Lamon Bay (Northern part of Quezon).
It is the body of water connecting the northern part of Quezon to the Pacific Ocean. It bounds the coastal towns of Atimonan, Gumaca, Plaridel, Lopez and Calauag, and the island of Alabat. It is a very rich fishing ground and the home of various living corals. Most parts of the bay consist of gray sand. Some parts are filled with rocks and some are with living corals. It is gradually sloping that during low tide, the water level is low enough to allow one to walk as far as five hundred meters from the shore. The beaches in the towns of Gumaca and Plaridel are sandy and are ideal site for swimming. Some parts of the bay at about ten feet from the beach front are living corals. The town of Lopez has the best colonies of coral which are located just about 15 minutes ride by boat from the shore.
These are two islands located off the shore of Padre Burgos town. The bigger of the two, Malaking Talabaan, is a favorite jump-off point to the beaches of Padre Burgos and the neighboring town of Pagbilao. The smaller island, Maliit na Talabaan, is a rock formation jutting out of the sea. What makes this island unique is that the rocks seem to have been curiously arranged and piled.
Ina Ng Awa (Brgy. Sta. Lucia, Dolores).
It is near Kinabuhayan at the foot of Mt. Banahaw and also revered as mystical. The mystical caves which are revered by the religious sects are located in this area. Many small caves and rockshelters were given Biblical names and some also serve as altars for the sects. Some, like the Santong Husgado Cave, test the purity of the spirits of those who enter. The ones with clean spirit can easily pass through and the unclean ones will get pinned by the rocks inside the cave, preventing them from continuing, thus, they will have to turn back.
Church of Saint Louis of Toulouse (Lucban).
The first church was built in 1593 but was ruined in 1629. The second church was constructed between 1630 and 1640 but was razed by a fire in 1733. The present church was completed in 1738, and its convent in 1743. It was partly destroyed in World War II, and the Philippine Historical Conservation Society completed its renovation in 1966. The church is surrounded by gardens and grottos, and all these are fenced-in by old stone walls regarded locally as the "quince-quince!.
Located about three kilometers from the town port of Real, covers an area of about 23 hectares. Baluti Island which is almost part of the mainland is only separated by a wide river. Many parts of the island are covered with pine trees instead of coconut trees. The beach areas are closely located to two beach resorts - also near the beach front.
Mt. Banahaw (Western part of Quezon Province).
This 7,382 ft. extinct volcano is famous for its mystical attributes. Unique religious rites are held every Holy Week (the week before Easter) by pilgrims who believe that Christ walked in this mountain. There are thousands of people who flock to the site every Lenten season. There are approximately 70 - 90 registered religious sects which hold rituals every week before Easter in the area.
Patayan Island (Pagbilao Grande, Pagbilao).
Part of Pagbilao Grande Island, this is where the Tulay Buhangin (Sand Bridge) is located. So called as Patayan Island because old people say that this is the site where young men of the town were killed by pirates during the old times. The beach of the island is not made of sand by of smooth stones. This is the island where one end of the Tulay Buhangin is connected. A single house which serves as a resort is also situated in the island.
Pamplona Beach (Gen. Nakar).
The beach is about three kilometers in length and 40 meters wide. Large part of the area have fine gray sand, and smooth pebbles and rocks in some parts. Rocks with curious formations are also present at one end of the beach. A spring with cold water can be found near these rock formations.
Cathedral of San Diego de Alcala (Gumaca town proper).
First established in 1582 on its present site, it was transferred to Silanga in the island of Alabat in 1638. It was burned by the Dutch forces in 1665. It was reconstructed and beautified in 1846. It is known as the biggest and oldest Catholic church in the province of Quezon.
Location: Bounded on the north by Aurora province, on the east by Polillo Islands and Lamon Bay, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna and Batangas on the west and Tayabas Sea on the south.
Overview. Considered as the country's sixth largest province, Quezon abounds with numerous potential and exiting tourist attractions.
The nearest town of Quezon from Manila is Tiaong, which is only about one hour and 30 minutes away over good road. The town will most likely awe its visitors with its attractions, both developed (Villa Excudero) and almost untouched (Tikob Lake). The mystical Mt. Banahaw continues to attract not only pilgrims but curious travelers as well. Farther down south, one can have a choice between the forest of Quezon National Park and the beaches of the coastal towns which dot the province.
The relatively short distance between Quezon and Metro Manila should make the attractions in the province more feasible for tourism, specially for the towns which are located in the western part. Because Quezon is also part of the route to the Bicol Region both by bus and by train, its towns which serve as stop-over points for the travelers can benefit much in terms of revenue generated by accommodation and dining establisments.
Brief history. Quezon was at one time under the jurisdiction of various provinces. In 1585, the central protion was divided between Laguna and Nueva Ecija, while the other portion was divided between the provinces of Mindoro, Marinduque and Camarines.
