Chief when he built a new mansion nearby. The tower fell
into ruin. In the second half of the 20th century its ownership changed hands three times. The present owner bought Spedlins Tower in
1988 from her predecessor who had restored it.
Motto: This I'll Defend Origin
of Name: the ‘steep place’ or ‘pass’
Clan Chief: Madam Arabella Kincaid of Kincaid
The name Kincaid, it is supposed, is territorial in origin, or possibly
from ‘ceann cadha’, the ‘steep place’ or ‘pass’ but could also be ‘of the head of
the rock’, or even ‘the head of the battle.’ The lands of Kincade were granted to Maldouen, third Earl of
Lennox by Alexander III in 1238 the Earl then passed these lands to Sir William Galbraith, the fourth chief. The direct male line ended in three sisters which resulted in the partitioning of the estate.
One sister married a Logan and were confirmed lands of Kyncade by the fourth Earl of Lennox. The family took their surname from the area which was around 30,000 acres
Kincaids were present during Scotland's wars of independence; one family member fighting against Edward I and recapturing
Edinburgh castle in 1296. A Kincaid was made constable of
the castle and Robert the Bruce granted that the castle to be added to their arms as a recognition of their achievements.
The family estates grew in the sixteenth century, through marriage they gained the estate of Craiglockhart near Edinburgh, the estate of Bantaskin by Falkirk, Blackness Castle and the fields of Warriston, now in Edinburgh.
Malcolm Kincaid was involved in a battle against the Stirlings of Craigbarnet in 1563 were he lost his arm, he was also fighting with the Lennoxes of Woodhead in the 1570
before finally being dispatched by a Stirling of Glovat in 1581.
in 1600 John Kincaid of Warriston was murdered. His wife and one of his own grooms were implicated.
both were put to death for their crimes, the wife beheaded and the groom 'broken on the wheel' a particularly grizzly punishment.
Kincaids supported the royalists during the civil war and suffered for this during the 'protectorate', prior to the
restoration of the monarchy with many of the clan emigrating to America.
They also supported the later Stewart cause, also costing them dear both during the 1715 and '45 rebellions with several Kincaids escaping to Virginia.
Towards the end of the eighteenth century the Kincaids became closely linked to the Lennoxes through marriage. The
two families grew close, in complete contrast to the situation that had existed between them 200 years earlier.
Madam Heather Kincaid of Kincaid was the first chief of the name to sit on the Council of Chiefs and was succeeded
in 2001 by her granddaughter Arabella.
For more information - especially in Ohio - you may contact firstname.lastname@example.org
Crest: Saltire shaped by two anchors.
Motto: I LIVE IN
Chief: The Clan, although not ruled by a Chief, has a senior male in the way of Malcolm MacIntyre Kinnear. It may be considered as Armigerous.*
Names Associated with Clan Kinnear: Kinneir, Ceanniar, Kyner
In the reign of Malcolm IV (1153-65) a family of Norman
origin was established in the north of Fife as vassals of the priory of St Andrews. Symon, son of Michael, gave land from his holdings at Cathelai to the church of St Andrews
earlier than 1164. His descendants took their family name from the rest of the
holdings. The head of the family took his surname from the lands
of Kinnear (probably Gaelic ceann iar - 'west headland') now represented on the map only by a farm name. It is located near Wormit, in Fife.
By 1296 Sir John de Kyner was important enough to have his
name included in the Ragman Roll. He was listed as “submissive to Edward I.”
Henry Kinnear of that Ilk was appointed commendator of Balmerino
Abbey in 1574, while John Kinneir was appointed its baillie . By this time
the family had the lucrative monopoly of ferry crossings of the Tay at what is now Newport.
George Kinnear was an Edinburgh
banker at the end of the 18th century, into the early 19th century. His
lovely wife was painted by Raeburn. His son, James, began a family legal tradition which carried into the twentieth century.
The name, now found all over Scotland, may tend to be confused with Kinnaird.
Motto: Bono Vince
Malum [Overcome evil with good. ]
Associated with the clan: Kettle, Ketley, Kettles, Ketill, and others.
The family is first found in Perthshire,
where they were seated from very ancient times. Some say this family was there
well before the Norman Conquest and the arrival of Duke William at Hastings in 1066.
The descendents of Viking settlers in Ancient
Scotland were the first to use the name Kittle. It was derived from the old Norse
personal name of Ketill, or from the Danish personal name of Ketil.
Some of the first settlers in America by this name were:
Peter Kettell settled in Boston in 1635
Edith Kettle settled in Nevis
in 1653 along with William Kettle
Ralph Kettle settled in Virginia in 1698
Margarita, Sarah and Wennell Kettle arrived
in Philadephia in 1733.
Peter Kittle who arrived in Pennsylvania in 1755
George Kittle who arrived in Washington
County Pennsylvania in 1854
*Septs or branches of a clan. When a smaller clan or family group declared allegiance to the chief of a more powerful or prominent clan they became a sept or branch of that clan. Clans also had many associated families through marriage. During
difficult times, it was often advantageous for smaller clan or family group to ally with a larger clan for protection from
enemies and/or other feuding clans. This practice which often included paying
homage to the Clan Chief at important events was effective in building respect, devotion, and familiarity between different
families within the same clan.
Motto: Stabo (I shall stand)
Crest: An oak tree Vert
associated with Clan Kinnimont: Kinninmont,
Kinnimonth, Kinnimund, Kinnimmund, Kynemuthe, Kynninmond, Quinemont
The name Kinnimont has
a regional origin, with the name deriving from the lands of Kinninmonth in Fife. William I of Scotland granted a charter for those lands to Odo, a seneschal to the Bishop of St. Andrews, between the years 1189 and
An 1841 publication tells us that on the original charter, it is the first time that we see the family
name in the form of S'Iohannis de Kinimmund. Elias
de Kynninmond is recorded as a witness to a Fife charter in 1228 and Helya de Kynninmond
witnessed a charter of lands to Johanni Lambini in 1290. Names were recorded in these ancient documents
to make it easier for their overlords to collect taxes and to keep records of the population at any given time. When the overlords
acquired land by either force or gifts from their rulers, they created charters of ownership for themselves and their vassals.
On the 1296 Ragman Roll, William de Kynemuthe's name is present, along with many other Scottish nobles, declaring allegiance to
Edward I of England.
Other examples of this name were found in the person of Alexander
de Kinnemunt who appears as Canon of Brechin in 1322 and Archdeacon of Lothian in 1327.
In 1329 an Alexander de Kininmund
became the Bishop of Aberdeen, whilst in 1352, a different Alexander de Kininmund became the Archdeacon of Aberdeen, and later
on, in either late 1354 or early 1355, he too, became the Bishop of Aberdeen. Jamys of Kyninmond asserted his right to the office of bailie, steward, and marischel
under the prior of St. Andrew in 1438.
With no male heirs
left to carry on the direct line of Kininmonts of that Ilk, the chief line came to an end with the sole heiress marrying Murray
A more recent notable Kinninmont was the late Sir William Kininmonth (1904-1988), a well known Scottish
Motto: Touch And I Pierce (First used by Sir Roger Kirkpatrick during the Wallace Campaigns); I Mak Sikkar (the
current motto bestowed by King Robert Bruce for Sir Roger Kirkpatrick's support of Robert Bruce's claim to the crown, secured
by Sir Roger Kirkpatrick's action at the Grey Friar's Church in Dumfries, Scotland.
This is an armigerous* clan, located in the lowlands.
The clan is recognized by the Lord Lyon, but doesn't currently have a recognized chief. It takes it's name from the
church of St. Patrick which is located in the parish of Closeburn in Dumfriesshire.
The first record of the clan is in the 12th century, when Ivone de Kirkpatrick
was listed as a witness in a Bruce Family charter. Alexander the second confirmed by charter the lands of the same Ivone.
Roger Kirkpatrick was attendant to Robert the Bruce during the time when Bruce brutally murdered the Red Comyn. Clan
Kirkpatrick legend has it that their motto is derived from Bruce's killing of Comyn.
Bruce fled from the church to his escorts and told them, "I doubt I have slain
Comyn." , Kirkpatrick drew his sword shouting, "I MAK SICCAR" ("I'll make sure"), whereupon he finished off the wounded Comyn.
Sir Roger Kirkpatrick hid with Robert Bruce for three nights to escape Comyn's family. This event is memorialized in the clan's
crest, which contains a hand holding a bloody dagger; and the shield: three pillows on a shield bearing the Saltire with the
Scotland colours, or the St Andrews Cross, reversed (i.e. Kirkpatrick wears a blue
saltire on a white ground). It is also memorialized in the Clan's motto, "I make sure".
In 1314 the Kirkpatricks were rewarded the lands of Redburgh. In 1355, Sir Roger
Kirkpatrick captured both Caerlaverock and Dalwinston Castle from the English. Two years later, in 1357, Sir Robert Kirkpatrick was murdered
by Sir James Lindsay in a private argument. The title passed from Roger to his Nephew, Sir Thomas Kirkpatrick, who had a charter
for the lands of Closeburn and Redburgh given to him in 1409 by Robert Stewart, the 1st Duke of Albany. In1542,
Sir Thomas Kirkpatrick was captured at the Battle of Solway Moss. The estate then passed to a cousin. In 1685 Sir
Thomas Kirkpatrick of Closeburn was named a Baronet of Nova Scotia. The Kirkpatrick estate of Closeburn was finally sold
by the 4th baronet, Sir James Kirkpatrick.
Closeburn Castle is the former stronghold and seat of the Chiefs of the clan.
It is a tower house, probably 14th century (possibly older) and is one of the oldest continually inhabited houses in Scotland.
The castle is located 1 km east of the village of Closeburn in Dumfries and Galloway, southwest Scotland.
Alexander the Second granted the lands of Closeburn to the Kirkpatrick family
in 1232. The tower house was probably built in the late 14th century, although some sources give a date as early as
1180 or as late as 1420. In the 17th century the Kirkpatricks moved out of Closeburn to an adjacent, newly built manor house.
However, this burned down in 1748, with the castle sustaining some damage. Renovations were made to the castle, and the family
moved back in. The Kirkpatrick family finally sold Closeburn in 1783 to a local minister, Dr James Stewart-Menteith. It has
since changed hands several times, but is still occupied as a dwelling house. Today it has been bought back into the family
by Luis Kirkpatrick from Spain.
Motto: Dum spiro spero
Translation: While I
breathe I hope
Origin of the Name
Learmonth arises from lands in Berwickshire and the Learmonths of Ercildoune in the Merse were the earliest family of note.The
family established the principal line of the family in that county through marriage into the Dairsies of Fife.
Many of the ancient manuscripts of
Scotland feature this name. Examples of such are a William de Leirmonth who was a juror on an inquest held in Swinton in 1408
and Alexander Leyremonth was clerk of works of the town and castle of Berwick
in the year 1434.
1446 Sir James Learmouth of Dairsie was Master to the Household of James V and provost of St. Andrews.
The Learmonths acquired the lands of Balcomie in Fife and in 1604 Sir James Learmonth of Balcon was a commissioner appointed
to consider possible political union with England.
Other examples of this name were found
in the person of William of Learmonth who was summoned in 1479 to answer to Parliament for treason and other crimes and John
Learmont who published a volume of Poems in Edinburgh in 1791.
Learmonth was a highly succesful merchant in Edinburgh and Leith.
The Learmonths acquired the estate of Parkhall at the beginning of the nineteenth century and latterly assumed the compund
surname of Livingston-Learmonth. They still, however, use the ancient Learmonth arms.
Virtute Cresco - is the ancient motto of the Leasks, meaning “By Virtue I Grow.”
Chief: Jonathan Leask, 23rd chief of Clan Leask
Origin of the Name
There is more than one theory as to the origin of the name Leask. One
is from the Anglo-Saxon word lisse which means happy. Another is that it comes from
the Norse meaning of stirring fellow. Another is that it comes from Liscus which was the name of the chief of a tribe called the Haedui. The Haedui were a tribe of Gauls as described by Julius Caesar in his Gallic Wars. Another theory concerns the Castle of Boulogne, once the possession of Charlemagne, at one time belonged to a family called de Lesque. William de Laskereske's
signature appears on the Ragman Roll of 1296.
Later William Leask was granted the lands of Leskgoroune by King David II of Scotland, son of Robert the Bruce. William was also the first known chief of the Clan Leask. The second chief was baillie of the barony of Findon.
He inherited lands from Henry de Brogan, Lord of Achlowne, in 1390, later in the 1400s another branch of the family sprung
up on Orkney after Jamis of Lask, younger son of Thomas de Lask of that Ilk settled there.
During the Anglo-Scottish Wars the clan suffered when they fought against the English at the Battle of Flodden Field in 1513. Both William, the fifth chief of the clan and his eldest son Alexander were killed. William's younger
son also called William became the 6th chief of the clan. William Lesk of that Ilk, the seventh chief supported the infant
King James VI of Scotland in opposition to his mother Mary, Queen of Scots after the murder of Lord Darnley and her scandalous marriage to Bothwell.
Between 1615 and 1616 there appears to have been a disagreement of some
sort between the Leasks and the neighbouring Clan Gordon. In all the recorded cases the Gordons appear to have been the aggressors; Adam Gordon, brother of the Laird
of Gight assaulted Alexander Leask, then the son of the chief was attacked by George Gordon and finally William Leask
of that Ilk was ambushed by John Gordon of Ardlogy and a party of armed men.
Also in the seventeenth century the Leasks suffered terribly by investing
heavily in the Darién scheme. The venture was a disaster with a vast amount of Scotland's wealth being lost which in some part led to the union of Scotland and England Alexander Leask of that Ilk, the thirteenth
chief was forced to give up his estates which were taken over by Robert Cumming.
The clan today
In 1963, a descendant managed to buy back a portion of the family lands
and established the Leask Society with the support of other prominent Leasks such as Lieutenant General Sir Henry Leask, sometime
governor of Edinburgh Castle and General Officer commanding the Army in Scotland.
In 1968 Moira Anne Helgesen was granted the chiefship of the clan by the Lord Lyon, where upon she changed her name and became:
Madam Anne Leask of Leask. She died in April 2008 and was succeeded in the chiefship of the clan by Jonathan Leask, the 23rd
chief of Clan Leask
Chief: Edward Lennox of that Ilk and Woodhead, Chief of the Name and Arms of Lennox.
Arms: Argent, a saltire between four roses Gules.
Crest: Two broadswords in saltire behind a swan's head and neck all Proper.
Motto: I'll defend.
Badge: A rose slipped Gules.
Names associated with the clan: Levenax, Levinax, Levynnax, MacCorc, MacGurkich, MacGurgh, MacGurk,
MacKork, Lenox, Lennox, MacCork
Origins of the name : The name Lennox in gaelic comes from the place of the same name. The clan name
comes from the title of Earl of Lennox which commanded the vale of Leven between the 12th and 15th centuries.
15th century: In 1424 the Clan Lennox was decimated and Iain Colquhoun of
Luss of Clan Colquhoun took advatage of this to win the King's favour by capturing Dumbarton Castle from Lennox.
Sir John Stuart
of Darnley was created 1st Earl of Lennox of the new line by King James III of Scotland in 1473.
Malcolm the fifth
Earl of Lennox led Clan Lennox into England and besieged Carlisle Castle.
16th century: A clan battle took place between the Clan Kincaid and the Clan Lennox of Woodhead in 1570.
Henry Stuart (1545-1567)
Lord Darnley and the eldest son of the 4th Earl of Lennox was the second husband of Mary, Queen of Scots. He was also the father of King James VI of Scotland. The King promoted the 8th Earl of Lennox to Duke of Lennox in 1581.
Gaelic Name: Mac an Fheisdeir
Motto: Grip fast
Chief: The Hon. Alexander Leslie
Names associated with
Lesslie, Leslie, Lesly, Lesli, Leslei, Lessley, Lessely, Lesley, Achindachy, Achyndachy, Bartill, Abbernetti, Aburnethe, Abrenythie, Abirnythy, Abirnethy, Abirnethny, Abirnethie,
Abernethy, Abernethny, Abernethie, Abernethi, Aberneathy, Abernythe, Abernathy, Abernathie, Habernethi, Bartelmew, Bartholomew, Bartilmew, Bartholomew, Bertholmew, Bartilmew, Bertholomei, Bertillmew, Abernyte,
The family name comes
from the Leslie lands of Aberdeenshire and was to become famous in Germany, Poland, France and Russia.
A Flemish noble named Bartholf settled in this area and in the 12th century one of his sons obtained a charter for the Barony
of Lesly from William the Lion.
15th Century &
Sir Andrew de Lesly
was one of the signatories when the Declaration of Arbroath was sent to the Pope in 1320 asserting Scotland’s independence.
Century Clan Conflicts & Anglo-Scottish Wars
During the Anglo-Scottish Wars George de Lesly was the Leslys'
first Earl. His grandson, the 2nd Earl was killed at the Battle of Flodden Field in 1513 and the third Earl, also George,
carried out a private family vendetta on the life of David Beaton, cardinal Archbishop of St Andrews.
One of the most highly
respected Leslies is said to be John Leslie, the Bishop of Ross, who was born in 1526. He was the most loyal of Mary Queen
of Scots supporters during the turbulent times of 1562. It was John Leslie who wrote for her the famous ‘History of
In 1571 the Clan Leslie joined forces with the Clan Gordon against their bitter enemies the Clan Forbes.
The feud between the Gordons and Forbes which had gone on for centuries culminated in two full scale battles: The Battle of
Tillieangus and the Battle of Craibstone.
17th Century & Thirty Years' War
During the Thirty Years' War General Alexander Leslie of Balgonie fought for Gustavus Adolphus, the King
of Sweden. He achieved great fame across Europe for his skills in war and returned to Scotland a Field Marshal.
17th Century & Civil War
the Covenanters Alexander Leslie captured Edinburgh Castle with a thousand men.
With the Scots Alexander Leslie, 1st Earl of Leven went
into England in 1640 and defeated the
King’s soldiers at the Battle of Newburn. For this he was created Earl of Lewis by King Charles I. In 1642 Alexander
Leslie, 1st Earl of Leven went to Ireland
and held command alongside Robert Munro (d. 1680) of the Scottish Army. They were sent to put down a rebellion of Irishmen
who had killed Scotts in Ulster.
In 1644, Alexander
Leslie, 1st Earl of Leven commanded Scottish Covenanter forces to victory over English Royalists at the Battle of Marston
Moor in 1644. This battle was the largest battle of the English and Scottish Civil War, and one of the most decisive. It resulted
in a Parliamentarian victory, which meant that the north of England
was effectively lost to King Charles for the rest of the war.
During the Civil War General David Leslie is victorious
commanding his Scottish Covenanters force against a Scottish Royalist force at the Battle of Philiphaugh in 1645. The Royalist
army of James Graham, the 1st Marquess of Montrose was destroyed by the Covenanter army of Sir David Leslie, restoring the
power of the Committee of Estates.
18th Century & Jacobite Uprisings
the Jacobite Uprisings the Clan Leslie supported the British government. The 9th Earl of Rothes now the Duke of Rothes was
Vice Admiral of Scotland and governor of Stirling Castle. He commanded a British regiment of cavalry at the Battle of Sherrifmuir in 1715
where he helped defeat the Jacobites.
Castles & Clan Seat
Clan Leslie held several castles including Balgonie Castle
in Fife, and Fetternear Palace in Aberdeenshire,
as well as Leslie House in Fife until 1919, and Balquhain Castle, Aberdeenshire.
The Irish Leslies still reside at County Monaghen Ulster in their 17th-century
family home Castle Leslie and it's surrounding 1000 acre estate. The Castle is no longer private, and is now open guests.
While visiting they enjoy beautiful vistas, great food and mild ecentricity. The Castle is also used for functions, weddings
and now boasts a brand new Cookery School
and Day Spa.
Earl of Rothes
From 1457 the Clan Chief of Clan Leslie also held the position of Earl of
Rothes. It is currently held by James Malcolm David Leslie, 22nd Earl of Rothes (b. 1958).
speaking, as the Clan Little has had no chief since the 17th. century and is therefore a 'heidless' clan, it cannot have a
clan crest badge, as these were handed out to his followers by their chief. It
is, therefore, armigerous.*
As a compromise, the black demi-lion of David Little within a buckled
strap bearing the motto 'Concedo Nulli' is being used as the Littles' clan crest badge until such time as a chief shall be
recognized. The clan crest badge may be worn on the person of members, but must
not be used in any other way (for example on stationery, banners, etc).
Motto: Concedo Nulli (no surrender, no retreat, yield no ground)
Alternative Mottos: “Fidei Coticula Crux" (The Cross is the Test of Truth) or “Magnum
in Parvo” (Great in Little) or “Multum in Parvo” (Much in Little)
Names associated with the clan: Litel,
Litil, Litill, Litle, Littell, Littil, Littill, Little, Littyll, Lityl, Lytil, Lytle, Lyttle, Lyttille
Origin of the Name
The first appearance of the surname
Little (Lytle, or le Little) is in the period following the Norman Conquest, Richard Lytle being in line of descent from Robert
FitzHugh, Lord of the Barony of Malpas in Cheshire, mentioned in the Domesday Book. (FitzHugh was related to a nephew of William
the Conqueror.) A descendant of Richard Lytle came north to Scotland from Cheshire
some 750 years ago.
1296/7 Edward Little, one of the descendants
of Richard Lytle, and a nephew of William Wallace, assists his famous uncle in guerrilla warfare against Edward I of England,
so-called 'Hammer of the Scots'.
