Bath, known as the Monquart, has long been a striving community. For the first half of the century of it's existence, Bath depended on the St. John River and its stage system for communication with the whole province. This process includes hydroelectric power, as well as travel by boat or another aquatic means. Later, in the 1870's, Bath received a transportation change, from the ways of the river to the ways of the rail. The railway vastly improved the inhabitants' ability to travel for work or just to tour the rest of the province. With the trains came new business such as excessive amounts of retail stores, a tannery, an axe factory, hotels, and blacksmith shops. They all became popular and dotted the community.
Settlement continued to grow and prosper and our little community was evidently becoming larger. By the turn of the century, Bath was able to provide space for the lodging of travellers, with the convenience of four hotels. The name Lockhart became well known for this because it was in that name that the first hotel was first constructed here. Along with the physical change of the area, it has since been socially changed. Entertainment of a family oriented community was enjoyed with ice races on the river, basket socials, barn dances, sporting events, quilting parties, and picnics. Included, today, is salmon fishing
and the famous Polar Dip.
RETURN TO OUR HOMEPAGE
For more information on our community or Access center, just e-mail the staff at firstname.lastname@example.org