Make your own free website on Tripod.com

THE HOUSE SYSTEM

The House System was introduced into the school in the 2nd Term of 1930 by Miss H M Park who was Principal at the time.

It created healthy competition and friendly rivalry between the Houses and also a sense of unity among the girls in their respective Houses. The House system also encouraged girls to take on responsibility and brought out certain leadership qualities within each student that hitherto had remained dormant. Today we follow this same House system begun so long ago.

Each House has a different motto and bears a different colour. The colour of the school tie being green, each house is differentiated by a coloured band at the top denoting to which House a girl belongs.

 

HOUSE

MOTTO

COLOUR

SCOTT

"PLAY THE GAME"

BRICK

CHOATE

"KNIT TOGETHER IN LOVE AND SERVICE'"

BROWN

RIGBY

"NEVER SAY DIE"

PRIMROSE

RESTARICK

"UTMOST FOR THE HIGHEST"

CRIMSON

SHIRE HOUSE

"AIM HIGH AND PERSEVERE"

MAUVE

 

PARK

"UNITY IS STRENGTH"

SILVER GREY

 

Scott House was named after Miss Catherine Scott founder/principal of Methodist College.

Choate House was named after Miss Mary Choate who became principal in 1894. Miss Choate was at Methodist College for a long period of 33 years, 26 of which she served as Principal. It is interesting to note that she always were a brown dress - and perhaps that is how the House got its colour.

Rigby House was named after the Rev Rigby who was the manager of the school during two different periods. When he first came, Methodist College was a small school, ill-housed with poor facilities. But he believed we had a future and worked towards building new classrooms, which dream he achieved in 1916.

Restarick house was named after Rev Restarick, Manager of the school for a period of 13 years. He too did a lot for Methodist College and it was mainly due to his efforts that the present Hostel was built.

Shire House was named after Miss Elsie Shire who joined the school as a teacher in 1909 and later became vice-principal. She served the school selflessly for a period of 33 years.

Park House was named after Miss Helen Park, who came to Methodist College as vice-principal in 1912. Miss Park too completed 31 years of selfless devotion to the school, and retired as principal in 1943.

Each of these six founders of Methodist College, be they principals or managers was a noble example of willing sacrifice and valiant endeavour. To them Methodist College owes its very existence and much of its earlier progress. It is therefore fitting that they will be remembered always by the Houses that bear their names.