In 1591, Tayabas was created into a province under the name of Kalilayan. On March 12, 1902, the civil government was established in Tayabas with Lucena as its capital. On June 12, 1902, the district of Principe, formerly under Nueva Ecija, and the district of Infanta, including Polillo which was under Laguna, were annexed to Tayabas. On September 7, 1946, Tayabas was renamed Quezon Province.
Points of interest
Malagunlong Bridge (Tayabas). It is considered to be the oldest one in the town which was built by the Spanish colonizers. However, it is not very clear if it was constructed before or after the town church which was built in 1585.
Kutang San Diego (Spanish Fort). Located at the town proper of Gumaca near the pear. The only remaining structure built under the supervision of Franciscan priests during the later part of the 18th Century. It was erected to help guard the town against sea pirates who may invade the area.
Iskong Bantay Watchtower (Atimonan town proper). It was built by the Spanish authorities as a watchtower to warn the townsfolk of Atimonan of impending attack of pirates from the sea.
San Antonio de Alcala Park (Maharlika Highway, Gumaca). The park features a promenade area facing Lamon Bay and the neighboring island of Alabat.
Gintong Yaman Ng Quezon Museum (Provincial Health Building, Capitol Compound, Lucena City.) The museum houses a collection of the memorabilia of former president Manuel L. Quezon. A large section of the museum contains the personal belongings of the former prominent people of the province.
Maria Cristina Park (Maharlika Highway, Atimonan). It is a promenade park with an area of 200 sq. meters built along the Lamon Bay area of the town of Atimonan.
Perez Park (Capitol Site, Lucena City). It is seven hectares of fully-developed and well-maintained area located at the heart of the provincial capital. It features a children's playground, beautifully landscaped garden, and man-made cave.
Malatunglan Dumagat Settlement (Sitio. Malatunglan, Gen. Nakar). It is an established Dumagat Settlement under the auspices of the Catholic Church and the local government of Gen. Nakar. There are about 22 families in the area. Trained instructors also educate the Dumagat people in a school building nearby.
Pagbilao Grande (Tayabas Bay, near the coast of Pagbilao). A group of islands located at the Tayabas Bay area where there are white sand beaches and rich fishing grounds.
Tikob Lake (Tiaong). About two kilometers in diameter and 75 meters deep, lies on the crater on an extinct volcano. Thick foliage surround the lake.
Puting Buhangin Beach (Pagbilao Grande area). It is a pure white sand beach which is a favorite site for bathers in Pagbilao during the summer months.
The white sand beach is about 70 meters long and 10 meters wide. The water is very clear and calm. At one end of the beach is a small cave.
Mamala (Brgy. Mamala I, Sariaya). Mamala is a small barangay which is located in the heart of Mt. Banahaw. The area enjoys a cool temperature of about 17 - 23 degrees celsius. About 400 meters from the end of the concrete road is the "jungle" (as the locals refer to it). What ca be found inside the jungle are lush vegetation and a river which supplies the irrigation system of the area. Giant ferns - some extending to more than ten feet are all over the sides of the foot trail.
Tayabas Bay (Sariaya area). To get there from the main highway in Sariaya, take the road which leads to several beach resorts in the area. About 19 kilometers of rough roads will have to be traversed. Travel time is one hour. Tayabas Bay in Sariaya is developed because of the presence of several large beach resorts. The sand is gray and the shoreline is gradually sloping.
Quezon National Park (Municipalities of Atimonan, Pagbilao and Padre Burgos). Has an area of about 983 hectares. It has an intricate system of caves, water falls, springs, creeks, gorges, and ravines against a quaint backdrop of lush greenery.
Local folks say that the park is full of living creatures from butterflies to birds and monkeys. If one is lucky, he can even see monkeys tagging along their youngs whild crossing the street. Trees are so tall and huge that the zigzag road is ever relatively dark.
The park is also the site for Pinagbanderahan (it can be reached by walking for about one hour from the road to the top of a ridge), a place where the Filipino Revolutionaries planted the Philippine flag in their fight against the Spanish colonizers.
Kinabuhayan (Brgy. Kinabuhayan, Dolores). This is the site where religious sects of Mt. Banahaw believe Christ spent his Calvary. Thousands of pilgrims (the number may reach 30,000) come to this area to fulfill their religious vows or be healed of their sickness. What can be found here are the rocks where they believe Christ was to have been tied (Pinaggapusan) to. His "footprint" embedded on a rock, and a cold and damp rock at the entrance of a cave which is said to have curing power.
Mag-asawang Bato (Off the coast of Padre Burgos). These are two pieces of big boulders jutting out of the sea. During low tide, the land where the stones stand are exposed so people can walk over it.
Pulong Niugan (Brgy. Hondagua, Lopez). The biggest of the three islands near the shore of the municipality of Lopez, Pulong Niugan is about three hectares in area and is a favorite picnic site of many locals of Lopez and the neighboring towns of Calauag and Gumaca.
The beach area is gradually sloping and the water is clear. Its best asset is the nearby colonies of corals (about 50 meters from the island).
