|
Pikeville Main Street Program | home
The Old Lodge/Church Building
163 Main Street
J.M. Fiddler, C.M. Parsons, Thomas O. Marrs, trustees of the Methodist Church South, and Thomas C. Cecil, for lodge 375 F & AM, signed a deed for a new brick church with W.M. Connally in 1885. The church was on the first floor and the masonic lodge on the second. It was the first "condominium" in Pikeville and is Italianate in style. The deed stated that both groups would have freedom of access to the land and the right to rebuild on the lot in case of fire. Sometime between 1910 and 1920, a ten foot extension was put on the facade of the building, obscuring the original gabled roof.
|