1398 Nicol Little is one of the knights
and 'squires' entrusted with the repatriation of English prisoners across the Border. He is one of the 'Conservators of the
Peace for Lochmabenston' (the Lochmaben Stone, which still exists), the meeting place during the Border Wars for opposing
forces to gather and negotiate.
1426 James I, King of the Scots, grants
to Simon Litil, chief of the clan, his 'beloved Simon', tenure of the lands of Meikledale, Kirkton and Sorbie in Ewesdale.
Simon thus becomes the first Laird of Meikledale.
16th. Century Clement Litil the 2nd. of Liberton (died in 1580)
founds the Library of the University of Edinburgh.
1530 James V, King of the Scots, alarmed
at the increasing power of the Border Clans - Armstrongs, Elliots, Littles , Irvins and others - invites 32 of their most
important members to a parley. It is a trap~ they are seized and summarily hanged. Henceforth, the Littles and other Border
clans, formerly loyal to the monarchy, abandon patriotism and concentrate on self-preservation.
1569 A force of over a hundred men
of Clan Little joins with the Earl of Morton in a raid on Stirling.
1585 The Littles, and other clans
involved in the Stirling Raid, are pardoned by James VI, King of the Scots. (This event is commemorated by a memorial window
in the kirk of Bentpath in Dumfriesshire.)
1672 David Little, the Clan's last
chief, and the last Laird of Meikledale, registers his coat of arms. With his death, Clan Little becomes 'heidless'.
Matthew Little, last surviving descendant of David Little the last chief, goes to sea and is heard of no more.
1991 Dr J.C. Little of Morton Rig,
having researched the history of the Littles in Scotland, founds the Clan
Little Society (UK and Worldwide) on St.
Andrew' s Day.
1994 Foundation of the Clan Little Society of North America.
Clan Crest: A demi savage, wreathed on the head and body, holding a club on the dexter shoulder and a serpent in the sinister
Clan Motto: Si Je Puis (If I can).
Livingston(e) Clan History
Legend has it that
a Saxon of the name of Leving acquired lands in West Lothian in the 12th century under David
I and representatives of the name Leving appear in documents of that period. Sir Archibald de Levingestoune rendered homage
to Edward I of England in 1296.
Sir Archibald's son
James was taken prisoner alongside David II at the Battle of Durham in 1346, but was later released. As a Commissioner
for the King's release from English captivity, he was given the Barony of Callendar, and in the following centuries the Livingston
Family held the earldoms of Callendar, Linlithgow and Newburgh.
Sir Alexander Livingston
of Callendar was appointed a guardian of James II and his son, Sir James, became Captain of Stirling Castle and Lord Chamberlain
of Scotland under the title of Lord Livingston.
Alexander, 5th Lord Livingstone accompanied Mary Queen of Scots to France,
where he died. In 1599, Alexander, 7th Lord Livingston, was created Earl of Linlithgow.
younger son of Alexander, 1st Earl of Linlithgow, was created Earl of Callendar by Charles I. The titles later merged, but
following the Livingston's support of the Jacobite Cause during the 1715 Uprising, the titles
The small Highland
Clan of Livingston originally bore a Gaelic name spelt in different ways – MacDunsleibh, Mac-an-Leigh or MacLea. The
amalgamation came about when Sir William Livingston of Skirling, Keeper of the Privy Seal for Charles I, was given a 57-year
lease on Achanduin Castle, on the island of Lismore, locally known as the 'Bishop's Castle.' The clansfolk of Lismore had
hitherto tried to avoid becoming involved with the surrounding clans – the Stewarts of Appin, the Macleans and the Macdougalls
- so rallied around Livingston of Skirling.
The Chief's Charter
for lands dates from 1544 and confirms him as the Hereditary Keeper of the Pastoral Staff of St Moluag, an Irish missionary
born around 520. On his death, the staff was entrusted to the family who had become almoners to Lismore Cathedral and subsequently
Barons of Bachuil. In 1950, a Lyon Court judgement
declared that the Custodian of the Staff is the Co-Arb of Saint Moluag and a Baron in the Baronage of Argyll and the Isles.
(1813-73) was born in Blantyre and joined the London Missionary
Society. He carried out explorations from Cape of Good Hope to Zambesi, then northwards into Central
Africa. Charles Livingstone (1821-73), brother of David Livingstone, joined his brother on African expedition
(1821-63) and emigrated to America.
Places of Interest:
West Lothian. Lands held by Livingstons from the 14th century.
A 15th century tower house remains part of the mansion house of a later date and gave its name to the Livingston earldom,
although it is spelled differently.
Livingston, West Lothian. Almshouses were founded here by Henry Livingston in 1496. This is now the site of Livingston
Achandon, Isle of
Lismore. 13th century Livingston stronghold. Now a ruin.
Bachuil, Isle of
Lismore. Home of the Livingstons of Bachuil. St Moluag's Staff (also known as the Bachuill
Buidhe), which ranks among the oldest ecclesiastical relics on record, is held here.
David Livingstone (1813-73), the great explorer, was born here. There is a National Memorial open the year round.
Motto: Corda Serrata Pando (I open locked hearts)
A boar's head erased argent, langued gules
Names associated with the clan: Lockhert, Lokhartt,Lockhartt, Lokkard, Lokert, Lokarte, Lockheart, Lockhart, Lokart, Lockhead
Chief: Chief: Angus
Hew Lockhart of the Lee, Chief of the Name and Arms of Lockhart
of the Name
In early times this name was spelt 'Locard' or 'Lokart'. Like so many Scottish families, the
Locards came from England where they were among those dispossessed of lands by william the conqueror.
There were lands of Lockards near penrith in the 12th century and later in Annandale,
where the town of lockerbie is said to be named after them. The family finally settled in Ayrshire and Lanarkshire, where
they have held land for over 700 years.
The earliest paper in the family archives is a charter of 1323. By this Sir
Symon Locard bound himself and his heirs to pay out of the lands of Lee and Cartland an annual rent of £10. Stephen Locard,
grandfather of Sir Symon, founded the village of Stevenston in Ayrshire. His son, Symon, acquired lands in Lanarkshire and, like his
father, called a village which he founded , Symons toun(today Symington) after himself. Symon, the 2nd of Lee, won fame for
himself and his family fighting alongside Robert the Bruce in the struggle for Scottish Independence. He was knighted for
his loyal service. Sir Symon was among the knights, led by Sir James Douglas, who took Bruces heart on crusade in 1329 to
atone for his murder of John Comyn in the church of Grefriars in 1306. The crusade was ended prematurely when Douglas was killed fighting
the Moors in Spain, but to commemorate
the adventure and the honour done to the family, their name was changed from Locard to Lockheart, which afterwards became
Lochhart. The heart within the fetterlock was from then on included in the arms of the family, and the dead is also commemorated
in the motto.
As well as a new name, the family gained a precious heirloom on the Crusade: the
mysterious charm known as the Lee Penny. Sir Walter Scott used the story of its acquisition by the family as a basis for his
novel, The talisman. Sir Symon captured a moorish amir in battle in Spain,
and received from the mans mother as part of his ransom, and amulet or stone with healing powers. The amirs mother told Sir
Symon that the stone was a remedy against bleeding, fever, the bites of mad dogs and the sicknesses of horses and cattle.
The amulet was later set in a silver coin which has been identified as a fourpenny piece of the reign of Edward IV.
The coin is kept in a gold snuffbox which was a gift from Maria Theresa,
Empress of Austria, to her general, Count James Lockhart. Such was the belief in the amulets powers that a descendant of Sir
Symon, Sir James Lockhart of Lee, was charged with sorcery, an offense which could carry the death penalty.
After examining the accused the Synod of the Church of Scotland dismissed the case, because '
the custom is only to cast a stone in some water and give deseasit cattle thereof to drink and the same is done without using
any words such as charmers use in their unlawful practices and considering that in nature there are many things seem to work
strange effects whereof no human wit can give reason it having pleast God to give the stones and herbs a special virtue for
healing of many infirmities in man and beast'.
Alan Lockhart of Lee was killed at the Battle of Pinkie in 1547. Sir James Lockhart of Lee, born
in 1596, was appointed a gentleman of the Privy Chamber by Charles I and was knighted. In 1646 he was appointed to the Supreme
Court Bench, taking the title of 'Lord Lee'. A zealous royalist, he was captured at Alyth in 1651 and conveyed to the Tower of London.
His son, Sir William, was a distinguished soldier who fought on the royalist side at the Battle
of Worcester in 1651. He then campaigned on the continent, where he achieved such prominence that Cardinal Mazarin, successor
to Cardinal Richelieu, offered to make him a mareschal of France.
He died in the Netherlands in 1675.
James Lockhart, who inherited the estates in 1777, also saw service on the Continent
where he rose to be a count of the Holy Roman Empire, a Knight of the Order of Maria Theresa and a general of that empresses
imperial forces. The title of Count became extinct when James's only son, Charles, died without issue. Although the family
seat, Lee Castle, has been sold, the estates are still owned and managed by the present head of the family, Angus Lockhart
of the Lee.
Marjorum Virtus" which means "This is the valour of my ancestors".
The following is a partial list of names associated with Clan Logan:
Lagan, Laggan, Leonerd, Loban, Lobban,
Loben.Logane, Logen, Loggan, Loggane, Loggans, Loghane, Loghyn, Login, Logyn, Lopan, Lowgan, Lyndon, MacLennan.
in the Highlands are often linked to the MacLennans due to a colourful (but unreliable) legend about a chief of the Logans in Easter Ross who was killed in a feud with the Frasers. His
wife gave birth to a child a few months later who later became a priest. His son was named Gillie Fhinnein (disciple of St
Finnan) and MacLennan is the anglicised version of this name.
All the Logan/Logie names are probably derived from the
Gaelic word "lagan" (little hollow) which became parts of place names in various parts of Scotland. One of the most important sources of the name was Logan in Ayrshire but there are examples of the name in Dryburgh in the Borders in 1204,
Adam de Logan in Gowrie in 1226 and Thurbrand de Logan in Cunningham, Ayrshire. There were four landowners of that name who
signed the "Ragman Roll" of King Edward I in 1296.
Two knights named Logan accompanied Sir James Douglas on his journey
to take Robert the Bruce's heart to the Holy Land. They died with Douglas fighting the Moors in Spain in 1329.
There was a landed family of Logans in Forfar, Angus for hundreds of years until the last of the
lairds died without issue in 1802. Other Logans were established
in lands in West Linton (south of the Pentland Hills in the Scottish Borders).
Sir Robert Logan of Restalrig
in Edinburgh married a daughter of King Robert II and was
Admiral of Scotland in 1406. The family owned Fast Castle in Berwickshire but they fell from favour and the last Logan of Restalrig died
an outlaw and the castle was taken over by the Homes.
Logie/Loggie were located in different parts of the country from
Logan. Wauter de Logie also signed the Ragman Roll and Sir
John of Logy is reputed to have been one of the nobles who conspired with King Edward II of England and the Earl of Warenne when they attempted
an invasion of Scotland in 1320. A coat
of arms was granted to Logie of that Ilk (signifying a clan chief) but they were never subsequently recorded in the registers
of the Lyon Court.
"The Scottish Gael" was
the first work in English to try to give a history of Highland dress and it was written by
James Logan in 1831. In modern times, Jimmy Logan is the most famous of a large theatrical family.
Motto: Amor patitur moras (Love Endures Delays)
Names Associated with the Clan: Lumesten, Lumisdayn, Lumisdane, Lumsdean,
Lumisdeyn, Lumsdaine, Lummisdane, Lummdane, Lummisden, Lummesdene, Lumisden,
Lumisdeane, Lumysden, Lumsden, Lummysden, Lommestone, Blanerne.
Origins of the clan: The name Lumsden derives from the old manor of Lumsden in the parish of
Coldingham in Berwickshire. The earliest known recordings of the name appear between 1166 and 1182 when the brothers Gillem
(William) and Cren de Lumsden witnessed a charter by Waldeve Earl of Dunbar to Coldingham Priory. The lands of Lumsden are first mentioned in a charter dated 1098 of King Edgar of Scotland and his son Malcolm Canmore. Gillem and his brother Cren are the first recorded owners of the land.
Adam Lumsden and Roger de Lumsden were among the Scottish clan leaders who were forced to do homage to King Edward I of England with both of their names appearing on the Ragman Rolls.
Around 1328 Gillbert de Lumsden married an heiress of Blanerne and by 1329 had received a charter for the Blanerne
lands by the Earl of Angus. By the mid fourteenth century offshoots of the
Lumsden clan had charters and lands confirmed to them in Conlan in Fife and Medlar and Cushnie in Aberdeenshire.
SEVENTEENTH CENTURY -
Thirty Years' War and Civil War
Thirty Years' War
In the early seventeenth century during the Thirty Years' War the Clan Lumsden fought for the Swedish King Gustavus Adolphus in a famous unit called "Lumsden's Musketeers".
The Civil War
One of the Lumsden brothers, James Lumsden returned from the
war in Europe with his men to fight in the Civil War which was taking place in England, Ireland
and Scotland to support the Covenanters. They fought at the Battle of Marston
Moor in 1644 where King Charles I was defeated. They also fought at
the Battle of Dunbar
(1650) under David
Leslie where the Covenanters were defeated by the Parliamentarians.
brother Robert defended Dundee against General Monck but he was killed on its surrender.
EIGHTEENTH CENTURY and Jacobite
During the Jacobite Uprisings of 1745 to 1746 the Chief of Clan
Lumsden was Prince Charles Edward
Stuart's secretary. After the Battle of Culloden the chief fled to Rome. He returned to Scotland in 1773 and was pardoned by the British government.
His tartan waistcoat is preserved at Pitcaple
and clan seat
- Blanerne Castle in Berwickshire, was acquired in the fourteenth century and was
the main clan seat.
cock Or, crested and barbed Gules.
Origin of the Name
This name is Norman in origin
deriving from D’Lisle meaning in Latin “of the island”. The
name Lyle is part of the same stock as the Northumberland family of 'de Insula'
(as it is in Latin) 'Lisle' (de Lisle, Delisle in French).
de Insula, or Radulphus, is the first of this name to appear in Scotland. A
follower of the Steward, around 1170, he witnessed the church of Innerkyp being
gifted by Baldwin de Birge, the sheriff of Lanharc (Lanark), to the monks of
Paisley. Around the same time, de Insula also witnessed the giving of ferms of
his mill at Paisley by Walter Fitz-Alan for the soul of Sir Robert de
Brus. He witnessed, at some point prior to 1177, the church of Cragyn
(Craigie in Kyle) being given to the monks of Paisley by Walter Hose.
As early as the start of the 1200s a
family of Lyles were barons of Duchal in Refrewshire.
de Lile witnessed a charter
to lands in 1222 and 1233. Alan de Insula witnessed many charters of Alexander,
son of Walter the High Steward, prior to 1252.
Both John de Lille of Berwickshire
and Richard del Isle of Edinburgh plead fealty to Edward I of England in the
Ragman Roll of 1296.
They acquired the barony of Duchal
in Renfrewshire, and extended their lands during the reign of David II,
receiving a charter to the barony of Buchquhan in Stirlingshire.
Sir Robert Lyle was raised to the
peerage as Lord Lyle by James II. The 2nd Lord Lyle was sent as ambassador to
England in 1472. He is said to have been
present at the murder of James III at the Battle of Sauchieburn in 1488.
However, he appears to have been appalled at the actual murder of the king and
joined the Earl of Lennox and other nobles to take up arms to avenge the kings
death. However, this was not successful, and
the title of Lord Lyle was forfeited the following year, 1489.
The estates were restored shortly
after and Lyle enjoyed high status for the rest of his life. This title is now
Another family of Lyells received
lands in Forfarshire around 1375.
This family produced a
number of distinguished soldiers, Including Hercules Lyle who fought in the
rising of 1745 and was killed at the Battle of Falkirk in 1746.
A Hercules Lyle fought
in the 1745 rising, but died at the Battle of Falkirk in 1746.
Motto: In Te Domine Speravi (In Thee O Lord Have I Put My Trust)
Clan Chief: The current Chief of Clan Lyon is Michael Fergus Bowes-Lyon, 18th Earl
of Strathmore and Kinghorne.
Gaelic Name: Liobhunn
Lion(s), Lyons, Lehane or Lehan
Origin of the name
Although Sir Iain Moncreiffe, perhaps
the greatest herald genealogist, believed his family were of Celtic origin and descended from a younger son of the Lamonts, the generally
accepted view is that they descended from a French family called de Leon, who came north with Edgar, son of Malcolm
III, at the
end of the eleventh century to fight against his uncle, Donald Bane, the usurper of the throne. Edgar was triumphant, and
de Leon received lands in Perthshire which were
later called Glen Lyon. Roger
de Leonne witnessed a charter of Edgar to the Abbey at Dunfermline in
In 1372 Robert II granted
to Sir John
the White Lyon because of his fair complexion) the thanage of Glamis. Five years
later, he became Chamberlain of Scotland, and his prominence was such he was considered fit to marry the king¹s daughter,
Princess Joanna, who brought with her not only illustrious lineage, but also the lands of Tannadice on the
River Esk. He was
later also granted the barony of Kinghorne.
He was killed during a quarrel with Sir James Lindsay of Crawford near Menmuir in Angus.
The family have descended in
a direct line from the White Lion and Princess Joanna to the present day, and their crest alludes to this. His only son, another
John, was his successor, and he strengthened the royal ties by marrying a granddaughter of Robert II.
Sir John¹s son, Patrick, was created Lord Glamis in 1445 and thereafter became a Privy Councillor and Master of the Royal
John, sixth Lord Glamis, was, according
to a tradition, a quarrelsome man with a quick temper. He married Janet Douglas, granddaughter
of the famous Earl Angus (also called
Cat), and after
his death she suffered terribly for the hatred which James V bore all
of her name. Lady Glamis was accused
on trumped-up charges of witchcraft and,
despite speaking boldly in her own defence, her doom was preordained. She was burned at the stake on the castle hill at Edinburgh on 3 December 1540.
The eighth Lord Glamis renounced his allegiance to Mary, Queen
of Scots, and served
under the Regents Moray and Lennox. He was made Chancellor
of Scotland and Keeper
of the Great Seal for life, and his son, the ninth Lord, was captain of the Royal Guard and one of James VIs Privy
17th Century & Civil War:
In 1606 he was created Earl of Kinghorne, Viscount Lyon and Baron Glamis. His son, the second Earl, was a close personal
friend of James Graham the Marquess
of Montrose and was
with him when he subscribed to the National
Covenant in 1638.
He accompanied Montrose on his early campaigns in defence of the Covenant , but despite
his great affection for the Marquess, he could not support him when he broke with the Scots Parliament to fight for Charles
Lyon almost ruined his estates in supporting the Army of the Covenant against his friend.
In 1677, the third Earl of Kinghorne obtained a new patent of nobility, being styled thereafter Earl of
Strathmore and Kinghorne, Viscount
Lyon, Baron Glamis, Tannadyce, Sidlaw and Strathdichtie. He paid off the debts he inherited from his father by skillful management
of the estates and was later able to alter and enlarge Castle Glamis. John,
his son, although a member of the Privy Council, opposed
the Treaty of
Union of 1707.
18th Century & Jacobite Uprisings:
His son was a Jacobite
who fought in the rising of 1715 at the Battle of Sheriffmuir in Tullibardine¹s regiment. He died defending his regiment¹s
colours. In 1716 James, the Old Pretender. son of James VII, was entertained at Glamis. Thirty years later another king¹s
son, but a much less welcome one, the Duke of Cumberland, stopped at the castle on his march north to Culloden. It is said
that after he left the bed which he had used was dismantled.
Among the Jacobite relics
now preserved at Glamis are a sword and watch belonging to James VIII, the Old Pretender, and an intriguing tartan coat worn
by him. The youngest daughter of the fourteenth Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne was the Queen Mother.
Likely came from the LYON charge from the coat-of-arms of Sir John de Lyon (Argent,
Lion Rampant Azure, Riband Gules).
Clan Castle: The seat of the Chief of Clan Lyon is at
Glamis Castle in Angus, Scotland.
Fortiter - "Boldly".
Chief: St John Somerville McAlester of
Loup and Kennox
Septs of the Clan: Alastair, Alexander, Alison, Alistair,Allison, Alister, MacAlasdair,
MacAlaster, MacAlester,MacAlister, MacAllister, MacAllister, McAlister, McAlester,
McAllister, McCallister, McCollister, McLister, Sanders, Saunders.
of the Name:
The Clan Alasdair descends from Somerled, 12th
century Lord of Argyll, through his grandson Donald, who founded the mighty Clan Donald. Until
the 15th century, they were, in fact, the senior cadet branch of the Clan Donald rather than an
independent clan. Clan Alasdair was, and is, a West
Highland clan, centered on the Kintyre peninsula and surrounding islands.
traces its descent from Alasdair Mor, son of Domhnall mac
Raghnaill who was grandson of Somerled. Somerled is claimed as the ancestor of the MacAlisters,
MacDonalds and MacDougalls. Gaelic tradition gave Somerled a Celtic descent in the male line, though
a recent DNA study has shown that Somerled may have been of Norse descent. By testing the Y-DNA of males bearing the surnames MacDonald, MacDougall, MacAlister, and their
variants it was found that roughly a quarter of MacDonalds, a third of MacDougalls, and forty percent of MacAlisters tested shared the same Y-DNA and a direct
paternal ancestor. This distinct Y-chromosome found in Scotland has been
regarded as showing Norse descent in the British
of a clan
After the fall of the Lordship of the Isles
in 1493, the MacAlisters seem to have formed into an independent clan of their own, and their chief,
Iain Dubh (Anglicisation: Black John), lived at Ardpatrick (Ard Phadriue) in South Knapdale. Later chiefs have styled themselves as Mac Iain Duibh, (sons of Black
John) in reference to him.