Tulay Buhangin Island (Padre Burgos). This island is one of the favorite areas of vacationers who go to Padre Burgos. Although one beach front has been damaged, other parts of the island are still fit for swimming.
Pasig Island (Calauag). The attraction looks very much like an ordinary island in the Pacific seas. The people who live there (about 25 families) have very dark skin and brown hair. Coconut trees are all over the island. Aside from the cogon grass, bermuda grass also grows in abundance. Part of the perimeter of the island are covered with mangrove. Other parts of the beach are either made up of white sand or smooth slabs of rocks. The approach to the island (the distance from the shore is about one kilometer) is good for snorkeling because it has colonies of live corals. During low tide, the corals can be clearly seen from a boat.
Libjo Beach (Brgy. Libjo, Infanta). The beach is about two kilometers long and 30 meters wide and has been the favorite picnic area of many locals specially during the summer months. The sand is fine and light gray in color. The drop-off of water level is about 20 meters from the shore.
Balagbag Falls. The biggest of the three falls located at Brgy. Malapad is Real. Its hight is about 100 feet of cascading water.
San Francisco Beach (Brgy. Sibulan, Polillo). The beach is about one kilometer long and 25 meters wide. The color of the sand is light brown and the ocean floor slopes gradually. The area is the favorite picnic ground of the people of Polillo.
Coccoc Island (Polillo). Coccoc is a small island which looks like an umbrella from afar. White sand beaches surround the island. Although quite far from the town proper of Polillo, this particular island is also a favorite picnic area of many locals.
Bakaw Bakaw Island (Burdeos). The island is about one hectare in size and is filled with mangrove, talisay trees and other shrubs. The beach is gently sloping and is composed of light brown sand and crushed shells. The deeper area is dotted with isolated coral beds.
Binobombonan Island (Burdeos). The island has a land area of about one hectare and is still uninhabited. It is circular in shape and ringed by fine white sand. The sand level is gradually sloping and the water is very clear. The land is densely forested. Not far from the island is a good spot for snorkeling and diving.
Ikulong Island. Also located in Burdeos. The island is about 15 hectares in size and filled with coconut trees. Like the other islands, its sand is white in color.
Anilon Island (Burdeos). The island is a small islet or a large rock (which also looks like a land bridge) with a small cave where swimmers can pass through from one end to the other.
Malaking Malaguinoan Island (Brgy. Puting Bato, Burdeos). The major attractions of Puting Bato are its sheer cliff walls which look very much like the ones in El Nido, Palawan. Aside from the walls, there are small caves. Small isolated beaches which are good for swimming can also be found. Rock formations which look like umbrellas are numerous in the area.
Kabalwa Island (Burdeos). One of the bigger islands, it is about 40 hectares in size. Several beaches are also present in the island.
Palasan Island. Palasan is the biggest of the many islands of Burdeos. It is about 150 hectares in land area. Like the other islands, Palasan also has several beaches.
Anawan Island (Burdeos). Although the beaches in Anawan are good, it is very far from the pier. The distance is about 1.8 nautical miles. Its land area is about 18 hectares.
Sila Beach (Sila, Patnanungan). It is part of the main island of the town of Patnanungan. The beach is brown and gently sloping. Not far from the beach are colonies of corals. At one part of the beach are queer rock formations which look very much like speed boats docked in a marina.
Katakian Island (Patnanungan). The sand of the beach is brown and gently sloping. The beach is about 500 meters long and 20 meters wide. A wide area of coral reef is located near the island.
St. Michael Archangel Minor Basilica (Tayabas). One of the oldest churches in the country, it was first built in 1585 and repaired in 1950 using nipa and palm. In 1600, its materials were changed into bricks. The church was destroyed by an earthquake in 1743 and later rebuilt and made bigger in 1856.
Atimonan Church (Atimonan town proper). The church was first built in 1640 but was burned during the Dutch invasion. Rebuilt in 1643, it was partially destroyed by fire. During World War II, the whole town including the church, was leveled off by bombings. Reconstruction of the church started in 1979.
Zigzag Road (Quezon National Park, Atimonan). Its curves are so tight and the road so steep that vehiclees will have to literally crawl their way up. Around the road are lush vegetation of the Quezon National Park.
Sirena (Maharlika Highway, Atimonan). It is an interesting sight for the motorists passing by. The Sirena (Mermaid) is an imitation of the sculpture of the Little Mermaid in Denmark. Like the one in Europe, it also sits on top of a big boulder. It is located along the beach of Lamon Bay.
Japanese Tunnel (Brgy. Matinik, Lopez). This man-made tunnel was built by the Japanese forces during World War II as a shelter from the American and Filipino forces.
Pahiyas. (Lucban and Sariaya, Quezon 2nd Week of May). Also held in honor of San Isidro Labrador, the Pahiyas Festival is heralded with houses lavishly-decked with "kiping", (brilliants colored rice waters), arranged floral motifs or in chandelier like patterns, and harvested vegetables like pumpkins and eggplant. In the town are parades and processions in thanksgiving to San Isidro.