In chess, as in life, each player has a style that is distinct and personal. Some styles are attacking, some defensive, and some positional or strategic. But usually the combination of styles in a proper and professional way could be the greatest weapon and new grand masters nowadays that made their debut in international arena acquire those mind-bending, unparalleled and yet indispensable skills which often boosted with their unabated patience in precarious predicaments.In this page we will spend a little time with the World Champions and some greatest exponents of strategy.

Chess World Champions


William Steinitz (1886 - 1894)
Emanuel Lasker (1894 - 1921)
Jose Raul Capablanca (1921 - 1927)
Alexander Alekhine (1927 - 1935 & 1937-1946)
Max Euwe (1935 - 1937)
Mikhail Botvinnik (1948-1957, 1958-1960 & 1961-1963)
Vasily Smyslov (1957-1958)
Mikhail Tal (1960-1961)
Tigran Petrosian (1963-1969)
Boris Spassky (1969-1972)
Robert James Fischer (1972-1975)
Anatoly Karpov (1975-1985)
Gary Kasparov (1985-present)


History of Chess

Improve your chess skill

Best Games