The clan's lands were never very extensive, were located mostly in Kintyre.
As early as 1481 a Charles Macallestar was made Steward of Kintyre. Later many
MacAlisters were found in Bute and Arran. The principal
family of the clan were the MacAlisters of Loup, and up to twenty years after the first record
of Iain Dubh, Angus Macallaster of the Loupe who is called "John Dubh's son" is mentioned.
After the forfeiture of the Lordship of the Isles, the MacAlisters of Loup attached themselves
for about one hundred years to the more powerful Clan Iain Vor. The "Laird of
Lowip", the chief of the clan, appears in the General Band of 1587, in which
Highland chiefs were held accountable by the Government
for their tenants. In 1618 the Laird of Loup was one of the twenty barons who were made responsible
for the good rule of Argyll during the absence of the Earl of Argyll.
Alexander MacAlister of
Loup fought at the Battle of
Killiecrankie, supporting the cause of the deposed James VII of
Scotland, and also at the Battle of the
Boyne. Alexander was succeeded by his son, Hector, though he died without issue and was in turn succeeded
by Alexander's brother, Charles. Charles married the daughter of Lamont of that Ilk.
of Loup, married Janet Somerville, heiress of Kennox, in 1792. In 1805 Charles assumed the name
and Arms of Somerville along with his own, and from then on this family has been known as Somerville
McAlester of Loup and Kennox.
In 1846 Charles MacAlester of Loup and Kennox, was granted the right to take up
Arms as Chief of the clan, by Lyon
Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Godfrey Somerville MacAlester
of the Loup and Kennox, succeeded him as Chief of Clan MacAlister is 1903.
His seat was Kennox in Ayrshire, though the seat of the clan as since been sold, and the current chief, William
St John Somerville McAlester of Loup and Kennox, lives in England.
Clan Chief: There is no question that, in 843AD, King Kenneth
MacAlpin was our 1st Chief. He is the individual from whom our Clan
subsequently took its name. However, ancient records are very few and almost nothing is known
about persons living between then and about 1100 AD. Although we can probably presume that Kenneth's
direct male line, which ruled Scotland for 200 years, represented the initial chiefly succession
for our Clan, there is no clear picture of the succession following that time. By
some point in time, probably by 1300 AD, Clan MacAlpine had become landless and
the line of our Chief was lost; that is, we had become a "Broken Clan." Thus, our Clan has not
had a Chief for more than 700 hundred years and it does not have one now.
In early times, a Clan Chief picked his successor in accordance with the Gaelic
practice of "Tanistry." The Chief would select the most able candidate within the "derbhfine"
(an extended kinship group normally consisting of the male descendants of a common great-grandfather)
but, usually a close relative, such as a brother, son, cousin, nephew, etc.
Today, Tanistry has given way to the practice of passing the title directly from father
to eldest son, and so on. In addition, today, any person claiming to be Chief of a Scottish Clan
must petition the Lord Lyon in Scotland for a Coat of Arms and legally prove in Lyon Court they are entitled to be recognized as Chief. In cases
where the Chiefly bloodline has been lost, such as with Clan MacAlpine, Lord
Lyon has established guidelines and procedures that can be followed to form an "Ad
Hoc Derbhfine" and find a new Clan Leader (called a “Commander”) who might ultimately
be recognized as Chief, thereby establishing a new Chiefly bloodline.
Given our Clan’s ancient and unrecorded history, it is not expected that any
individual can prove to Lord Lyon's stringent requirements direct descent from our former Chiefs.
Thus, we must follow Lyon Court's guidelines and procedures to form an Ad Hoc Derbhfine for the
purpose of finding a new Clan Leader, a Commander, who might ultimately become our new Clan Chief.
Variant Spellings: Albain, Albanach, Albin, Ailpein, Allphin, Alpin, Alpine, Alpyn, Alpynsone,
Calpin, Calpine, Culpen, Elphin, Galpin, Galpine, Gilpin, Halpin, Halpine, MacAilpein, MacAlipine,
MacAlpan, MacAlpane, MacAlpeine, MacAlpeinne, MacAlpen, MacAlphine, MacAlpin, MacAlpie,
MacAlpy, MacAlpye, MacAlpyn, MacAlpyne, MacApline, MacCalpin, MacCalpine,
MacCapie, MacCappie, MacCappin, MacCappine, MacCappy, MacCapy, MacCarpin, MacColpin, MacColpine,
MacCoplan, MacCoplin, MacCoppin, MacCoppine, MacCorpin, MacCorpine, Mackalpe, MacKalpin, Makalpe,
Makcalpy, Makcalpyn, Malcalpyn, M’Alpen, M’Alpin, M’Alpine, M’Alpyn, McAlpain,
McAlpan, McAlpane, McAlpe, McAlpen, McAlphin, McAlphine, McAlpie, McAlpien, McAlpil, McAlpin,
McAlpine, McAlpion, McAlpon, McAlpy, McAlpyn, M’Calpin, M’Calppin, M’Calpy,
M’Calpyne, M’Cappe, M’Cavpy, McCalpie, McCalpin, McCalpy, McCapen, McCawpyn,
McCulpen, McKelpin, M’Kalpie, MkKalpy.
History of Clan MacAlpine:
The history of the Royal Clan MacAlpine is ancient. In fact, our Clan claims the
distinction of being the most ancient and the most purely Celtic of the
Highland clans. The Clan reached its peak of power and influence at a time when no written record
was kept, leaving only the vague history of tradition. This has led some to conclude, erroneously,
that the Clan MacAlpine never existed. Yet, the voices of the bards (ancient oral historians)
cannot be silenced and evidence of the Clan’s existence and significance abounds.
Kenneth MacAlpin became the first King of Scotland in AD 843 when he united
the Scots and the Picts. He was the son of King Alpin and the descendant of a long line
of Dalriadic Kings. His direct male descendants ruled Scotland for the next 200 years and every
Sovereign of Scotland since, including Queen Elizabeth II, today, has had his Royal blood coursing
through their veins. It is from him that our Clan takes its name, and, thus, he is considered
our first Chief. Of course, as King he was Chief of Chiefs and this is reflected
in the name of our Society newsletter. But, certainly, he was the Chief of his
own family branch, his “Clan.” From King Alpin and King Kenneth, several powerful
branches emerged, eventually becoming formidable Clans in their own right. This group or family
of related clans, of which Clan MacAlpine is certainly a part, is known as Siol Alpine.
The history of Clan MacAlpine is shrouded in Scotland's distant past; it is
debated by scholars and will likely never be clear. The written history of the Clan
is currently a work in-progress of the Society. In the mean time, we offer the following for your
Perhaps it was that King Kenneth’s brother, Donald, was the next
Chief, to be followed by the succeeding Scottish monarchs of the MacAlpin dynasty through
Malcolm II (1034 AD.) The line might then have vested with a distant male
cousin that history has left unrecorded. Did they continue to exist as a family of power for
a period of time? If so, there was no trace left by 1300 AD.
King Kenneth undoubtedly
brought many of his family advisors and Clansmen with him when he moved his capital from Argyllshire,
the traditional seat of the Clan, to Scone, in Perthshire, leaving behind others to look after
the interests in Argyll. Perhaps thusly was ultimately created a Chiefship of
Clan MacAlpine separate from the Kingship of Scotland. The Clan seat in Argyll may
have become an outpost on the old frontier of a New Kingdom.
Perhaps potential successors
to the throne were sent to Argyll as a Clan Chief, in order to sharpen their skills by managing
the family interests there, before taking their successive turns as King. If so, it may have been
that many were involved in the assassinations of sitting Kings, or the
revenge thereof, as the history of MacAlpin descendants is littered with murder after murder,
by one family member against another, in order to secure the throne. It may have been that several
of these plots were launched from Argyll. Perhaps, after one such exchange, the Argyll Chief and
his supporting clansmen were decimated in battle by a relative from Scone who sought to
ensure that the Clan would be unable to pose a future threat but, also leaving
Or, perhaps disenfranchised potential successors were sent to Argyll by the
sitting King to keep them at a safe distance, busy defending against Viking
raiders with little support from the Palace in Scone, in an attempt to minimize threats from
his competitors. The position of Chief of the Clan MacAlpine seat in Argyll may have come to be
known as an undesirable assignment. As such, the powers in Scone may have viewed the Clan’s
holdings there merely as a source from which to repay local clan Chiefs for political
favors. With the lands exhausted and the Chiefship unwanted, the MacAlpine
clansmen and their families would have had no choice but to offer allegiance to other local clan
Or, it might be that the Argyll Clan became broken as, at the urging of the
MacAlpin King in Scone, various powerful family branches separated from the
original line to establish strategic strongholds throughout the New Kingdom, each one,
in turn, taking with it a share of clansmen. This may have been how the Siol Alpine family of
clans was formed. The MacAlpine clansmen would have had to choose which faction to follow. As
surnames were not in popular use in Scotland during ancient times, it is no surprise that it is
the given (first) names of the progenitors (first Chiefs) of the various Clan MacAlpine
branches that have survived to the present; each distinguishing a branch
among the Siol Alpine Clans. Thus, MacAlpine clansmen would have had to indicate allegiance to
one new branch or another, leaving behind his use of the predecessor name of Clan MacAlpine.
Whatever the actual use of the old Clan seat, it seems clear that with the
move of the capital to Scone, the stage was set for the ultimate breakdown of the Clan
in Argyll. As time went on, power shifted and the Clan lost its members to other, sometimes related,
more powerful clans in the region, ultimately becoming landless with no recognized Chief. This
condition has persisted for the past five hundred years, or more.
The following is a collection of some of what now makes up the written history of Clan
MacAlpine: Writings of experts and old Gaelic sayings. We present them so that you gain an understanding
of just how deeply these legends permeate Scottish history, remembering that most legends are
based on fact.
In his book, “The Scottish Tartans,”
Sir Thomas Innes of Learney, Lord Lyon King of Arms, refers to the claim that this Royal Clan
is the most ancient in the Highlands. He states that the Clan MacAlpine is Celtic and that records
indicate that, for 25 generations, the Kings of Scotland were of MacAlpine
lineage. He also states that the ancient crest was a boar’s head, the war cry being
“Cumbrich Bas Ailpein" or, "Remember the death of Alpin,” and that the traditional
home of the MacAlpines was Dunstaffnage, near Oban, Argyll. This former Lord Lyon is one of the
most respected Lyons to serve Her Majesty and, therefore, his description of the Clan, its history,
and its symbols is considered to be authoritative.
an old Gaelic saying: “Cnuic `is uillt `is Ailpeinich” (“Hills and Streams and
MacAlpine”, which signifies the origin of the MacAlpines was contemporary with the origin
of the hills and streams, that is, the earth.)
“Tradition claims MacAlpin or MacAlpine as the oldest and most
purely Celtic of the Highland Clans, of royal descent from the dynasty of Kenneth MacAlpin
who united the Picts and Scots into one kingdom from the year 850, and
transferred his capital to Perthshire from Dunn Add in Dalriada (beside Loch Crinan.)”
(From “Scots Kith & Kin,” page 49.)
MacAlpine: One of the chief branches
of the royal clan Alpin. Their seat is said to have been at Dunstaffnage in Argyll though they
are now landless and without a recognized Chief.
is a name given to a group of clans that claim descent from Kenneth MacAlpin. They are the Grants,
the MacAulays, the MacDuffs, the MacFies, the MacGregors, the MacKinnons, the MacNabs and the
Regarding the name MacAlpine, one of the earliest records of an early form
of the name appears when John MacAlpyne witnessed a charter by Malise, earl of
Stratherne, of the lands of Cultenacloche and others in Glenalmond, c. 1260 (Grandtully,
I, p. 126.) Monaghe fiz Alpyn of the county of Perth rendered forced homage to Edward I of England
in 1296. (From "The Surnames of Scotland" by George F. Black.)
Motto: Fide Et Opera ("By fidelity and labour")
John Alexander MacArthur of that Ilk, who represents the
clan as a member of the Standing Council of Scottish Chiefs.
of the Name
The forename Arthur may owe its origins to the Greek word "arktouros"
meaning keeper of the bears and in the Celtic world it came to mean "strong as a bear". The name
is now known around the world as a result of the legendary King Arthur who may
have been a Celtic chieftain around the 6th century. The first reliable record of the name
is in Adomnan's "Life of Columba" which tells of a king of the Scots called Aedan mac Gabhrain
named his son Arthur, also in the 6th century.
The MacArthur clan is believed to have the same roots as the Campbells, but claims that further back they are descended from the
legendary King Arthur, are not provable. The clan is certainly regarded as ancient and there is
a Gaelic saying "as old as the hills, the MacArthurs and the Devil". The more
established records show that they originated from the district of Lennox, part of the old
kingdom of Strathclyde and moved into Argyll. The clan seat was established at Strachur, on Loch
The clan was at its
peak in the 14th century when a MacArthur married the heiress of the progenitor of the Campbell
lords of Loch Awe. The MacArthurs from Loch Awe supported Robert the Bruce and fought at the Battle of Bannockburn. Their leader,
Mac-ic-Artair, was rewarded with land previously held by the MacDougalls of Lorne (who had supported the Comyns). The MacArthurs became keepers of Dunstaffnage castle.
When King James I attempted to subdue the Highland clans who were becoming too powerful in the 15th
century, the MacArthurs were amongst those who bore the brunt of his actions.
The clan chief, Iain MacArthur, who could summon 1,000 men, was executed in 1427 and most
of the clan lands were confiscated. For all practical purposes that was the end of the clan; unlike
others who suffered setbacks and managed to recover, the MacArthurs never regained their clan lands,
though the name survived as many of the clan dispersed.
For a while, a sept of the MacArthurs were the hereditary pipers
of the MacDonalds of Sleat, who were frequently at odds with the Campbells.
Charles MacArthur, piper to Sir Alexander MacDonald, was a pupil of Patrick
Og MacCrimmon. Another group of MacArthurs were armorours to MacDonald of Islay.
Towards the end of the 15th century, and into the 16th century,
a number of MacArthurs held prominent positions in Argyll. Some of their neighbours became jealous
and as a result of a skirmish on Loch Awe, Duncan MacArthur and his son were drowned. The Earl of
Argyll ordered compensation to be paid but took advantage of the situation and
appointed his nephew John to be leader of the Loch Awe MacArthurs.
In the 17th century, one of the MacArthurs of Milton in Dunoon
rose to be a baillie in Kintyre and a chamberlain to the Marquess of Montrose in Cowal. Large numbers
of MacArthurs fought on both sides during the Jacobite Uprisings in 1715 and 1745. After the
'45, many emigrated to the West Indies and North America.
John MacArthur (1767-1834) came to New South Wales in Australia
in 1790. He was one of the earliest sheep farmers there (he successfully
crossed Bengal and Irish sheep and later introduced the Merino breed from South Africa).
His sons planted the first vineyard in Australia.
In more modern times,
US General Arthur MacArthur, whose parents came from Glasgow in Scotland,
became Lieutenant-General in the Philippines in 1906. His son,
General Douglas MacArthur, became even more famous in the Pacific and the Philippines
during WW2 as commander of the US forces in the Far East.
The last clan chief of the
MacArthurs died in India in the 1780s. He had no obvious male heir and
so the hereditary chiefdom of the clan seemed to have died with him. But after a long gap, Canadian-born
James Edward Moir MacArthur was recognized by the Lord Lyon in August 2002 as the
Arthur clan chief. The new chief was 87 at that date and lived in Edinburgh. He had
not sought the title - the research was initiated by a group of senior clan
members. The genealogist had to go back to the 16th century to find a common ancestor for
the last chief, Charles MacArthur of Tirivadich. The Lord Lyon further decreed that the Chief of
Clan Arthur's shield should be "three antique crowns Or (gold) set on an Azure (blue) background".
The silver cross molene which, up until now, was thought to form part of the Clan Arthur
Chief's shield, has been omitted. James MacArthur's coat of arms now reverts to
the earliest, original arms of Clan Arthur, a shield identical to the description given in ancient
manuscripts for the legendary King Arthur's blazon. James MacArthur was officially inaugurated in
April 2003 but the old chief died in April 2004.
Surnames regarded as septs (sub-branch) of the MacArthur clan
are limited to Arthur.
Here are the most widely
known variant spellings for MacArthur: Arthur
McArthur McArthure MacArther
McCarter McCartor Makcairter McKairtour MacArtor
MacArtair McArtair McArtan McArta
Magarta Mcharter Makkarthyre
with the clan:
MacAuley, MacAully, MacPhedran, MacPhedron, McAuley, McCallie, McCauley
Septs: Lennox Clan, MacAll, MacCall,
MacKail, MacKell, MacPhedran, MacPhedron, MacPheidran, Paterson, Patterson
has three distinct branches. They are the MacAulay's of Ardencaple, the MacAulay's of Lochbroom
and Coigach, and the MacAulay's of Lewis.
The MacAulay's of Lewis come from a Celtic and Norse mixture that used the
Celtic language and followed Celtic traditions. The earliest historical
reference was to a Donald MacAulay of Lewis in 1610. Following a tradition of Calvinist ministry,
the Reverend John MacAulay produced in his Grandson, Thomas, Lord MacAulay, one of the finest essayists
and historians in England. Lord Thomas Babington MacAulay (1800 - 1859
Macaulay) is buried at Westminster Abbey in London in the famous "poet's corner" next to Byron, Shelley,
Keates, and Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Lord Macaulay's father, Zachary Macaulay, was a businessman in
Sierra Leon and an ardent abolitionist.
The MacAulay's of Lochbroom and Coigach were amongst the ancient inhabitants of
Kintail. They were allied to Alexander II of Scotland (1214 - 1249) who
granted them land in Lochbroom and Coigach for loyal services to the King. Their saga is closely
entwined with Clan MacKenzie of Kintail whose stronghold Eilean Donan Castle was commanded and defended by Duncan MacAulay against the attacks of William, Earl of Ross.
They also fought under King Alexander III against King Haco of Norway
who invaded Ayrshire on October 2, 1262. Alongside of them in the thick of battle
were their clansmen, the Ardencaple MacAulay's.
Aulay MacAulay of the Ardencaple MacAulay's first
appeared in documents in 1296. In 1587, Sir Aulay MacAulay of Ardencaple is included in the roll
of landlords of Gaeldom, as a principal vassal of the earldom of Lennox.
In May, 1591, Sir Aulay MacAulay entered into a formal bond of friendship (alliance) with MacGregor
of Glenstrae recognizing that Clan MacAulay was a cadet clan of Clan Gregor. MacAulay folklore tells
of the times that Rob Roy (MacGregor) stayed with the MacAulay's of Ardencaple to avoid capture
by the authorities. Clan MacAulay's dress tartan is very similar to that of Clan Gregor.
Ardencaple was on a hillside near the town of Helensburgh, Scotland.
The remaining battle tower overlooks an inlet to the Firth of Clyde on one side and the
shore of Loch Lomond on the other. The immediate area of Ardencaple is
now HM Naval dependent's housing for the nearby Faslane submarine base. Loch Lomond and Helensburgh
lie about 25 km northwest of Glasgow, Scotland.
BADGE: “Touch not a catt but a targe.” (Don’t touch this cat without a shield)
PLANT BADGE: Lus nam Braoileag (vaccineum vitis idaea) Red whortleberry.
Mo Run Geal Og.
Chief: James McBain of McBain, is the 22nd Chief of Clan MacBean
Septs of the Clan: Bean, MacBain, MacBeath, MacBeth, Macilvain, MacVean
Our Clan History
Clan MacBean started when Dougal Dall, 7th Chief of Clan Chattan (pronounce Hattan) gave his daughter,
Eva, heiress to his Chieftainship of Clan Chattan, in marriage to Angus MackIntosh, the 6th Chief of Clan MackIntosh in 1291.
One of our ancestors came with Eva as part of her family that moved with her when she married. It was the custom that a new
heiress would bring a following of her own kinsmen with her to her new married home. Her father was from the Royal family
of Loern of the Ancient Celtic Kingdom of Dal Riad and this was also the family that Bean Macdhomhil Mor came from. "Bean"
means lively one and "mor" means great.
When the Mackintosh granted him land, he rightly took his place as a clan chief. This is how Clan
MacBean is considered part of Clan Chattan's Federation of Clans. We carry the blood of both Clans and as the MackIntosh was
also the Chief of Clan Chattan, our families have always been close.
Eva came from Lochaber and after their marriage,they lived for some time
at Tocastle in Glenloy, but due to the enmity of Angus Og of Islay, they withdrew to Rothiemurchus.
Our Lands were located on the south side
of Loch Ness. There are several notible family groups, such as the MacBeans of Faillie, the MacBeans of Tomatin, the MacBeans
of Pittanie, and the MacBeans of Kinchyle. It is the MacBeans of Kinchyle that the Chieftainship is passed through to our
present Chief, James McBain of McBain - 22nd Chief of Clan MacBean.
In the late 1700's , after the loss at the Battle of Culloden, Donald MacBean
- 15th Chief of Clan MacBean - was in the British Army and fighting in North America. Through taxation, the lands of Kinchyle
were lost. William McBain - 16th Chief of Clan MacBean , immigrated to Canada in the early 1800's, bringing the Chieftain
lineage to North America. Many clan members came to North America during the late 1700's and early 1800's. Some through the
military, some through exploration, and some through transportation as prisoners.
In the mid-1900's Hughston McBain was interested
in his heritage and started doing research. It was discovered that the Chieftainship had been vacant for almost 200 years.
After several years of follow-up research and applications to the Lord Lyon, he became the 21st Chief of Clan MacBean. He
wrote a book, An American Chief, that tells how it all came about. He was able to buy a small piece of the old lands of Kinchyle and has established
a park that all clan members may visit. Although the original home of Kinchyle has been lost to the clan, it still exists and is
in very good shape. It is not a castle by any means, but a good sized home and can be seen by driving down the road past the
turn off to the park.
Hughston's son, James McBain of McBain , is now the 22nd Chief of Clan MacBean. He is married to Peggy, Lady of McBain and his son, Richard The Younger,
is the Tanist (Next in Line).
Translation: A dragon
was believed to possess a keen sense of sight and represents the most Valiant Defender of Treasure.
Conjuncta virtuti fortuna.
Translation: Fortune joined to bravery
This clan’s ancestor
is MacBeth (1005-1057), Mormaer (High Steward) of Moray, whose mother Doada (or Donalda) was the
daughter of Scotland’s King Malcolm II and Blanaid (who was the daughter of the Irish High
King (Ard Ri) Brian Boru and his first wife Deidgre). He married Gruoch,
daughter of Boedhe who was the son of Kenneth III. So MacBeth was the grandson of King Malcolm II
and his wife was the granddaughter of King Kenneth III.
the ancient law of the Scots he had as much claim to the throne of Scotland
as King Duncan I. He was commander for Duncan I, whom he defeated and slew, thereby becoming
king. Macbeth was proclaimed king, and Scotland prospered during his reign.
He was later defeated by Malcom, the son of Duncan.
is a generally held opinion by Scotch historians that if MacBeth had not been killed
by the future King Malcolm III, Scotland would probably have remained a separate
nation until this day and might have conquered England. MacBeth was originally
from Moray and records show that he used his power for the good of his country.
MACBETH / MACBEATH: Perhaps
the best remembered is Shakespeare's arch-hero, and whose peaceful reign was far from the tale related
by the 'bard' - although he did in fact die in battle, at Lumphanan - not when Birnam Wood moved
to Dunsinane as is often believed. The name MacBeatha was also that of a family of physicians
who served the Lords of the Isles, and such are thought to have originally come
from Ireland in the train of a Macdonald bride. On the fall of the Lordship in 1493 they
migrated to various locations along the western seaboard, but mainly to
Pennycross on Mull, where they exercised their `physic' (medicine) under the Macleans.
Others duly removed to
the shires of Inverness, Sutherland & Easter Ross and the name was also found in Moray where
they had association with the Macbeans.
Angus, 'MacBeths' received a charter from David II in 1369, but this family were of
the ancestral line of the Fife Bethunes, who anciently held lands in the area. The
later history of the MacBeths, the Highland Beatons and Bethunes has become hopelessly confused
for, in the various lands with which they are associated, both forms were used, often referring
to the same family, sometimes even to the same person.
story became even more complicated when many MacBeths anglicised their name to
Beaton and became further confused with a lineage of Bethunes, who also had tradition of
`physic' and practised in Skye. These latter were also of Fife ancestry, one of whom had been enticed
north to pursue his healing arts.
former MacBeths now bear such names as `MacVeigh' (from Gaelic `Bh' = `V') - a
common form on Mull, or `Leich', (from the popular name for their occupation). No chief
has been recognized and tradition records that they held various affiliations with the Macdonalds,
Macleans or Macbeans. Specific clan association should not be assumed without genealogical
or geographical evidence, and in the absence of such the MacBeth tartan, now
over 100 years old and based on the Royal Stewart pattern with a blue background edged with yellow,
may quite appropriately be used by all of the name.
The Beatons: (a derivative
of the MacBeth Clan)
Beatons settled in Islay in the time of Angus of Islay, grandfather of
John 1st Lord of the Isles, and became physicians and senachies to the Chief of MacDonald. Thiers
was much advanced over what passed for medical science in much of Europe at the
time. By the 15th century they possesed the teachings of Avicenna, the Persian physician,
in Gaelic, well before they were translated into English.
Beatons spread thier learning to Skye, Mull and the Outer Hebrides. A
branch of the family moved to Pennyghael and became hereditary doctors for the Isle of Mull. They
were also physicians and seneachies to the MacLeans
family was renowned for their library, which contained many ancient volummes of
poetry, history and legend, as well as many Greek and Persian medical text. The manuscripts
ranged from the works of Hippocrates to ancient Irish legend to medieval French works. Among the
volummes was the earliest account of the fall of Troy translated into
any European language other than Latin. The library was last in the possession of the Episcopal
minister Rev. John Beaton who moved to Ulster rather than conform to Presbyterianism. He died in
Ulster in the 1690s or early 1700s and the library vanished with his death.
It should be noted that
the MacBeath family has no connection to King MacBeth whose name was actually Maol Bheatha. However
one renders his name it is his given name and not a surname.
Various branches of the
family have, at one time or another, been adherents of the MacLeans, MacLeods, and the MacDonalds.
Motto: ‘non sumus praeda’
– ‘We are not prey’
Chief: Currently Non Armigerous
Names associated with Clan Routledge:
Rothlek, Roulluche, Routledge, Rutledge, Mulderrig,
Clan Routledge is of Liddesdale and Roxburgh on the Scottish border. Its earliest recorded mention
is in the 14th Century before blossoming in Hawick and surrounding area
in the early 15th Century. Living under the Douglas’ on their lands it was not
long before they clashed with one of their rivals. In 1494 they sacked and burned the Scotts
Castle at Buccleuch before Branxholme was destroyed by more Routledges in 1510.
The Routledges of Liddesdale were Border Reivers
and lived in the debatable lands. They lived, fought and raided alongside the Armstrong family
often drawing attention with bold raids into Northumberland and Cumberland. In
1528 the English sent a force of 500 to try and ‘dislodge’ the Routledges from
their home, but they simple withdrew to the head of the Tarras and the English force failed.
the previous century however, Routledges of Liddesdale had been rewarded by the would be Richard
III and were granted the lands of Bewcastle and the castle in 1478. Their wealth was not to last
as when Richard was killed in 1485 they were stripped of their lands and it was given to the Musgrave
family. This meant that come the battle of Flodden in 1513 Routledges faced
each other on the battle field, no more than a generation or two apart. They fought under
Dacre of England and Douglas of Scotland.
The Border battles played a significant part of the Routledges Scottish
History and in 1543 at the battle of Solway Moss the Routledges once again would have
faced each other when an English Routledge captured the Earl of Cassillis.
The Chief of the Routledges in Liddesdale
is named in 1543 as Alane Routledge when he pledges his son Jock, but alas neither would ever be
recorded again, nor any further mention of a Chief. The Rough Wooings which broke out in
1544 and lasted for nine years destroyed the Routledge lands in Scotland and
they fled, some to Northumberland and other to Cumberland where they had once raided. Others fled
to Ireland. The Rutledges, as they became, of Ireland prospered and gained land and castles quickly,
suggesting the Chief fled there too. Those in Northumberland settled in Kilham, but those in Cumberland
initial became involved in inter family murders and strife. By 1583 a letter saw it fit
to describe the Routledges in Bewcastle as every man’s prey for they had no
allies in Scotland; this was not true.
Hardly any record of the Routledges in Scotland survive after 1550 but
despite this in 1569 they are named as outlaws and among the most notorious of Liddesdale
so it seems members did survive, albeit not on the records
Those Routledges still on the border suffered when the Reiver period
ended in 1603 and they shared a fate of forced enlistment overseas, execution or plantation
in Ulster. From Ireland the Routledges spread into the new worlds first arriving in America in 1635
and then Australia in the late 18th Century.
Today the name hardly exists in Scotland but
still thrives in Northumberland, Cumberland, Ireland and America. Without a Chief, Clan
Routledge are unable to bare a Clan Crest or Badge but they do have the Rutledge
tartan and the Motto ‘non sumus praeda’ – ‘We are not prey’.
Motto: Fortis Ceu Leo Fidus (Brave As A Faithful Lion)
Gaelic: Mac a’
Chief: Armigerous*The name MacBrayne comes from the Gaelic Mac
a' Bhriuthainn, which means 'son of the judge'.
Recorded MacBraynes include a Eugenius MacBrehin who was a student at St. Andrews in 1525. There is also an Anna MacBreynr in Gortenagor in 1672.
Mcbrain and Duncan Mcbrain were both noted rebels in Argyllshire in 1685.
An employee called
MacBraine in Mackintosh's 'secret work' in the making of cudbear, sold the secret of manufacture
to an English company around the end of the 18th century.
In 1878, a David MacBrayne became
the owner of a number of vessels which provided ferry services to parts of the Western Isles. The
company quickly expanded and became the main suppliers of both passenger and freight ferry services from the Scottish
mainland to most of the islands. The company remained in the MacBrayne family until it went bankrupt
in 1928, and ownership was spilt between a private company and a state owned company. By 1970 the
whole company was state owned, and then at the beginning of 1973 it merged with Caledonian Steam
Packet Company, and formed under the new name of Caledonian MacBrayne. Today it remains a major
ferry company providing services to over 20 of the major islands in the Western Isles from the mainland.
Motto: Vivat Rex (Latin : May the King live)
with the clan: Kerkyll, MacCorqudill, Maccorquidall,
MacCorquhedell, MacCorquodill, MacCorkle, MacCorquell, MacCorkindale, MacCorquidill, MacCorquidle,
MacCorkill, MacCorkil, MacCorker, MacCorkell, MacCordadill, MacCorcadill, MacCorquodale, MacCorquydill,
MacKurkull, MacKorkitill, MacKorkyll,
Macorkill, Macorquodale, Macorquidill, Macorquidill, MacThorcadail, MacQuorquodale, MacQuorquordill,
MacQuorcadaill, MacTorquil, MacTorquedil, MacThurkill, MacThorcuill, MacQuorquhordell, Makcocadill,
Makcorquydill, Makcorquidill, Makcorcadell, Mikcorcadill, Thorcull Torquil, Corquodale,
Origins of the name: The name originates from Old Norse Thorketill (Thor's kettle), in Gaelic
MacCorcadail, and the clan held lands in Argyll in the fourteenth century. From
Ewen Mackcorquydill of Phantelan, of whom there is a record in 1434, descended
Duncan MacCorquodale of Phantillans, and from him Sir Malcolm MacCorquodale (1901-71),
1st and last Lord MacCorquodale of Newton, created in 1955.
The name is often given
as a sept of the MacLeod on no more evidence than that it is derived from 'son of Thorketill, or
Torquil', the latter name being that of the progenitor of the MacLeods of Lewis. Such name is of
Scandinavian origin meaning "Cauldron of the Thunder Spirit" and undoubtedly would have spread
wherever the maurauding Norsemen stamped their influence. The traditional
account of the MacCorquodales makes them of more ancient origin than the MacLeods, for the lands
of Fionnt Eilean comprised, at one time, the northern shore of Loch Awe from Avich to Ard-an-aiseig,
and such are said to have been granted to another Torquil, progenitor of the
MacCorquodales, by King Kenneth MacAlpin. There is no evidence that this Torquil was of Clan
Leod and the name MacCorquodale appears seldon, if ever, in the histories of that clan. It is evident
by their Argyllshire habitat and title that the MacCorquodales ARE A DISTINCT CLAN, whose chiefs
were the Barons MacCorquodale of Phantelane (The 'White Island' -
Eilean-a-Bharain on Loch Tromlee). From their island castle they held Baronial
power over the thousands of mountainuous acres which have been their domain since at least
the 13th century. In 1428 Euan MacCorquodale and the chief of the Campbells
were summoned to Court, with their charters in order that adjudication might be made in a
land dispute with Scrymgeour, Constable of Dundee, who held the neighbouring lands of Glassary.
Such was resolved when Euan's son, Malcolm, married the Constable's daughter in 1436. The Dean of
Lismore's book of Gaelic poetry (collected 1514-1551) contains verses by Effric nighean Thorcaidill,
poetess of the clan, and in 1542 the MacCorquodale lands were re-incorporated
by royal charter as a free barony. In 1612, younger sons of the chief were charged by the
Privy Council for consorting with proscribed MacGregors and the clan history and succession in the
rest of that century is confused by two step brothers each contested the other's claim. The
MacCorquodales supported the Campbells in the Civil Wars and 'Colkitto' MacDonald
sacked their island home in 1645. Since the death of the last Baron in
the 18th century the chiefship has been uncertain.
Motto: Vi Et Animo - By
Strength and Courage
Variations: Culloch, Gulloch, McCulloch, McCullough, MacCoulaghe, MacChullach, MacAlach, MacCullaigh, MacCullough, MacClullich, MacLullich, MacLullick, Makcullocht
The family name McCulloch is one of the oldest in Galloway. It is of ancient Celtic origin and as such, the family
can boast of a number of fanciful legends concerning its origin.
to one, the family is descended from Ulgric, the grandson of Owen Gallvus, king of the Cludienses, or Strathclyde Britons.
Ulgric was killed leading the gallant but wild and undisciplined Gallovidians (natives of Galloway) in the van of King David's
army at the Battle of the Standards in 1138. Ulgric and Douvenald were vice-sovereigns of Galloway, the McCullochs, Mackuloghs,
or Culaghs holding sway over the lands of Ulgric, and the McDowalls over the lands of Douvenald.
According to another account, the name McCulloch derives from a warrior of earlier lineage. Gwallawc or The Hawk
of Battle, a Gallovidian chieftain of the sixth century, whose battles were celebrated by the ancient bards and is reputed,
in local legend, to have be buried beneath the Standing Stones of Torhouse. His descendants thus took the name Mac-Gwallawc.
Another legend claims that the McCullochs took their name from a warrior who in the Crusades carried the device of
a wild boar (which in Gaelic is cullach) on his shield and distinguished himself in the Holy Land with his gallantry and daring.
On his return, William the Lion, in reward for Cullach's martial prowess, granted him the lands of Myrton, Glassertoun, Killasser
and Auchtnaucht. The grateful soldier adopted as his patronymic, the word cullach, his nom-de-guerre. His son Godfrey, named
after Godfrey de Bouillon, the First King of Jerusalem and Knight Templar, was naturally styled Mac-Cullach. Although this
story is the most plausible, it is probable that the king was merely confirming those lands in the name of the McCullochs
as they are mentioned as being a prominent family in the area some 400 years before.
In the book, "The Surnames of Scotland" by George Black, of the "MacCulloch name he states: Much obscurity enshrouds
the origin of this old Galwegian name, and no satisfactory pedigree of the family exists. They are said to be described in
one of their charters as having their origin "ultra memoriam hominum." The name may be MacCullaich or MacC(h)ullach, "son
of the boar". The name first appears in the Scottish records in 1296, when Thomas Maculagh del conte de Wiggetone (now Wigtown)
rendered homage to Edward I. His family later held castles at Gatehouse of Fleet in Kirkcudbrightshir, and Creetown and Port
William in Wigtownshire. Thomas Maculagh's seal bears a squirrel and S'Thome Macculi. He appears again in the same year as
a juror on inquest at Berwick along with his brother Michal and is probably the Thomas Makhulagh, sheriff of Wigtown, 1305.
Michel Maculagh and William Maculaghe also rendered homage. Sir Patrick McCoulagh and Gilbert McCoulaghe were charter witnesses
in Galloway, 1354. Sir Patrick Macologhe had an annuity of 100 marks "in recompense of his sufferings, and loss of his lands
in Scotland for his allegiance" to the king of England 1360 and in 1363 as Sir Patrick M'Owlache had restoration of his lands.
(Black goes on to describe some other MacCulloughs/MacCullochs. Here are some of the spellings of the name he brings
up) Patrick Makcowloch (1480), Patrick Mackullouch (1482), Symon McKowloch (1500), David M'Ulloch (1643), MacLulich, Makawllauch
(1414), McCoulach (1410), M'Coulaghe (1352), M'Cowlach (1476), Makcowllach (1482), M'Cullauch (1439), Maccullo (1546), M'Cullogh
(1685), M'Kowloche (1495), McColloch, McCullie, McCullo, McCulloh, McCully, McKeulloch, McKulloch, M'Alach, Mackculloch, Makculloch,
M'Hulagh, M'Kulagh, and Malrcowlach (1444).
The Argyllshire MacCullochs appear to
have been identified with the MacDougall clan. R.C. MacLagan in <>says: The lands surrounding Balamhaodan forming the
district of Benderloch are alleged to have belonged to Modan, who was the head, so runs the tradition, of the Clan MacLullich,
as recorded in the local phrase, Clann Lulich o thulaich Mhaodain, the MacLullichs from the hill of Maodan.
Lullach was the stepson of the infamous Macbeth and ruled briefly as King of the Scots until killed by Malcolm III.
He was the natural son of the Mormaer of Angus and was married to the daughter of the Mormaer of Moray. He had a son and daughter
by this marriage and his son would have been styled "Mac-Lullach".
note on the origin of the McCulloch name which indicates it could also have been linked with that of Clan Donald is contained
in a manuscript history of the MacDonalds written during the reign of Charles II (Gregory Collection). It states that Reginald
MacDonald, son of Somerled, is said to have married MacRandel's daughter, or as some say to a sister of Thomas Randel, Earl
of Murray...[Reginald] had by her Angus, of whom are descended ...the MacLullichs, who are now called in the low country Pitullichs.
In actual fact, the said Reginald MacDonald married a daughter of Angus, Earl of Moray.
The McCullochs are considered to be a Clan Sept (or Sett). A Sept is a family name that is related to a Clan or larger
family. A Sept may result from descendents of the Clan Chief through the female line who consequently bore a different surname
usually through marriage. It may also have resulted by a small family seeking protection from a larger and more powerful neighbour.
Over time, many Septs have become clans in their own right. In the political turmoil that Scotland has seen over
the centuries, many Septs also came to be related to more than one clan.
McCulloughs were also allied with a number of larger clans, primarily the MacDougalls, the Rosses, and the Munros. To a lesser
degree there were also some who allied with MacDonald of Sleat and with Gunn (MacCullie).
McCullochs are also associated with the Galloway District in Scotland. Galloway is also the location of the MacDowell
branch of Clan MacDougall. In addition, there are many McCullochs that are from Ireland, primarily from the County Antrim
and County Down areas of Ulster.
Mac means "son
of" while the term "clan" comes from the Gaelic word for children. Thus, Clan MacDougall
signifies the children of the son(s) of Dougall.
Dougal or Dugall
or Dougall derived from the Gaelic word Dubh meaning Black or Dark, the Gaelic word Gall meaning
Stranger or Foreigner. Hence Dougal would translate as "Black Foreigner" or "Black Stranger" which
was the early Gaelic nickname for a Dane, later extended to Norsemen.
By the mid 12th century the name implied that the bearer likely had Norse connections in his
ancestry. Dougall's mother and great grandmother were both of Norse descent.
Dougall's heritage from the Gael and the Norse is shown in the present arms of the MacDougall
Chiefs which quarter the lion of the ancient Scottish Kingdom of Dalriada
and the black royal galley of the Norse.
The MacDougalls of Lorn are the senior branch of the
royal house of Somerled, King of the Hebrides and Regulus of Argyll. As
a Highland clan, the MacDougalls are one of the three oldest in existence dating from 1164. In
that year Dougall, Somerled's oldest living son and the clan's patronymic forebear, inherited the
central portion of his father's kingdom upon the death of his father and step
brother in the Battle of Renfrew with the forces of the King of Scots. This inheritance
included the mainland kingdom of Lorn from Morvern to Knapdale along with
the islands of Jura, Coll, Mull, Tiree, Kerrera, Lismore, and the surrounding smaller isles.
Dougall's son Duncan and grandson, Ewan, defended their vast territories
through the construction of various castles including Dunstaffnage, Dunollie and Duntrune on
the mainland and their islands, Aros, Cairnburgh, Dunchonnel and Coeffin. From their principal seats
of Dunstaffnage and Dunollie Castles, the MacDougall Lords of Lorn and
Chiefs of the clan exerted a major influence in what is now Argyll and in the islands to the west
and were a strong sea power. This era of widespread power ended during the first years of the 14th
century when the MacDougalls chose the losing side in the struggle for the Scottish
Sir John the "Red" Comyn of Badenoch was the nephew-in-law of the
Alexander the Fourth MacDougall Chief and a contender for the crown of Scotland.
In the complex political forces at play during the time, the murder of the Red
Comyn, by Robert the Bruce during a meeting in the Greyfriars Kirk at Dumfries in February
1306 started blood feuds and civil war.
In the warring
which followed, the forces of the MacDougall Chief under the direction of Sir John of Lorn (Iain
Bachach) nearly captured Bruce at Dalrigh in Strathfillan in June 1306. He was forced to leave his
brooch in the hand of his dead attacker in order to escape. Thus the famous Brooch of Lorn along
with his cloak came into in the hands of the MacDougalls. Less than two years later,
Bruce, having consolidated his power, brought it to bear on the MacDougalls, whom
he defeated in the Pass of Brander in the late summer of 1308. This resulted
in the permanent loss of all the clan's island possessions except for part of the island
The Lordship of Lorn was temporarily lost until it was restored
to Ewan the seventh Chief of the clan some time after 1330. At the time of Ewan's death the
Lordship of Lorn was a great Lordship extending from Ballachulish and Loch Leven in the north
at least down to Kilmartin in the south. However the naval power of our seagoing
clan had been drastically reduced by the loss of our island possessions, and their galleys and fighting
Ewan was the last MacDougall Chief to use Dunstaffnage castle
as his main seat. After it and the Lordship of Lorn passed to the Stewarts through Ewan's
daughters' inheritance, Dunstaffnage remained as the main seat of the Stewart
Lordship of Lorn.
Around 1386 both of Ewan's children, daughters Janet and Isabella, married
brothers who were Stewarts of Innermeath from Perthshire. Janet and Isabella
inherited Lorn equally as females under the laws of primogeniture. Then Janet and her husband
Sir Robert Stewart traded their half of Lorn to her younger sister Isabella and her husband Sir
John Stewart in exchange for Sir John Stewart's inherited estate of Durrisdeer in Perthshire. Through
Isabella the Lordship of Lorn then passed to her Stewart husband. These Stewarts of
Innermeath became the Lords of Lorn and retained the Lordship until around 1468 when
the Lordship of Lorn transferred to the Chief of the Campbells. Ewan died around 1375. Upon Ewan's
death the Chiefship of Clan MacDougall permanently separated from the Lordship
of Lorn. Iain of Dunollie became the next and Eighth Chief with his clan duthus at Dunollie
Despite the loss of the Lordship of Lorn, the Clan continued to play an
important role in Argyll. Clan MacDougall was a consistent supporter of the Royal
House of Stewart.
The Clan suffered a large loss at Dunaverty castle in Kyntyre in 1647. It
is estimated that one hundred men or one third of the clan's fighting strength was
killed in the massacre of MacDougalls and MacDonalds and their followers, after their
surrender to the Covenenter forces. There was only one survivor amongst those who had been defending
at Dunaverty castle.
The Clan fought for the Royal House of Stewart under Viscount Dundee
"Bonnie Dundee" at Killiecrankie in 1688, and again under its fighting
22nd Chief Iain Ciar at Sherrifmuir in the Jacobite Rising of 1715, and at Glenshiel in the Jacobite
Rising of 1719.
Our 23rd Chief Alexander of Dunollie did not join the Jacobite Rising of 1745
in support of Charles Edward Stuart "Bonnie Prince Charlie" but his brother
Duncan fought at Prestonpans and Culloden. Twenty MacDougalls were listed as prisoners of the Government
forces after the '45 including three from the lowlands. After the 45' was over Alexander moved from
Dunollie castle and built the manor house below the castle by adding to the original "laigh
bigging" which stood there. The building is now known as Dunollie House. There
he raised a large family and it became the home of our Chiefs ever since.
Through the following
years the proud history of the clan has been reflected in the distinguished service of the MacDougall
Chiefs to their country and in the pride they have taken in their stewardship of the old clan lands.
Equal distinction has been shown by the clanspeople, many of whom left their homes to
be pioneers in far off places and to bring their spirit, faith, and abilities to
the building of new nations. But the link with Lorn and the tie to Clan and Chief have not severed.
The heritage prospers and the old belonging takes on new dimensions in the Clan MacDougall Society
of North America and our sister society in UK/Europe, and in Australia.
Our present Chief is Morag MacDougall of MacDougall, thirty-first Chief of the
Clan, whose official residence is Dunollie House, close by the castle on its high
For more information about individual clan Chiefs in Argyll or events during
their time see The Chiefs of Clan MacDougall in Argyll).
During the centuries that Clan MacDougall was a powerful
influence along the West Highland Coast, a number of
families became associated with this clan. Those of these surnames whose ancestors shared
in this connection are welcomed members of our Society.
Origin of Name: Dubh (Gaelic) (Black).
juvat (Latin) (God assists).
Lands: Fife, Lothian, Strathbran and Strathbogie
Clan MacDuff is a Scottish armigerous*
clan, which is registered with Lyon Court, though currently without a chief. Moncreiffe wrote that the Clan MacDuff was the premier clan among the Scottish Gaels. The early
chiefs of Clan MacDuff were the Earls of
Fife. Today the Earls of
Wemyss are thought to be the direct descendants in the male line of Gille Míchéil,
Earl of Fife, thought to be one of the first Clan MacDuff chiefs
Clan MacDuff were hereditary Abbots of the Celtic abbey of Abernethy.
The clan originates from the original Scotto-Pictish
lines who created the Kings of Scotland and the Earldom or Mormaerdom
of Fife. The direct male line of the Mormaer failed in 1353 after Edward I took Donnchadh
IV prisoner in England. His aunt, Isabella, later gave the title to Robert Stewart,
1st Duke of Albany and Regent of Scotland. In 1425 the earldom was absorbed into the crown, not withstanding the clan retained it status
as first among clans.
The title of The Fife returned with William Duff,
1st Earl Fife and Viscount
Madcap in 1759. Later Alexander
William George Duff, 6th Earl of Fife and 1st Duke of Fife, married the Princess Royal, HRH Louise (daughter of King Edward VII).
The direct line of the ancient house is in dispute and supposedly continued
in Wemyss, and moreover, in the northern territories, families of Clan Duff emerged with no
proof of royal descent. For this reason of non-proof of headship, MacDuff is still Armigerous.
Law of Clan MacDuff
Earl of Fife and the Abbot of
Abernethy were both "Capitals of Law of the Clan MacDuff". The law protected all murderers
within ninth degree of kin to the Earl of Fife, as they could claim sanctuary at the Cross of
MacDuff near Abernethy, and could find remission by paying compensation to the victims family.
chiefs of the clan had the right to enthrone the King on the Stone of
Destiny. When the Stone of Destiny was taken to England by Edward I
of England, Robert I
of Scotland had himself crowned King of Scots a second time, in order to be crowned by a member
of clan MacDuff, the Earl of Fife's sister.
Badge: European Cranberry
Slogan: Loch Sloy (Loch Sloidh-The Loch of the Host)
Motto: This I'll Defend
Crest: A demi-savage brandishing
in his dexter a broad sword Proper and pointing with his sinister to an
Imperial Crown or standing by him on the wreath.
Arms of the Chief: Argent, a saltire engrailed between four roses
Supporters: (on a wavy compartment) Two Highlanders armed with
bows and arrows, all proper.
homeland is located in the Highlands at the heads of Loch Long and Loch Lomond. For over five centuries this area,
the feudal barony of Arrochar, was held by the chiefs of Clan MacFarlane and
before them by their ancestors the barons of Arrochar. The family is Celtic in the
male line and native to their beautiful Highland homeland of tall peaks and deep lochs
just above the waist of Scotland.
A Saxon male line ancestry was first proposed for this family in Crawfurd’s Peerage
nearly three hundred years ago, but that is incorrect. The best source is the
Complete Peerage which follows the Scots Peerage which, in turn, follows Skene’s Celtic
Scotland in giving the true Celtic descent of this family. All of these sources base their statements
on the old Celtic genealogy of Duncan, eighth Earl of Lennox, who was executed in 1425, and the
coming of age poem composed for Alwyn, last Mormaer and first Earl of Lennox in the twelfth century.
This Alwyn was the son of Murdac (son of Maldouen son of Murdac) and his wife
who was a daughter of Alwyn MacArkil (son of Arkil son of Ecgfrith in Northumbria). When
the first earl died his children were still minors so the king warded the earldom to his own brother
David, Earl of Huntingdon. By 1199 Alwyn, the second Earl of Lennox, had finally succeeded his
father. The second earl may have had as many as ten sons. Among the youngest
(maybe seventh) was Gilchrist who obtained a charter to the barony of Arrochar from his eldest
brother Maldouen, third Earl of Lennox. Along with Clan Donnachaidh, the MacFarlanes are said to
have been the earliest of the clans to hold their lands by feudal charter.
In short, the
MacFarlanes are descended from Alwyn, Celtic Earl of Lennox, whose younger son, Gilchrist, received
lands at Arrochar on the shores of Loch Long at the end of the 12th century. Gilchrist's son, Malduin,
befriended and aided Robert the Bruce during his fight for independence from the English. The
MacFarlanes are reported to have fought at Bannockburn in 1314. The clan takes its name
from Malduin's son Parlan..
The name, Parlan, has been linked to Partholon, "Spirit of the Sea Waves", in
Irish myths and legend. More usually, it is considered the Gaelic equvalent of
Bartholomew. Gaelic grammar requires changes within a word to indicate possession. A "P" is softened
to a "Ph", and an "i" is added to the last syllable. In this way, "son of
Parlan" becomes Mac (son) Pharlain (of Parlan).
The lands of Arrochar were first given
by charter to Gilchrist circa 1225. Iain MacPharlain received a royal confirmation to Arrochar in
1420. Duncan, the last Celtic Earl of Lennox was executed by James I.
the MacFarlanes had a valid claim to the earldom, the title was given by the
Crown to John Stewart, Lord Darnley. The MacFarlanes sought to oppose the Stewarts, but they
proved too powerful and Andrew MacFarlane the 10th Chief, married a younger daughter of Lord Darnley,
forging a new alliance. Thereafter the MacFarlanes followed the new earls of Lennox
in most of the major conflicts of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries.
The 11th Chief
and many of his clansmen fell at Flodden in 1513. The MacFarlanes later opposed the English at the
Battle of Pinkie in 1547 where Duncan the 13th Chief and his uncle were
killed along with many others. After the murder of Henry Darnley, Mary Queen of Scots' second husband,
the MacFarlanes opposed the Queen and were noted for their gallantry at the Battle of Langside
Andrew, 14th Chief, is said to have captured no less than 3 of Mary's standards. The
valour of Andrew and his men was rewarded by the Regent, James, Earl of Moray,
with the Clan's original crest and motto. The crest and motto alludes to the defense of the
Crown and Kingdom. Since Mary had abdicated previously in favour of her infant son, she was in rebellion
against the Crown, Moray, and James VI during these times.
For much of their
history, the MacFarlanes were a very turbulent lot. Their rallying cry, "Loch Sloy", signalled many
a night raid to "collect" cattle from their richer neighbors to the south and east. Their
march-piobaireachd " Thogail nam Bo theid sinn" (To Lift the Cows We Shall Go) gives ample notice of intent. They were so competent that
the full moon was known as "MacFarlane's Lantern".
In 1592, the
clan was accused of slaying the Colquhoun of Luss and were outlawed. Later chiefs were quieter.They
established homes on the islands of Inveruglas and Eilean a' Bhuth (now called Island IVow). This
last was burned out twice during the Cromwellian invasions in the 17th century.
Walter, the 20th
Chief, (mid-18th Cent.) was a renowned scholar and antiquarian. At the site of his home now stands
the Landmark Cobbler Hotel which contains an inscribed stone taken from the original house over
the main doorway. The clan lands at Arrochar were sold off for debt after Walter's death in 1767,
and the direct male line of the chiefs failed in 1886.
At present, the Clan Chiefship is dormant.
Clan Macfie Motto: "Pro
Rege" ("For The King")
Our Badge (Plant): Scots Pine (Giuthas), Darag (Oak) or Dearca Fithich
Clan Macfie is one of
the oldest Scottish Clans with a history going back before records were kept. The ancient name for
our Clan is Macdubhsith. While literally meaning “dark man of peace”, sithe is also
the term used for supernatural beings that populated the islands and the highlands and the term
dubh or dark also had mystical and supernatural connotations. The ancestral
homeland for the Macfies is the islands of Colonsay and Oronsay in the Western Isles of Scotland.
In 1623, Malcolm, the last Chief of the Clan Macfie, was captured by the
infamous Colla Ciotach MacDonald. He was tied to a Standing Stone, known as Carraig Mhic a’
Phi at Balaruminmore, on our ancestral island of Colonsay, and summarily shot. The Clan Macfie was
dispossessed of its lands and dispersed as a “broken” Clan.
That is, until 27th May 1981, when the Clan was reactivated and again formally recognised
as an “active” Clan by the Lord Lyon. Macfies all over the world celebrate that date
as Clan Macfie Day - new ‘birthday’ for the Clan Macfie. As no hereditary Chief has
been traced, a Ceann-Cath, or Clan Commander, was appointed to head the Clan. The current Clan Commander
is Alexander (Sandy) C. McPhie who resides in Townsville, Queensland, Australia.
Clan Commander recognises the historical links Clan Macfie had with the Macdonald Lords of
the Isles, Clan Cameron in Lochaber and a branch of the MacNicol family in Glenorchy. More recently,
the close links established with Clan Macfie by the Thorburn family in Sweden and the Brew family
in New Zealand are also acknowledged by the Clan Commander.
Motto: Peritia Et Honore. (Skill
Anciently: In Gaelic the name was Mag Eachaidh (son of Eachaidh).
on the Name: MacGeachie, MacGeachy, MacKeachie.
From Ir. Mag Eachaidh, an Ulster variant of Mag Eochadha. M'Gachie in Bordland, 1684. Neil M'Gechie in Portadow,
Kilchenzie parish, 1686 (Argyll). Robert M'Keachie in Darnow 1711 (Wigtown). MacKeachie, MacEachaidh. Robert M'Keachie in Darnow, 1711 (Wigtown). In 1684
the name appears as McCeachie, McCheachie, McKeachie, McKeachy (and without Mac as Keachy,
Cachie, Ceachie, Kaachie, Kachie, Kechie).
Irish name Eachaid or Eachadha is also derived from a Gaelic word for horse, and is often used interchangeably in the annals for Eochaid or Eochadha. As Eochaid
became anglicized as Oghy, Eachaid became anglicised as Aghy and in Edward
MacLysaght's write up of MacGahey, he says: “Mac Eachaidh. The personal name Eachaidh, anglicized as
Aghey, is a variant of the older Eochaidh—Oghy. McGahey is an Ulster
name akin to MacCaughey.”
Patrick Woulfe, McGahey (with its variant MacGaughy etc.) is Mag Eachaidh in Irish,
this being another form of Mag Eochadha McGahey is definitely an Ulster name.
Other surnames that, according to Woulfe, stem from Each are MacGagh (mag eacaro), MacGaugh
(mag eacada), MacGeagh (mag eacada).
McCaughan an Anglicized
form of the Old Gaelic MacEachain, son of Eachain. An Ulster surname,
recorded in the Counties of Antrim, Down, Londonderry and Tyrone. Some families of Mc Caughen changed their name to MacCaughey, itself an
Anglicized form of the Ulster name Mac Eachaidh, son of the Horseman or Horse Lord.
The Scots names MacGeachie and MacGeachy are also derived from Mag Eochaidh.
was a M'Gachie recorded in Bordland in 1684, and a Neil M'Gechie in 1686,
in Portadow, part of the Kilchenzie parish in Argyll. There is also a Robert M'Keachie recorded
in Darnow, Wigtown, in 1711.
McGachy, McGeachy. An anglicized version of the
Gaelic 'Mac Eochaidh'. A surname in both Ulster and Scotland. William McGaheye settled
in York, Virginia, in 1653, and Alexander McGeachy, from Argyll, emigrated to America
MacGeachie, McGachen a version of MacEachan, they
derive from the Gaelic MacEachann - "son of Hector". traditionally from Hector, second son of Roderick,
3rd of Macdonald of Clanranald .
Roland MacGahen (del counte de Wiggeton)
Wigtown signed the Ragman Rolls of 1296 & 1291 swearing allegiance to King Edward I of England.
of Dalquhat or Dalwhat - Alexander McQuuichin of Dalquhat was outlawed in 1528. Pont's Manuscript
of 1624 gives arms for McGachen of Dalquhat as Or a Dexter hand, Gules. Sir James Balfour, 1st Baronet - Lord Lyon King of Arms (1630–1658), McGahan of Dalqwhat Or, a Hand, Gules. Alexander McGeachie of Dalwhat is mentioned in 1694 kirk
session records for Glencairn Dumfriesshire. According to John Corrie, "the third rivulet on the
north side is Dalwhat Water where stands the dwelling place of a linage of the name
M'Gachen descendant of one M' Gachen, a private standard-bearer in the Bruce wars,
and doth yet continue the name
From the Gaelic: Mac Gille bhreith
-or- Mac Gille bhrath
(Son of the Servant of Judgement)
Motto: "Touch Not This Cat"
"Septs" or Name Variants
MacGilvary, MacGillivary, MacGilvry, MacGillvray, MacGillivrey, MacGillavry, MacGillvary,
MacGillveary, MacGilvery, MacGillavery, MacGillvrey, MacGillivry, MacGillivoor, MacGillviray, MacGilveray,
MacGilvreay, MacGilvry, MacIlbra, MacIllevorie, MacIlvory, MacIlvoray, MacIlvray, MacIlvrae
Vacant Chiefship. This actually occurred quite recently, within the 20th
century. The last Chief to own the chiefly seat of Dunmaglass was Capt.
John William MacGillivray, 13th Laird, who was obliged to sell
it in 1890. He himself ultimately died without direct heirs in 1914. Without lands attatched to
it, the Chiefship itself then passed nominally to a cousin of his, John Farquhar MacGillivray, KC, a tax official in Toronto, Canada.
He held the Chiefship, rather quietly, for 32 years before he too died without heirs
in 1942. From that point, no heirs of his, or any other related lines, have surfaced or been definitely
traced. And no other MacGillivray has succeeded in establishing a right to the Chiefship up to the
There have been claimants, though. The most
recent of these, Col. George B. Macgillivray, a
Canadian, formally petitioned the Lord Lyon King of Arms in Scotland, who is authorised to settle
such claims, a total of three times between 1953 and 1989. While apparently not confident enough
of Col. Macgillivray's proofs to grant the Chiefship outright, Lord Lyon instead
commissioned him as Commander of the Clan,
conveying the authority of Chiefship, but without hereditary rights, for the purpose of rallying
MacGillivrays as a Clan under temporary leadership. Col. Macgillivray's tenure as Commander was
short, only five years before he passed away in September 1994. But it was decisively important,
giving the Clan new momentum from renewed interest by clansfolk around the
world resulting from his leadership. Currently the clan would be considered as armigerous.*
History: Origins of the clan. The MacGillivrays were a principal clan even before King Somerled, progenitor of the MacDonalds drove the Norsemen from the western Isles. The Clann Mhic Gillebràth were dispersed after King Alexander II of Scotland subdued Argyll in the year 1222.
14th century & clan conflicts: The Clan MacGillivray
eventually joined the Chattan Confederation which was headed by the chief of the Clan Mackintosh. The clan have always distinguished themselves by their prowess and bravery. One of them, Ivor
MacGillivray was killed at Drumlui in a battle with the Clan Cameron in about the year 1330. Ivor was the son of chief Duncan MacGillivray. This Duncan married a natural
daughter of the sixth Clan Mackintosh chief.
century: A hundred years later, in about the middle of the fifteenth century, the
chief of the MacGillivrays appears to have been a certain Ian Ciar (Brown). At any rate,
when William, fifteenth chief of the Mackintoshes, was infefted in the estate of Moy and other lands held from the Bishop of
Moray, the names of a son and two grandsons of this Ian Ciar appear in the list of witnesses. Other Mackintosh
documents show the race to have been settled by that time on the lands of Dunmaglass (the fort of
the grey man’s son), belonging to the thanes of Cawdor.
16th century: Ian Ciar MacGillivray was
apparently succeeded by a son, Duncan, and he again by his son Ferquhar,
who, in 1549, gave letters of reversion of the lands of Dalmigavie to Robert Dunbar of Durris. Ferquhar’s
son, again, Alastair, in 1581 paid forty shillings to Thomas Calder, Sheriff-Depute of Nairn and
chief of Clan Calder for " two taxations of his £4 lands of Domnaglasche, granted by the nobility
to the King."
was in his time, in 1594, that the MacGillivrays fought in the royal army under the young Earl of Argyll at the disastrous Battle of Glenlivet.
Alastair’s son, Ferquhar, appears to have
been a minor in 1607 and 1609, for in the former of these years his kinsman Malcolm MacBean was
among the leading men of Clan Chattan called to answer to the Privy Council for the good
behaviour of Clan Chattan during the minority of Sir Lachlan Mackintosh its chief;
and in the latter year, when a great band of union was made at Termit, near Inverness, between the
various septs of Clan Chattan, responsibility for the " haill kin and race of the Clan M’Illivray"
was accepted by Malcolm MacBean, Ewen M Ewen, and Duncan MacFerquhar, the last-named being
designated as tenant in Dunmaglass, and being probably an uncle of young Ferquhar
MacGillivray. The Macgilivrays were one of the oldest and most important of the clans of the Chattan Confederation, and from 1626, when their head, Ferquhard MacAllister, acquired a right to the lands of Dunmaglass,
frequent mention of them is found in extant documents and registers.
18th century &
Jacobite Risings: As Episcopalians they were persecuted by Calvinist and Presbyterian
neighbours yet fought both in the 1715 and 1745 Jacobite uprisings including the Battle of Sheriffmuir in 1715 and the Battle of Falkirk (1746). Chief Alexander MacGillivray led the Chattan Confederation where he was killed at the Battle of Culloden in 1746. A wall at Culloden where he fell still bears his name. He is perhaps the best known of
the heads of this clan. He was fourth in descent from the Ferquhard who acquired
Dunmaglass in the 17th century . This gentleman was selected by Lady Mackintosh to head
her husband's clan on the side of Prince Charlie in the '45, even though the chief of Clan Mackintosh
was loyal to the government. Lady Mackintosh ensured the Mackintoshes and their allies supported
The MacGillivray chief was shot through the heart. His body,
after lying for some weeks in a pit where it had been thrown with others, was taken up by his friends
and buried across the threshold of the kirk of Petty. His brother William was also a warrior, and
gained the rank of captain in the old 89th regiment, raised in about 1758. After the Battle of Culloden
the clan emigrations began across the Atlantic. Some of the MacGillivrays emigrated to Nova Scotia
between 1792 and 1812 where they settled primarily in Antigonish County.
Members of the Canadian MacGillivrays can be found in settlements such as Maple Ridge, Bailey's
Brook and Arisaig, Antigonish County where they were able to maintain
a Gaelic speaking culture well into the twentieth century. According to recent Canadian census material,
the surname MacGillivray is the third most common surname in Antigonish
County and many more MacGillivrays can be found throughout Cape Breton.
Branches: MacInnes of Kinlochaline, MacInnes of Malagawatch, MacInnes of
Morven, MacInnes of Rickersby
Motto: Irid ghibht Dhe agus an Righ (Gaelic : Through the
grace of God and the King)
Septs of the Clan: Angus,
MacAngus, MacCainsh, MacCansh, MacMaster.
Origins of the name
From the Gaelic MacAonghais (Sons of Angus). Mac or Mc
(as they are interchangeable) means son or family of, aon means one or unique, and gusa
means choice. Therefore Unique Choice or Choice One. Mac does not imply strict bloodlines, but could
reflect kinship, dependent allies or tenants. This name first appears in the seventh century
Scottish Senchus fer n-Alban (The History of the Men of Scotland).
Arrival in Scotland
Clan MacInnes' ancestors were among the early inhabitants
of Islay, Jura and the Kintyre peninsula in Scotland, generally part of the region known as Argyll. These Scotti, a Celtic, Gaelic-speaking people, first appear there as settlers from Ireland
in c.500 when Fergus Mór, king of the north Irish kingdom of Dál Riata, and his two brothers, Loarn and Óengus, expanded their
lands into southwestern Alba.
already established a colony on Islay and/or Jura and was the master of ships for the new Kingdom.
Óengus (Angus) is considered to be the first of the MacInnes Clan and is thought to be buried on
Iona. Dalriada quickly grew in influence and strength, and eventually
overran the indigenous Pictish peoples and their culture. The area then became known as Scotland
after these Scotti immigrants
It is believed
that MacInneses lived on Iona with Columba. Oengus and his descendants would have exploited their
seagoing skills and ventured to Iona at an early time. Iona is the final resting-place of many with
our name and lore says that Columba selected the site whereupon the Kiel
Church now stands in Lochaline near Kinlochaline Castle, the castle built by the MacInneses.
During the 9th century the clan moved out of the
western isles and into Argyll (Morvern and Ardgour). This was most likely as a result of constant
Viking raids in the islands.
By the early
12th century MacInnes people were well established in all of Morvern (the peninsula bounded by Loch Sunnart and Loch Linnhe and adjacent to the Isle of Mull). The traditional seat of the Chiefs of Clan MacInnes was
established there in Kinlochaline Castle. As the Viking raids continued to terrorize their lands
the MacInneses became members of an alliance known as Siol Gillebride (Seed of the Servant of St.
Bride) along with MacGillivrays, MacMasters and MacEachearns somewhat in the manner of Clan Chattan, under the leadership of the Celtic-Norse warrior Somerled (killed in 1164, often referred to as Somerled MacGillebride,
and his father was believed to be a MacAonghais Chief). Somerled’s grandson was the first
of Clan Donald (McDougall and McDonald clans).
How the clan entered into this alliance is told as follows:
Chief of MacInnes sought Somerled to seek his aid.
A skilled warrior, Somerled agreed to help them if they would follow his directions completely.
He told them to kill and skin a herd of longhaired highland cattle, and to then march their normally
kilt-clad fighters in plain sight of the invading Vikings. Next they were to
dress in the cowhides with the long hair turned outwards and march again before their enemies;
then a third time they were to march in front of the Vikings, but this time wearing the hides turned
skin side out. The MacInnes men followed his advice. The Vikings were fooled into thinking the MacInneses
had three times their actual fighting strength. They turned and fled the “overwhelming
numbers” and many were slain. In thanks to Somerled, the MacInnes’ vowed to
become his vassals.
In mid 14th
century, the last chief of the Clan MacInnes was killed along with his sons by order of John of
Islay, Lord of the Isles(who was the great-great-grandson of Somerled). Chief MacInnes had advised
John to divorce his wife and marry the daughter of future king Robert II of Scotland. John's former wife got revenge by telling John that MacInnes
had complained that when he stayed at John's house, his quarters stank because they were used as
a dog's kennel. John was enraged. Clan MacLean carried out the murders in the Castle
of Ardtornish on the Sound of Mull and as a reward were deeded the lands and castle
of Ardgour. Clan MacInnes remains without a Chief, and many of the clan scattered to Appin, Craignish, Lochaber and Skye, but some of the clan continued to occupy the castle.
In the 16th Century, many of the MacInnes Clan
moved to Sleat on the Isle of Skye. Five longships are said to have made the journey, each
holding a family group. From these five families are descended the five lineages of the name of
MacInnes on the Isle of Skye. Some of these MacInnes men became the hereditary
bowmen to the Mackinnon of Strath. The bowmen were known as Sliochd Neill a’ bhogha (The Line
of Neil of the Bow). Others of the dispossessed Clan had joined with Clan Dugall Craignish and some went to Perthshire and joined with the MacGregors,
leading to an ill-informed present-day claim that MacInnes is a Sept of MacGregor. It should be
also noted that Clan Innes is unrelated to MacInnes having arisen in Moray east of Inverness at
a later date.
During the Jacobite uprisings most of the Clan MacInnes
supported the British government however one branch of the clan fought for the Jacobite cause:
In the 1745 Jacobite Rising, MacInnes Clansmen took up arms on both sides. Some stood
with the Campbells and the House of Argyll, but others (MacInneses of Morvern, Lochaber and Appin)
supported Prince Charles Edward Stuart and fought beside Stewart of Ardshiel, who commanded of
the Appin (Stewart) Regiment. A MacInness clansman, MacMaster of Glenaladale, raised Prince Charles
banner at Glenfinnan. Four MacInnes men were killed and two wounded in the battle.
Others may have been captured and subsequently hanged. Donald Livingstone, the 18-year-old son of Anna MacInnes of Morvern, saved
the Appin Banner from Culloden and smuggled it home. The banner is now housed in the Museum of Scotland. These kinsmen are buried in the cemetery
of Kiel Kirk in Lochaline. One John McGinnes helped row Charles to safety and when
captured and flogged, refused to disclose the details.
The Highland Clearances
The Highland Clearances, from about 1790 to 1840s, drove many MacInneses from their homes, notably on Skye
and Mull. These Clearances were designed to get the tenant farmers off the land to make
room for profitable sheep herding. Poverty, crop failures and high rents also
contributed to the tide of emigration that emptied the highlands during the 19th Century. Numerous
parish cemeteries on Mull, Skye, Iona, Islay and across Argyll hold the remains of clansmen.
Kinlochaline Castle was the seat of the chief of Clan MacInnes.
of the Clan: Angus, MacAngus, MacCainsh, MacCansh, MacMaster.
associated with the clan: Aengus Ainas Anegos Anegous Anegus Angas Anggues Angous Anguis Angus
Anguss Aonas Aonghas Aonghus Canch Keanish Kenish Kenneis Kennish Kinnes Kinnis MacAinish MacAinsh
MacAnce MacAngus MacAnish MacAnsh MacAonghus MacCainsh MacCance MacCanch MacCanish MacCaniss MacCans
Note: The name “Innes” is often
inaccurately linked to MacInnes. Innes has a later origin in Moray.]
Another version of Clan MacInnes history was sent to me by Clinton McInnes. I do not know the gentleman, but am
including his version of the clan history for those who might find it more suitable.
I have to correct
a few facts that live on with others then believing them, when they are not true. You may have got a lot of your material
from some other source, however, recent research makes a number of things you state about Clann MacInnes (mhic Aonghais), simply supposition or fiction. I have copied this to the Clan Mhic Aonghais Society in the US also...
it right for others..
Clan MacInnes' ancestors were among the early inhabitants
of Islay, Jura and the Kintyre peninsula in Scotland, generally part of the region known as Argyll. These Scotti, a Celtic,
Gaelic-speaking people, first appear there as settlers from Ireland in c.500 when Fergus Mór, king of the north Irish kingdom
of Dál Riata, and his two brothers, Loarn and Óengus, expanded their lands into southwestern Alba.
Óengus had already
established a colony on Islay and/or Jura and was the master of ships for the new Kingdom. Óengus (Angus) is considered to
be the first of the MacInnes Clan and is thought to be buried on Iona.
It is established that the first part is a fiction, Oengus was not a brother of Fergus and Loarn this has been an old
fiction based on an Irish favoured triad establishment trying to get all things
lined up to a common Irish genealogical source. Independent
of that there is certianly no evidence that this Oengus was the founder of Clann MacInnes over 800 years later; nor is there any evidence that this Oengus
was buried on Iona. It is all supposition based to a degree on Irish myth and others enthusiasm to make connections where
none exist, and we keep on perpetuating the account as though it was true.
grew in influence and strength, and eventually overran the indigenous Pictish peoples and their culture. The area then became
known as Scotland after these Scotti immigrants.
No it did not overrun the
Picts or their culture… in fact it was the other way round in the 8th century when the purported Pict Oengus I ruled over then as dis his descendants … and it is highly likely that by this time Oengus I and his lot weren’t Picts but an infusion of Irish
Celt with Pict also. It was Christianity the Irish, Gaelic and the written word that wrote the Picts out of history, when
they still existed, and do so in our bloodlines to this day. Its is another supposition, I am afraid, based on Irish myth.
It is believed
that MacInneses lived on Iona with Columba. This again is conjecture without proof, but it
could well be correct.
Oengus and his descendants would have exploited their
seagoing skills and ventured to Iona at an early time. …. but not the Oengus referred to and not from Islay as is inferred, and certainly not recorded or proven.
Iona is the final
resting-place of many with our name and lore says that Columba selected the site whereupon the Kiel Church now stands in Lochaline
near Kinlochaline Castle, the castle built by the MacInneses.
During the 9th century the clan
moved out of the western isles and into Argyll (Morvern and Ardgour). This was most likely as a result of constant Viking
raids in the islands.
This is complete supposition and
made up to create a link between Islay and Morvern. There is absolutely no evidence that this occurred, and it is highly likely
it did not, and definitely not in the 9th century at the end of Dal Riata's days, when Pictish descendants (as an Irish Celt
Pict) controlled the scene for a good period until a united Alba came into being. If their had of been there would have been
some account of it in an Irish annal and a complete kindred do not just migrate leaving no one behind. Check a telephone book
for Islay and then Morvern and you will see what I mean.
By the early 12th century MacInnes
people were well established in all of Morvern (but not from Islay, they had been there
all along)(the peninsula bounded by Loch Sunnart and Loch Linnhe and adjacent to the Isle of Mull). The traditional
seat of the Chiefs of Clan MacInnes was established there in Kinlochaline Castle.
No it was not.. Kinlochaline was a ‘keep’ and not a residence castle as it is now, and it also probably wasn't built (according British Govt sources) until the 15th century
before it was sacked by Colkitto. This was after the mhic Aonghais chief had been killed at Ardtornish Castle in 1390. He was mhic Aonghais of Ardgour also, and he lived in Ardgour, not Morvern; or specifically Lochaline.
As the Viking raids continued
to terrorise their lands the MacInneses became members of an alliance known as Siol Gillebride (Seed of the Servant of St.
Bride) along with MacGillivrays, MacMasters and MacEachearns somewhat in the manner of Clan Chattan, under the leadership
of the Celtic-Norse warrior Somerled (killed in 1164, often referred to as Somerled MacGillebride, and his father was believed
to be a MacAonghais Chief).
Nowhere is there evidence that Somerled’s
father was a mhic Aonghais chief. In fact he was not - DNA proves that Gillebride was of Norse blood. The clann name had not
been established at that stage either. This is a complete fiction I am afraid as another wild imaginative association to connect
Somerled to the mchic Aonghais
bloodline, which by the way is predominant Celtic; as in Pict, Irish Scoti, and Irish.
grandson was the first of Clan Donald (McDougall and McDonald clans).
I don’t dispute this last part...
The arms consist,Quarterly, 1st, a lion rampant Gules, armed and langued Azure; 2nd,
Argent, a dexter hand couped fessways grasping a man's heart paleways Gules;
3rd, Azure, a boar's head couped Or, armed Proper and langued Gules; 4th, Or, a lymphad sails
furled Azure, flagged and surmounted of her oars in saltire Gules.
War Cry: "Loch Moigh"
(Lake of Plain)
Motto: "Touch not the cat bot a
glove" (Touch not the cat without a glove.)
Plant Badge: "Red Whortleberry"
Adamson, Ayson, Aysons
of N.Z. Clark, Clarke, Clarkson, Clerk, Crerar, Dallas, Elder, Esson, Glen, Glennie, Gollan, Heggie,
Hardie, Hardy, MacAndrew, MacAy, MacCardney, MacClerich, MacChiery, McConchy, Macglashan, Machardie,
Machardy, Machay, Mackeggie, McKillican, MacLerie, MacNiven, MacRitchie, Niven, Noble, Ritchie,
Tarril, Tosh and Toshach.
History: Probably the earliest
authentic history of Mackintosh is traceable to Shaw or Seach MACDUFF, a Cadet son of the third
Earl of Fife. The son of MACDUFF, for his support of Malcolm IV, was awarded the lands of Petty
and Breachley in Invernesshire and was appointed Constable of the Castle thereto. Assuming the name
"Mac-an-Toisch", which means "Son of the Thane or Chief", he began his
own Clan. The Clan support of James I in 1429 resulted in large tracts of land in the valley of
the river Findhorn, the lands of Petty being settled on the Mackintoshes. Clan Mackintosh was involved
in the "Battle of the Thirty", a mass trial by combat, which was held
under the judicial control of the King in 1396 on the North Inch of Perth, in which Clan Mackintosh
regained all lands taken from the Shaws.
The chief and his clansmen supported Robert the Bruce, particularly against the Comyns and they also supported the Marquess of Montrose in his campaign on behalf of King Charles I
The 5th chief led his clan at the Battle of Largs in 1263, during the reign of King Alexander III. His son was raised by his uncle, the Lord of the Isles and he married the
daughter of the chief of Clan Chattan in Lochaber, extending the clan lands to Glenloy and
Loch Arkaig. After that, the Clan Chattan, which developed into a loose confederation of independent
clans, was usually led by a Mackintosh (though challenged on occasions by the Macphersons).
Clan Mackintosh supported the King in the revolt of 1688, but in 1715,
The Mackintosh gave its support to the Jacobite Rebellion. 800 clansmen supported
the Jacobite cause then. Many Mackintosh clansmen were transported to America after
the defeat of that uprising.
At the "45 Rising", Angus, who held a commission
in the Black Watch, could not, in honor, raise the Clan for Prince Charles Edward. When Prince Charles Edward Stuart landed in Scotland in 1745, the clan chief was absent but his wife raised men for the Prince's
army. During the retreat in 1746, Prince Charles was received by Lady Mackintosh at
Moy and the Prince's bed is still to be seen in Moy Hall today.
The Chattan Regiment distinguised
itself at the Battle of Culloden under the leadership of the Chief of the MacGillivray's and was
one of only two Scottish Regiments which did not lose their colors.
In more modern times,
Charles Macintosh invented a fabric waterproofing process in 1823 which became the Macintosh raincoat. Charles Rennie
Mackintosh (1868-1928) was an innovative and influential architect, his works including the Glasgow School
of Art, Queen's Cross Church and the Hill House in Helensburgh.
Plant Badge:"Fraoch Grom" Common heath or heather
Name: Mac an t-saoir means "son of the carpenter" or "wright" and is a 1,200 year
Motto: "Per Ardua" Through difficulties
War Cry: "Cruachan" A mountain near Loch Awe
The bards (folk tellers) of Scotland first recall Clan MacIntyre being on the Isle of Skye about
800 A.D. They lived
on lands held by the Donalds of Sleat, a part of the Clan Donald (MacDonald). Clan MacIntyre is a sept of Clan Donald.
About 1100 A.D. the MacIntyres left the Isle of Skye and made a
home in Glen Noe on the shores of Loch Etive in Argyleshire. These were the lands of the Clan Campbell where they paid rent
until around 1806 when the Clan Chief and most of the clans people left Scotland for America, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.
In Gaelic, the name MacIntyre
is rendered "Mac-anTsaoir", meaning son of the carpenter. A traditional account dates the origins of the name to the early
twelfth century, when Somerled was establishing his lordship in the Western Isles. After Olav the Red, Norse King of Man and
the Isles, resisted Somerled's ambitions, he then resorted to diplomacy, and sought the hand of the kings daughter, Ragnhild,
in marriage. Somerled's nephew, Macarill or Maurice, assured his uncle that he could devise a scheme to win the bride. It
is said that Macarill sabotaged Olav's galley by boring holes in the hull, which he then plugged with tallow. He contrived
to be a passenger on the kings galley, and went well supplied with wooden plugs. Heavy seas washed out the tallow and the
galley began to flounder, at which point Macarill promised to save the kings life if he would promise his daughters hand to
Somerled. The pact was sealed, and the plugs used to stop the leaks. Macarill was thereafter known as the "wright or carpenter",
and found high favour with his uncle.
Macarill's descendants later established themselves on the mainland where, according to legend, they were warned
by a spirit only to settle where a white cow in their herd came to rest. The land they settled was the rich and fertile Glen
Noe by Ben Cruachan on Loch Etive. By the end of the thirteenth century the MacIntyres were foresters to the Lord of Lorn,
an office they held through the passing of the lordship from the MacDougalls to the Stewarts and finally the Campbells.
As the family records have
been lost, the MacIntyre chiefs cannot be listed with any accuracy, but the first chief of record was Duncan, who married
a daughter of Campbell of Barcaldine. Duncan died in 1695 and was buried in Ardchattan Priory in a tomb worthy of his rank.
Through the Barcaldine connection, the MacIntyre chiefs claim descent from Robert the Bruce. The civil war in Scotland provided
a convenient excuse for many clans to settle old scores. The Earl of Argyll was not only leader of the Covenanter faction
in Scottish Parliament, but he was also the implacable foe of many clans whose fortunes had been eclipsed by the rise of the
Campbells. The earl's lands were ravaged, but royalist forces commanded by Alasdair MacDonald, "Colkitto", spared Glen Noe
on the grounds that the MacIntyres were kinsmen. Many MacIntyres subsequently joined Colkitto's army, including the chief's
piper. The chief, however, was with Argyll at Inverlochy in February 1645 when the Campbells were surprised by Montrose and
James, the third chief, was born around 1727. He was sponsored by the Campbell Earl of Breadabane and studied law,
being regarded as a good scholar and poet. On his father's death he returned to Glen Noe. When Prince Charles Edward Stuart
raised his father's standard at Glenfinnan in 1745, James would have joined him but for the influence of his Campbell wife
and neighbours. Many clansmen, however, slipped away and fought under Stewart of Appin at Culloden. The great MacIntyre bard,
Duncan Ban, fought for the house of Hanover at the Battle of Falkirk in 1746. A monument to the poet's memory was erected
in 1859 near Loch Awe.
The MacIntyres originally held their lands by right of the sword, but they had acquired feudal obligations to the
Campbells. The payments were purely symbolic until the early eighteenth century, when Campbell of Breadabane persuaded the
MacIntyre chief to pay a cash rent. The rent was then progressively raised to a point where Donald, the fourth recorded chief,
was unable to pay, and he emigrated to America in 1783, leaving his brother, Duncan, to manage the estate. Duncan struggled
until 1806, when he, too, left the glen. The chiefly line continued to honour their Scottish origins in America, preserving
the armorial great seal, signet ring and quaffing cup. In 1955 Alasdair MacIntyre of Camus-na-h-erie recorded arms in the
Lyon Court as cadet of the chiefly house of MacIntyre. The shield was quite different from that which clan historians believed
to be correct. This unhappy state of affairs was corrected in 1991, when James Wallace MacIntyre of Glenoe, ninth of recorded
chiefs, matriculated the correct undifferenced arms. The MacIntyres once more take their seat on the Council of Clan Chiefs,
and even Duncan Ban's lonely monument is more accessible, with a Forestry Commission stopping place from which it may be viewed.
MacIntyres who left Scotland and went to England, frequently 'anglicized' their
name to fit in with the local population. Since MacIntyre means, son of the Wright or carpenter, they often removed the MAC
and translated INTYRE or the Gaelic "an t'Saoir" into Wright or Joiner.
Septs of the Clan: Tyre,
MacTear, Wright, McEntire
Names associated with the clan: MacCosham MacCoshim MacEntyre
MacInteer MacIntire MacIntyir MacIntyr MacIntyre MacKentyre MacKintyre MacOisein MacTear MacTeer MacTeir MacTer MacTere MacTeyr
MacTier MacTire MacTyr MacTyre MacYntyre Makintare Makteir Makter Maktyre Mteir Ryght Tire Tyre Wiricht Wirrycht Wirryht Wirycht Wrecht Wreicht Wreight Wright
Clan MacIver is an armigerous clan. (Recognized by the Lord Lyon, but without a recognized chief.)
clan name of MacIver is of Gaelic origin, derived from an Old Norse personal
name. It is the anglicized version of the Gaelic “Mac Íomhair”
which means "son of Íomhar". The name Lomhar
is derived from the old Norse “Ivarr.”
forms of the surname MacIver are considered sept names (followers or members) of several historically large
Scottish clans, such as clans Campbell and Mackenzie. There exists a Clan Iver society in Fife,
The crest badge used by members of Clan MacIver contains the motto nunquam
obliviscar ("i will never forget") and the heraldic crest of a boar's head. Both the
crest and motto are very similar to the crest and motto of the chief of Clan Campbell. The tartan
is thought to be of relatively recent origin and is very similar to that of the Clan Macfie.
MacIver of Asknish, MacIver of Lergachonzie, MacIver of Stronshiray
associated with the clan: Euer Evar Evir Ewar Ewer Ewers Horie Hurray Hurrie Hurry
Ivar Iver Iverach Iverson Ivirach Ivor Ivory Iwur MacAver MacCowir MacCuir MacCur
MacCure MacEiver MacEuer MacEuir MacEur MacEure MacEvar MacEver MacEwer MacEwir MacEwyre MacGeever
MacGiver MacGlasrich MacGlasserig MacGlassrich MacIvar MacIver MacIverach MacIvirach MacIvor MacKeaver
MacKeever MacKeevor MacKeiver MacKeur MacKever MacKevor MacKevors MacKewer MacKewyr MacKiver
MacKivers MacKivirrich MacKuir MacKure MacQuay MacQue MacQuee MacQuie MacUir
MacUre MacWade MacWha MacWhae MacYuir Makcure Makewer Makiver Orr Orre Oure Ure Urie Urri Urrie
Urry Yvar Yvir Ywar
Origin, confusion and Campbells: According to some, it is very
unlikely that there is a common origin for one Clan MacIver.
Campbell of Airds maintains that Principal P. C. Campbell confused matters with his
Account of the Clan Iver. Principal
Campbell, at the time publication of his Account,
was petitioning the Lord Lyon King of Arms to recognise him as "Chief of Clan
Iver". Campbell was ultimately unsuccessful in his bid for chiefship. According to Campbell of
Airds, the modern Clan MacIver
is also a dubious concept because it encompasses all MacIvers
regardless of their origin, and that the "modern game of clan-constructing
is again being played.”
claimed that the MacIvers originated in Glenlyon, and settled in Argyll in
1222. The Victorian illustrator R. R. McIan considered the MacIvers to have descended
from Duncan, Lord of Lochow, making them descend from the same stock as the Campbells. According to legend, a stronghold of the MacIvers was the ancient fort of Dun
Mor (Dunmore), located near Lochgilphead.
According to Ane
Accompt of the Genealogie of the Campbells, the eponymous Iver
was one of two illegitimate sons of Colin Maol Math (the other illegitimate son being Tavish Coir,
from whom the MacTavishes claim descent). According to Ane Accompt,
Iver's mother was to have been a daughter of Suibhne, who was the founder of Castle Sween, and is thought to be a member of the kindred of Anrothan
who held lands in Cowal, Glassary and Knapdale (Suibhne is claimed as the eponymous ancestor of
The MacIver-Campbells: The leading family of the MacIver Campbells were the MacIvers
of Lergachonzie and Stronshira. A branch of the MacIvers were Captains of the Castle
of Inveraray, where the standing stone in the grounds of the castle was said to
have been the boundary between the lands of the MacIvers and the MacVicars. Other branches of MacIver
Campbells include the MacIver Campbells of Ballochyle in Cowal, the Campbells
of Kirnan in Glassary, the Campbells of Pennymore on Loch Fyne, south of Inveraray, and
the Campbells of Ardlarach near Ardfern, Craignish.[Principal Campbell himself belonged to the Campbells of Quoycrook in Caithness.
They were claimed to have descended from MacIvers of Lergachonzie. Campbell also
claimed that the related families to this branch were the Campbells of Duchernan, the
Campbells of Thurso and Lochend, and the Iverachs of Wideford in Orkney. Campbell
of Airds notes that both the arms of the Iverachs and the Campbells of Duchernan display the gyronny
prevalent in Campbell heraldry.
June, 1564, at Dunoon, in an agreement between Iver MacIver of Lergachonzie,
Campbell, 5th Earl of Argyll, the earl renounced all calps from those of the name MacIver,
in return for a sum of money, though the Earl reserved the calp of Iver MacIver and his successors.
According to Campbell of Airds, it would seem that dating from this agreement many MacIvers began
using the name Campbell or MacIver-Campbell.
Ross: According to the traditions
of the Mackenzies, a clan of Macivers were located in Wester Ross, across The Minch from Lewis. George Mackenzie, 1st Earl of Cromartie mentioned this family in his dubious 'history of the Mackenzies'. He claimed that the 'MacIvors',
'MacAulas', 'MacBollans', and 'Clan Tarlich' were the ancient inhabitants of Kintail, and were all descended from Norwegian families.
The Wester Ross Macivers have also
been connected to the Battle of
Bealach nam Broig (battle of "the pass of the brogue"), fought between various north-western highland clans
from the lands of Ross, against the followers of the Earl of Ross.[ Today the date of the battle is generally given at about 1452. Robert Gordon of Gordonstoun, writing in the early 17th century, stated that the Ross clans consisted of "Clan-juer", "Clantalvigh",
and "Clan-leajwe". The 19th century historian F W L Thomas translated these as "Clan-iver", "Clan-t-aluigh, i.e.,
Clan-Aulay", and "Clan-leaive, i.e., Clan-Leay". According to Gordon, a force of Munros and Dingwalls overtook the mentioned clans and fought them at "Bealligh-ne-Broig",
between Ferrin-Donald and Loch Broom. Gordon stated that "Clan-Iver", "Clantalvich" and "Clan
Laive" were "utterlie extinguished and slain".
Lewis: The early 20th century historian William C Mackenzie
noted that The Highlands of Scotland in 1750
stated that "the most common inhabitants of Lewis are Morrisons, McAulays and McKivers, but when they go from home, all who live under Seaforth call themselves Mackenzies". Mackenzie considered that the majority of the Lewis Macivers seemed to have settled on the island
with the arrival of the Mackenzies. The Mackenzies took control of Lewis in the
early 16th century.
As tenants of the Earl of Seaforth, the inhabitants of Lewis followed Clan Mackenzie.
Mackenzie, 5th Earl of Seaforth decided to support the Jacobites forces in the 1715 Jacobite Rebellion. Mackenzie stated that Seaforth drew up a list
of officers to command his troops. Seaforth's list of officers contained 16 Lewismen: four captains,
four lieutenants, and four ensigns. Of these, two were MacIvers: [Lieutenant]
Kenneth Maciver, Bragar; and [Ensign] S. Maciver, Callernish.
Manu forti - "With a strong hand".
Badge: A hand holding a dagger.
Chief: The current chief of Clan Mackay is Hugh Mackay, 14th Lord Reay. Also Baron Mackay van Ophemert and Zennewijnen, of the Netherlands. Also Baronet of Strathnaver
Castles: Varrich Castle was the ancient seat of the chief of
Clan Mackay but the chief later moved to Tongue House.
Borve Castle, Sutherland was used by the Clan Mackay as an outpost for raiding other
of the Clan.
Mackays are believed to descend from the ancient tribes that existed in Scotland called the Picts. However the name is also found from ancient times in Holland where the Mackays became noted for their many branches
in the region. Each house acquired a status and influence that was envied by the princess of the
region. The name Mackay is also found in Ireland from ancient times when several tribes from the northern
area of Ireland, which was once part of one of the ancient Scottish kingdoms
known as Dál Riata, moved across the sea to Scotland.
The Mackays in Scotland were seated in Strathnaver north of Sutherland. Although the exact origin of the Clan Mackay is unknown
it is generally accepted that they belonged to the early Celtic population of Scotland, although, from their
proximity to the Norse immigrants, it is not at all improbable that latterly the
two races became largely blended.
The most popular and accepted
theory as to the origins of the chieftainship of the Clan Mackay, is that the chief was descended
from the Pictish Royal House of MacEth. It is said that his clansmen were
originally from Ireland, following two brothers deported after battle loss for the kingship in 335
A.D. They settled in Moray but were dispersed principally north to the Strathnaver region by order of King Malcolm IV of Scotland in 1160 who defeated Malcolm MacEth, Earl of Ross whose daughter Gormflaith married the Norse Harold, Earl of Caithness. Their son was called MacHeth who was raised to the chieftenship of his Clan Mackay in
The name is a translation to English of the Gaelic "Mac Aoidh," meaning 'Son of Aodh.' or 'Son of Fire' The
feminine form is "Nic Aoidh,' meaning 'Daughter of Aoidh.' or 'Daughter of Fire' The feminine prefix
'nic' is the genitive form of 'ni.' The genitive form of 'mac' is 'mhic' (pronounced 'vik'),
but this is not usually prefixed to root names that begin with a vowel. Instead,
a slender vowel (usually 'i') is inserted behind the principal vowel, and an 'h' is placed before
the initial vowel when it is used on its own (without a prefix): Aodh (pronounced "ookh") > hAoidh
(pronounced "hoo-ey" - which is why the personal name Aodh/Aoidh/hAoidh is translated
as 'Hugh' and 'Huey'), but no 'h' when there is a prefix - Mac/Nic Aoidh (Aoidh,
pronounced "oo-ey"). See end of next paragraph for details on pronunciation in the original Gaelic.
from the 12th century show Mac Aedh, Mac Aed, and Mac Heth. It should be remembered that all
these form are basically attempts to render into Old Scots and Old English, as
accurately as possible, the sounds of what was then the Scottish Celtic
language, and was very different from Scots and English.
variants Mackay and McKay are common, and M'Kay is found in older records. Other variants
include Y, Aytho, MacIye, Makky, Macky, Maky, McKye, McKeye, Mackie, Mckie,
Mackey, McKy, McAy, McCei, MacCay, McCay, Mackee, Makgie, Magee, McKee, MacHery, Mahery, Ison, Eason,
Easson, MacQuoid, Quoid and many others.
Septs of the Clan: Allan, Allanson, Bain, Bayne,
Kay, Key, MacAllan, MacBain, MacCaa, MacCaw, MacCay, MacGaa, MacGaw, MacGee,
MacGhee, MacGhie, MacKay, MacKee, Mackie, MacPhail, MacQue, MacQuey, MacQuoid, MacVail,
MacVain, MacVane, Morgan, Neilson, Nelson, Paul, Pole, Poleson, Pollard, Polson,
Reay, Scobie, Williamson.
Names associated with the clan:
Aue Ave Ay Aye Bain Baine Baines Bane Bayin Bayn Bayne Baynes Baynne Bean Beanes
Beine Bene Bhaine Caw Coid Fail Fall Heth MacAllan MacAllane MacAoidh MacAth MacAw
MacAy MacCa MacCaa MacCaidh MacCaoidh MacCaw MacCawe MacCay MacCey MacCoid MacCoy MacCue MacEda
MacEth MacEthe MacFaell MacFail MacFal MacFale MacFall MacFaul MacFauld MacFaull MacFayle MacFoill
MacFyall MacGaa MacGaw MacHeth MacIye MacKa MacKaa MacKaay MacKai MacKau MacKaw MacKawe MacKay MacKe
MacKeay MacKee MacKeiy MacKew MacKey MacKie MacKphaill MacKy MacKye MacPaill
MacPaul MacPhael MacPhaell MacPhail MacPhaile MacPhaill MacPhale MacPhaul MacPhaull MacPhayll
MacPhell MacPhial MacPhiel MacQha MacQua MacQuade MacQuaid MacQuey MacQuhae MacQuid MacQuiod MacVail
MacVale MacWhaugh MacWhaw MacWhey MacWhy MacYe Makaw Makay Makca Makcaw Makcawe Makcoe Makfaill
Makfale Makfele Makie Makkaw Makkcae Makke Makkee Makkey Makkie Makphaile Maky Morgan Morgund
Murgan Neelson Neillsone Neilson Neilsone Neilsoun Neilsoune Neleson Nelesoun
Nelson Nelsone Nelsonne Nelsoun Neylsone Nickphaile Nielson Nilson Nilsone Nilsoune Nylson
Pal Paul Paule Paull Paulson Paulsoun Poilson Poilsone Poilsoun
Pol Pole Poleson Pollsoun Polson Polsone Polsoun Polsun Polyson Polysoun Poulson Quaid Quay Quoid
Reay Strathnaver Vail
of the name “MacCoy” hailing from Islay, Skye, Kintyre or Antrim and
were originally MacKay’s of Islay, may be members of Clan Donald.
Mackie is a Lowland Scottish clan. The clan does not have a chief recognised by the Lord Lyon King of Arms therefore the clan is considered an armigerous clan, meaning that it is considered to have had at one time a recognised chief, or a chief who possessed
the chiefly arms of the name, however no one at present is in possession of such arms.
The clan-name Mackie is an Anglicised form of the Gaelic Mac Aodha, meaning "son of Aodh". The Gaelic personal name Aodh is an old one and means "fire".
Clan Mackie was a prominent Galwegien family in the 16th and early 17th centuries. The Mackies of Larg were the
principal family of the clan. At the beginning of the 17th century, Sir Patrick Mackie of Larg
was one the original fifty Scottish undertakers of the plantation of Ulster. About 1,000 acres (4.05 km2; 1.56 sq mi) of his lands, near Donegal, were however later taken over by John, earl of Annandale. The Mackies of Larg acquired the lands of Bargaly in Kirkcudbrightshire and Auchencairn near Castle Douglas. Today there are still Mackies in Kirkcudbrigh
Origin of the name
Gaelic Name: MacFhionghuin
Motto: Audentes Fortuna Juvat (Fortune assists the daring)
Lands: Iona and North
Origin of Name: Gaelic, ‘Son of the fair
Clan Chief: Madam Anne Gunhild Mackinnon
of Mackinnon. 38th Chief
of the Name and Arms of Mackinnon
The surname MacKinnon is an Anglicisation of the Gaelic Mac Fhionghuin, which is a patronymic form of the Gaelic personal name meaning "fair born" or "fair son". This personal name appears in the Book of Deer, in the genitive form as Finguni. In the Annals of the Four Masters, a Fínghin, described as "anchorite and Bishop of Iona", is recorded as dying in 966.
Middle Irish forms of the name are Finghin and Finnguine, while the Modern Irish is Findgaine. These names are thought to derive from the prehistoric Gaelic Vindo-gonio-s (translation: "fair-born"). The Anglicised MacKinnon has also
been thought to derive from the Gaelic Mac Ionmhuinn, a similar patronymic
name meaning "son of the beloved one". In consequence some "MacKinnons" have Anglicised their name
to Love or Low, although very few of people with these surnames actually derive their
name this way, and most have no connection with the Mackinnons
Clan Mackinnon or Clan Fingon is a Highland Scottish clan associated with the islands of Mull and Skye, in the Inner Hebrides.
Popular tradition gives the
clan a Dalriadic Gaelic origin. The 19th century historian W. F. Skene named the clan as one of the seven clans of Siol Alpin - who according Skene could all trace their ancestry back to Alpin, father of Cináed mac Ailpín. Popular tradition has been until recently to consider Cináed mac Ailpín the first King of Scots and a Gael, however recent research has shown he was actually a Pictish king and likely a Pict himself. Sir Iain Moncreiffe of that Ilk speculated that Clan Mackinnon belonged to the kindred of Saint Columba, noting the MacKinnon Arms bore the hand of the saint holding the Cross, and the several MacKinnon Abbots of Iona.
Though little is known of the early history of
the clan, it is likely to have served under the Lords of the Isles. After the forfeiture of the
Lordship of the Isles in 1493 the clan would have gained some independence, and was at various times
allied or at war with neighbouring clans such as the MacLeans and the MacDonalds. The clan supported the Jacobites in the 17th and 18th centuries, and tradition has the chief of the clan aiding in the escape of
Bonnie Prince Charlie in his flight to France. Because of their support for the last Jacobite rebellion the Mackinnon chiefs lost the last of their ancient clan lands.
Little is known of the early history of the clan.
The 19th century historian W. F. Skene gave the clan a descent linked to the clans of Siol Alpin.
He claimed that the Finguine who appears in the MS of 1450 was the brother of the Anrias
of whom the Clan Gregor claim descent from in about 1130. Because of the clan's early association with the Lords of the Isles there is no trace of early history of the Mackinnons as an independent clan. On the forfeiture
of the last Lord of the Isles in the 1490s the clan at last gained some independence,
though the Clan Mackinnon was always a minor clan and never gained any great power.
Myth and Legend
According to legend, the castle
of Dunakin (today known as Caisteal Maol), near Kyleakin, was built by a Norwegian princess, known as "Saucy Mary", who married Findanus the claimed ancestor
of Clan Mackinnon. The princess was to have collected the tolls of ships sailing through the narrows
between the castle and the mainland, though Norse ships were exempt from her toll. To ensure that
her taxes were paid a chain was stretched across the kyle. On her death she was buried beneath a cairn on Beinn na Cailleach (the mountain of the old woman).
Hope In God
and Their Name.
The McKnights are descended from a certain Laird of Glenara, a chieftain
of the MacNaughton clan (MacNaughtane, MacNaughton, or McNaghten). This is one
of the three clans descended from the old Maomors of Moray, sovereigns of the Pictish
race. The McNaughtons were in the ancient days a powerful family, and among their large estates
were those called Glenara, Glenshire and Glenfire. In 1267 Gilchrist MacNaughtane of that ilk was
by King Alexander III appointed veritable keeper of his castle and island of Frechelan,
whence the tower was assumed as the heraldic insignia.
Sir Alexander McNaughtane of that ilk was knighted by James IV and
on the fatal expedition into England, and was killed in 1513 on the field
of Flodden. His son and successor Joh MacNaughtaine, had three sons:
Alexander, who died without surviving issue; Malcolm, called Glenshira, who succeded his father
and died in the reigh of James IV, leaving two sons – Col. Alexander, his heir and John,
who married but had no issue.
John, the third son, called Shane Duh (Black John)
who went to Ireland as
secretary to his great uncle, the first Earl of Antrim and settled in
CountyAntrim in 1580, was succeeded by his son and heir, Daniel, and the
latter by his son John McNaughtan of Benvarden, Co. Antrim, whose grandsons succeeded
in the 18th century to the Chieftainship of the MacNaughtan Clan upon the extinction of the Scottish
line descended from Malcolm.
The Laird of Glanara, Chief of the MacNaughtan Clan,
was knighted in the reign of James IV. His son was locally styled McKnight (son of a knight),
from which designation the change in the family name appears to have
subsequently taken its origin. This was possibly influenced by the
circumstance that this branch
of the family embraced the doctrines of the
Reformation at a very early period, while the main
body of the clan remained staunch Roman Catholics to a comparatively recent date.
the crushing of the Irish Rebellion under Sir Cahir O'Dogherty in 1607
King James of England divided the province of Ulster, Ireland into lots and
encouraged it colonization. Due to the fact that the coast of Ulster was so close
to that of Scotland, particularly Dumbarshire, Renfrewshire, Ayshire,
Galloway and Dumfrushire, a steady stream of Scots crossed to Ulster Province
and settled in County Down and Antrim. Members of the MacNaughtan
Clan settled near Lisburn on the Logan River near Belfast. The name MacNaughtan
in Ireland is spelled McKnight.
the stream of emigration from the colonies to Scotland and Ireland took
place about 1700 to 1750 those from Ireland (Ulster Scots) were the ancestors
of the McKnights now in the United States. Those coming to the colonies
directly from Scotland carried the name MacNaughton, MacNaught or McKnight."
following is copied from "MacKnight Genealogy 1738-1981 & Allied
Families", page 3. Written by Imogene Millican, at Denver Public Library (978.273M218m)
History of the McKnight Family in Scotland"
MacKnight fanily in Scotland was in early days a Sept (allied family) of
the MacNaughton (MacNaghten) Clan. The following history of this clan is from The Clans
and Tartans of Scotland (1964, William Collins Sons & Co., ): "The
progenitor of this ancient clan is alleged to be Nachtan Mor who lived about the tenth century.
The clan is supposed to be one of those transferred from the province
of Moray to the crown lands in Strathtay by Malcoln IV.
century later the possessed lands bordered on Loch Awe and Loch Fyne (west Scottish Highlands).
In 1267 Gilchrist MacNaughton and his heirs were appointed by Alexander III, keepers of the castle
of Froach Eilean in Loch Awe. The MacNaughtons also held the castle
of Dub Loch in Glen Shira and castle Dunderave
between Loch Fyne and Loch Awe.
Donald Mac Naughton opposed Bruce and lost most of
his possessions, but in the reign of David II, the fortune of the Macnaughtons were somewhat restored
by the grant of lands in Lewis."
The fortresses in Lewis
and Strathtay recall their wide ranged influence.
They eventually lost all but the picturesque
castle of Dunderae on Loch Fyne, "Clan" was the name applied to a group
of Kinsmen united under a chief, and claiming a common ancestor. They
lived as one great family on the lands they possessed.
the middle of the fifteen hundreds the MacKnight Family, which had been a Sept
under Clan MacNaughton since the early twelve hundreds, met all regulations and requirements (four
generations of ancestors who had been good citizens loyal and true to Clan and Country) the Chieftain
of the fifth generation was eligible to apply to the Lord Lyon King of Arms at Edinburgh
for matriculation as a separate clan. When all credentials were accounted by
the Court of the Lord Lyon King of Arms, they were registered in Court Records - and so - was
born Clan MacKnight.
The Scots love for his clan and his country accounted
for the slowness of
Scot emigration to America.
is conflicting information of the design of the Coat of Arms. One
gives the MacKnight Motto "Justum et Tenacem Porpositi" (Just and Firm
of Purpose) another "I Hope in God".
Maclaine of Lochbuie
Maclaine of Lochbuie is a highland Scottish clan. This clan is NOT a branch of
the Clan MacLean of Duart. The Maclaine of Lochbuie branch of the family are descended
from Hector, the brother of Lachlan. Lachlan founded the Duart branch of
Chief: Lorne Maclaine of Lochbuie, 26th
current) Chief is recognised by the Standing Council of Scottish Chiefs and
Macleans of Duart and the Maclaines of Lochbuie are of the same family, but
represent two different clans.
Maclaines of Lochbuie spelled their name 'Maclean' until the mid 1700's. As a
result, names spelled 'MacLean' are not automatically Duart, but may be
of the Clan:
MacFadyen, MacFadzean, MacGilvra, Macilvora,
Name: Mac'ill-Eathain Locchabuide
(Gaelic) - "Maclaine of
of Name: MacGhille Eoin (Gaelic) -
means "Son of the Servant of
John". The clan takes its name from the son of (Mac) Gillean (Ghille
vel Mori (Latin) - means "To Conquer or Die".
Isle of Mull.
Arms : Quarterly:
1st argent, a lion rampant gules; 2nd or, a lymphad, sails furled, oars in
saltire sable, flagged gules, in base vert a salmon naiant proper; 3rd or, a
dexter hand fessways coupled gules, holding a cross-crosslet fitcée azure; 4th
azure, a tower embattled argent masoned sable.
Left - a silver background with a red lion, unrestrained; Upper Right - a gold
background with a black galley, red flag, sails furled and oars crossed, in a
green sea with a salmon fish; Lower Left - a gold background with a red armored
right hand sideways, cut off, gripping a small blue cross; Lower Right - a blue
background with a silver embattled tower, black mortar joints.
Badge: a branch of laurel and a branch
of cypress in saltire,
surmounted of a battleaxe in pale, all proper.
hunting, Maclaine dress, Mull District.
Music: Lament for Maclaine of Lochbuie.
(Gillean of the Battleaxe).
Gillean Iain Maclaine, 26th Chief of the Clan Maclaine of Lochbuie and Feudal
Baron of Moy.
Maclaine, "The Younger Lochbuie".
Motto: Fortis Et Fidus which means Strong and Faithful
Chief: Euan John Maclachlan of Maclachlan, Chief of Clan Maclachlan, 25th
of Maclachlan and Baron of Strathlachlan. The chief's
seat is new Castle Lachlan
Castles: Castle Lachlan lies on the eastern shore of Loch Fyne, near Newton.
According to the Clan Maclachlan Society website,
the original castle dates back to the 13th century. See www.oldcastlelachlan.com, a
website launched in 2010 to promote fund-raising for a conservation project of this
nationally important building. The original castle was later replaced in the 15th century with the
keep or tower that today is in ruins. The ruined castle lies about 70 feet (21.3 m) north to
south, 54 feet (16.5 m) east to west, and at its highest point 43 feet (13.1 m) feet high.
The new Castle Lachlan which stands
about a ten minute walk away from the ruinous old
Castle Lachlan, is the seat of Clan Maclachlan. It was first built in the late
18th century, with the construction overseen by Donald Maclachlan. The new house was first
built in the Queen Anne
Style, then later at the end of the 19th century the "castle" was transformed into the Scottish baronial house that stands today. The castle, upon the 1,500 acres (2.3 sq mi; 6.1 km2) estate, has been divided in two with the chief residing in one part and the second available for
Origin of the name
Maclachlan claims as its eponymous ancestor Lachlan Mor. The surname Maclachlan is an Anglicised form of the Gaelic Mac Lachlainn which is the patronymic form of the Gaelic personal name Lochlann meaning "stranger". Lochlann
was originally a term to describe Scandinavia, composed of the elements loch (meaning "lake" or
"fjord") + lann (meaning "land").
Maclachlan, or Maclauchlan,
belongs to the great race of the Siol Conn, and has been traced to Gilchrist, a grandson of that
Anradan or Henry, from whom all the clans of the Siol Gillevray are said to be
descended. They possessed the barony of Strathlachlan in Cowal, and other extensive possessions
in the parishes of Glassrie and Kilmartin, and Loch Awe and Loch Fyne.
They were one of those Gaelic tribes who adopted
the oared galley for their special device, as indicative of their connection, either by residence
or descent, with the Isles. An ancestor of the family, Lachlan Mor, who lived in
the 13th century, is described in the Gaelic MS of 1450, as "son of Patrick, son of Gilchrist,
son of De dalan, called the clumsy, son of Anradan, from whom are descended also the clan Neill".
According to the Irish genealogies, the clan Lachlan, the Lamonds, and the
MacEwans of Otter, were kindred tribes, being descended from brothers who were sons of De dalan
above referred to, and tradition relates that they took possession of the greater part of the district
of Cowal, from Toward Point to Stacher at the same time; the Lamonds being separated from the MacEwans
by the river of Kilfinan, and the MacEwans from the Maclachlans by the stream which
separates the parishes of Kilfinan and Strath Lachlan. De dalan, the common ancestor
of these families, is stated in ancient Irish genealogies to have been the grandson of Hugh Atlaman,
the head of the great family of O'Neills, kings of Ireland.
1230, Gilchrist Maclachlan, who is mentioned in the manuscript of 1450 as chief of the family of
maclachlan at the time, is a witness to a charter of Kilfinan granted by Laumanus, ancestor of the
Lachlan, the 15th chief, dating from the time that written evidence can be adduced,
was served heir to his father, 23rd September 1719. He married a daughter of Stewart of Appin, and was killed at Culloden, fighting on the side of Prince Charles. The 18th
chief, his great-grandson, Robert maclachlan of Maclachlan, convener and one of the deputy-lieutenants
of Argyleshire, married in 1823, Helen, daughter of William A. Carruthers of Dormont, Dumfries-shire,
without issue. His brother, the next heir, George Maclachlan Esq, has three sons and a daughter.
The family seat, Castle Lachlan, built about 1790, near the old and ruinous tower,
formerly the residence of the chiefs, is situated in the centre of the family estate,
which is eleven miles in length, and, on an average, a mile and a half in breadth, and stretches
in one continued line along the eastern side of Loch Fyne. The effective force of the clan previous
to the rebellion on 1745, was estimated at 300 men. Their original seat, according to Mr Skene,
appears to have been in Lochaber, where a very old branch of the family has from the
earliest period been settled as members of Clan Cameron.
Septs of the Clan: Ewan, Ewen, Ewing, Gilchrist, Lachlan, Lauchlan,
MacEwan, MacEwen, MacGilchrist.
Names associated with the clan: Cogann Eogan Eogann Eoghan
Eoghann Eugene Eunson Eunsone Evan Evanson Evinson Ewain Ewan Ewen Ewenson Ewin Ewinesone Ewing
Ewinn Ewinson Ewinsoun Ewisone Ewnesoune Ewynson Ewynsone Ewynsoun Gilchrist Gilcrist Gilcriste
Gilcristes Gilcryst Gillchrist Gillechrist Gillecrist Gillecryst Keown Killecrist Lachaidh
Lachann Lachie Lachillan Lachlainn Lachlan Lachlane Lachlann Lachlanson Lachlin
Lachy Lauchlan Lauchland Lauchlanesone Lauchlein Laughlan Laughland Laughlin Lochlain Lochlan
Lochlane Lochlann Loghlan Lohlan Louchelan MacClachlane MacClachlene MacClaichlane MacClauchlan
MacClauchlane MacClauchlin MacCoun MacCuinn MacCune MacCunn MacCwne MacGilchrist MacGilcreist MacGilcrist
MacGlauchlin MacGlauflin MacHlachlan MacIlchreist MacIlcrist MacKlawchlane
MacKlawklane MacKlechreist MacLachan MacLachie MacLachlainn MacLachlan MacLachlane MacLachlin
MacLackie MacLaghlan MacLauchan MacLauchlan MacLauchlane MacLauchleine MacLauchlen MacLauchlin MacLaughlan
MacLaughland MacLaughlane MacLaughlin MacLawchtlane MacLlauchland MacLochlainn MacLochlin MacLoghlin
MacLouchlan MacLoughlin MacQuckian MacQuikan MacUne MacYllecrist Makclachlane
Makclauchlane Maklawchlane Vclauchlane Vclauchlayne
Crest badge: Note: the crest badge is made up of the chief's heraldic crest and motto.
Chief's crest: A demi-man representing
the figure of Saint Moluag Proper, his head ensigned of a circle of glory Or, having about his shoulders
a cloak Vert, holding in his dexter hand the great Staff of Saint Moluag Proper and in his sinister
hand a cross crosslet fitchée Azure, and in an Escrol over the same this Motto CNOC AINGEIL.
motto (slogan): CNOC AINGEIL (translation from Scottish Gaelic:
"Hill of fire").
Clan badge: The Flower of the
Grass of Parnassus.
Clan chief: Niall Livingstone of Bachuil, Baron of the Bachuil, Coarb of
St Moluag, Abbot of Lismore.
Despite claiming ancient heritage the clan was not formally
recognised by the Lord Lyon until 2003. The first clan chief of Clan MacLea to be recognised was William
Jervis Alastair Livingstone of Bachuil, in 2003. The late chief represented the clan as a member
of the Standing Council of Scottish Chiefs. William Jervis Alastair Livingstone of Bachuil
died in February 2008 and was succeeded by his son Niall.
The Clan MacLea is a Highland Scottish clan, which was traditionally located in the district of Lorn in Argyll, Scotland, and is seated on the Isle of Lismore. There is a tradition of some MacLeas Anglicising their names to Livingstone, thus the Clan Livingstone Society's website also refers to clan as the Highland Livingstones. The current chief of Clan MacLea was recognised by Lord Lyon as the "Coarb of Saint Moluag" and the "Hereditable Keeper of
the Great Staff of Saint Moluag."
Origin of the names MacLea and
conflicting theories of the etymology of MacLea, MacLay and similar surnames, and they could have multiple origins. The name may be
an Anglicisation of Mac an Léigh (Scottish Gaelic), meaning son of the physician.
The leading theory today, however, is that the name is derived from the patronymic Mac Dhunnshleibhe, meaning son of Donn
Sléibhe (son of + the brown haired, or chieftain
+ of the mountain). In 1910 Niall
Campbell, 10th Duke of Argyll maintained that the surname MacLea evolved from the name
Maconlea, which was originally Mac Dhunnshleibhe. By the eighteenth century the standard form of
the name had become MacLea or other forms with similar spellings (MacLeay, McClay, etc.).
surname Livingstone/Livingston is a habitual name derived from Levingston (Middle English), which is located in West Lothian, Scotland. Levingston was named after Leving who appears in the early
twelfth century in the charters of David I of Scotland. This Leving was the progenitor of the powerful aristocratic Livingston family. There are multiple theories of the origin of Leving (Anglo-Saxon, Fleming, Frank, Norman, and even Hungarian).
the mid seventeenth century James Livingston of Skirling, who was of a branch of these Lowland Livingstons, was
granted a nineteen year lease of the Bishoprics of Argyll and the Isles. Sometime before 1648, James Livingston seems to have stayed at Achanduin Castle on Lismore, and it is thought that around this time that
the surname Livingstone would have been adopted by MacLeas on the island.
of Argyll wrote that it was possible that the eponymic progenitor of all
the Mac(Duns)leves, (MacLeas, highland Livingstones,
etc.), of Lismore may be Dunshleibe son of Aedh
Alain O'Neill. Aed Alain was the son of the Irish prince Anrothan
O'Neill, who traditionally is said to have married a Princess of Dál Riata, inheriting her lands of Cowal and Knapdale. Anrothan in turn was a son of Aodh
O'Neill, King of Ailech (r.1030-1033). From him the family would ultimately descend
from Niall of the
Nine Hostages, High King of
Ireland, who reigned in the fifth century, although the O'Neill dynasty actually take their name from his descendant Niall Glúndub, a High King of Ireland living five centuries later. Dunshleibe
is also thought to have been the common ancestor of clans in western Argyll including the Lamonts, the MacEwens of Otter, the Maclachlans, the MacNeils of Barra, and the MacSweens.
Dunshleibe Ua Eochadha
alternative theory is that the Coarbs of Saint Moluag were closely related
to the rigdamnai or Royal Family of Ulster and that the use of the name Mac Duinnshleibhe was a proud
reminder and declaration of that fact. According to Byrne the Ulaid rigdamnai alone used the name Mac Duinnshleibhe
So for instance when after 1137 the Dál Fiatach kingship was confined to the descendants of Donn Sleibe
Mac Eochada (slain in 1091), the rigdamnai set themselves apart from the rest of the family by using
the name Mac Duinnshleibhe (Donleavy)." Francis John
Byrne, Irish Kings and High-Kings page 128.
It seems as though Ruaidhri Mac Duinnsleibhe was the last
king of Ulidia dying at the end of the twelfth century . Rory, son of Dunsleve,
is number 54 on O'Hart's roll of the kings of Ulidia and described as "the last king of Ulidia,
and its fifty-fourth king since the advent of St. Patrick to Ireland."
In Irish Pedigrees
– The Stem of the Dunlevy family, Princes of Ulidia, O'Hart says
Teamrach, the 81st Monarch of Ireland had a son named Fiach Fearmara, who was
ancestor of the Kings of Argyle and Dalriada, in Scotland: this Fiach was also the ancestor
of MacDunshleibe and O’Dunsleibhe, anglicised Dunlevy, Dunlief, Dunlop, Levingstone and Livingstone. …
to Dr O’Donovan descendants of this family (Cu-Uladh the son the
last MacDunshleibe King of Ulidia), soon after the English invasion of Ireland,
passed into Scotland, where they changed their name.
MacLellan, Gilliland, Clelland, and many others.
Chief: The clan does not currently have
a chief. It is, therefore, Armigerous.
to Scottish historians and the Lord Lyon King of Arms, Clan MacLellan
is an ancient, highly respected family and not a sept of any other clan.
Origins of the name:
name MacLellan has evolved from the Gaelic MacGille Fhaolain - 'son of a servant of Saint Fillan'. The name is Gaelic in origin. St Filan was a missionary of the old
Celtic church, and there is a village in Perthshire named after him. The name Filan itself is derived
from the Celtic ‘faelchu’, meaning ‘wolf’. The Maclellans were numerous
in Galloway and gave their name to Balmaclellan in Stewartry. Chief Duncan MacLellan appears in
a charter of Alexander II in 1217 which is now lost. The name MacLellan identified with Galloway
as early as 1273.
They possessed lands
in Galloway in the reign of Alexander II, 1217, and were hereditary sheriffs of that province. Maclellan
of Bombie, an ancestor of Lord Kirkcudbright, accompanied the Scottish patriot,
Wallace, when, after his defeat at Falkirk, in 1298, he sailed from Kirkcudbright for
France, in order to entreat the help of Philip, the French king, in his struggle against Edward
I., their common enemy.
The Maclellans became so numerous and prosperous
about the beginning of the fifteenth century, that there were no fewer than fourteen knights of
the name at that period living in Galloway.
were from the earliest times staunch Royalists, and zealously supported the
successive kings of Scotland in their contests with their turbulent and too powerful nobles.
SIR ROBERT MACLELLAN, a direct descendant of the Laird of Bombie whom the Earl of Douglas
murdered, was one of the Gentlemen of the Bed-chamber, and was raised to the
peerage by Charles I., in 1633, by the title of Lord Kirkcudbright. The newly created peer fought
gallantly on the royal side in the Great Civil War. JOHN, the third lord, was very eccentric and
hotheaded, and in his impetuous zeal on behalf of the royal cause, he compelled his vassals in a
body to take up arms in behalf of the King, and incurred such enormous expense in raising and arming
them as completely ruined his estates, which were seized and sold by his
creditors. As nothing was left to support the dignity, the title was not claimed for nearly sixty
years after the death of this luckless Royalist, and even then it was assumed only for the purpose
of voting in a keen contest, for the position of representative peer, between the Earls of Eglintoun
The sixth Baron Kirkcudbright,
de jure, was so reduced in his circumstances that he was obliged to support himself and his family
by keeping a glover’s shop in Edinburgh. Once a year, however, on
the night of the Peers’ Ball, he took his place in full dress, with his sword by his side,
among his brother nobles, and by this act asserted his equality of rank with those who on other
occasions were his customers.
The Edinburgh citizen who inherited, but
did not assume, the titles of his family, had three sons. The eldest predeceased him; the third
entered the Royal Navy, and was killed in 1782, in an engagement with the French, while in command
of the Superb, the flagship of Sir Edward Hughes. The second son, JOHN, seventh Lord Kirkcudbright,
on petition to the King, had his claim to the title allowed by the House of Lords
in 1773. He entered the army and attained the rank of lieutenant-colonel. He died in1801,
leaving two sons. The elder, SHOLTO HENRY, became eighth Lord Kirkcudbright, and died without issue.
The younger, CAMDEN GREY, ninth lord, had an only child—a daughter—and on his death,
in 1832, the title became dormant or extinct.*
Our clan was
without leadership during the clan revival in the 19th century, but in
1981, a small group began what is now Clan MacLellan, gathering members from around the world.
The "Scottish Diaspora" dispersed MacLellans throughout the world;
the largest numbers settled in Ulster, then Nova Scotia and the United
States. Some made their way to Australia.
MacLellan's Castle, found in Kirkcudbright in south-west Scotland
was the seat of the chief of Clan MacLellan. The castle's beginnings lie in the Reformation of 1560 which led to the abandonment of the Convent of Greyfriars which had stood on the site now
occupied by the castle since 1449.
Motto: Dum Spiro Spero
[While I breathe, I hope]
Clan chief: The current
chief of the clan is Ruairidh Donald George MacLennan of MacLennan, Chief
of the Name and Arms of MacLennan.
arms: The current chief's coat of arms is blazoned: Or, a heart of
Gules between two passion nails joined in base Sable, on a chief Azure a stag's head cabossed between
two antique crowns, all of the First.
Associated with Clan MacLennan
: Lobban, Logan
MacLennan, also known as Siol Ghillinnein, is a Highland Scottish clan which historically populated lands in the north-west of Scotland. The surname MacLennan in Scottish Gaelic is Mac Gille Fhinnein meaning the son
of the follower of St Finnan.
Origins: According to tradition the clans MacLennan and Logan are related. In
the fifteenth century a feud between the clans Logan and Fraser ended in a battle at North Kessock, in which the Clan Logan chief, Gilligorm, was killed. Gilligorm's
pregnant widow was captured by the Frasers and soon gave birth to a child. The Frasers intentionally
broke the child's back, who was named Crotair MacGilligorm because of his deformity. Crotair
MacGilligorm was educated by the monks at Beauly Priory and later founded churches at Kilmor, Sleat and Kilchrinin, Glenelg. His son, called Gille Fhinnein, is the supposed
progenitor of the Clan MacLennan.
In the 1970s, research by
the clan chief showed that the his ancestry could be traced back to the
ancient royal Celtic families of Ireland and Scotland through Aengus Macgillafinan, Lord of Locherne
St. Adamans recorded they were occupying Glenshiel at
an early date and were in residence at Eilean Donnan Castle before 1263. They spread to Strathearn
in Perthshire, Kirkcudbright, Dumbarton and Galloway. In Kintail, they lived with their kin, the
MacRuairis, who were granted ten davochs of Kintail by King David II of
Scotland in 1342. After successful raids on Tain and Chanonry in
1372 the clan suffered reprisal attacks by the Clan Fraser and Clan Macrae of Aird at Drumderfit, Black Isle.
15th century: The Maclennans settled
around Kintail, and they were related to the Clan Logan, who also held
lands in Easter Ross. (The Logans were to become most prominent in the Lowlands, where they became
Barons of Restalrig, near the Port of Leith). The Clan
MacLennan like the Clan Macrae were staunch supporters of the Clan Mackenzie of Kintail
whose chief held power in the area of Kintail. Neither were septs of the Mackenzies but they both
appear to have held the position of honourable and valued allies. However, other historians have
suggested that the original name of the clan was Logan, and that it was
not until the fifteenth century that the name Maclennan was adopted.
Bealach nam Broig. 1452.
The Clan McLennan and their allies were overwhelmed in the Great Battle of Bealach nam Broig in
1452. "A desperate skirmish,
which took place some time before this, at Bealach nam Broig, "betwixt the heights of Fearann
Donuil and Lochbraon," was brought about by some of Kintail's vassals, instigated by Donald Garbh
Maciver attempting to seize the Earl of Ross, but the plot having being discovered, Maciver was
seized by the Earl of Ross, Lord of the Isles' followers, and imprisoned in Dingwall. He was
soon releawsed, however, by his undaunted countrymen from Kenlochewe, followers
of MacKenzie of Kintial, consisting of Macivers, Maclennans, Macaulays, and Macleays, who, by way of reprisal, pursued and seized the Earl's son at Balnagown, and carried him along
father, Earl John, at once apprised the Lord Lovat, who was then His Majesty's Lieutenant
in the North, of the illegal seizure of his son, and he at once dispatched sic northward two hundred men, who, joined by Ross's
vassals, the Munros of Fowlis, and the Dingwalls of Kildun, pursued and overtook the western tribes
at Bealach nam Broig, where they were resting themselves. A desperate and bloody conflict ensued,
aggravated and exasperated by a keen and bitter recollection of ancient feud and
animosities. The Kenlochewe men (Macivers, Maclennans, Macaulays, and Macleays) seem
to have been completely extirpated and defeated. The race of Dingwall was actually
extinguished, one hundred and forty of their men having been slain, and the Munro family of Fowlis
although rescuing the hostage, lost eleven members of their house alone, with many of the leading
men of their clan.
century: During the Civil War the MacLennans followed the
Mackenzies who were on the Covenanter side. The Mackenzie chief was now the self proclaimed Lord Seaforth. They fought against James
Graham the 1st Marquess of Montrose who was the commander of the Royalist forces in Scotland at the