Sabin Pautza

Music Director

Sabin Pautza has been widely recognized as a conductor, composer and teacher in his native Romania and in Europe (International Who's Who in Music and Musicians, Cambridge, England).

He received his Master of Fine Arts in Music from the Bucharest Academy of Music in 1965 and studied composition at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana, Siena, Italy with Franco Donatoni. Among the awards he has received are the George Enesco Prize from the Romanian Academy, First Prize from the Composers Union, Bucharest, and the Honorable Mention at the International Composition Contest in Salt Lake City. Most recently, Mr. Pautza received Honorable Mention at the Nissim National Composition Contest for his "Sinfonia Sacra," commissioned by the Choral Art Society of New Jersey. He also won First Prize in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Composition Contest in January 1995 for his composition "Chimes."

Maestro Pautza holds an Honorary Doctorate in Music, awarded by the London Institute for Applied Research, England.

While Professor in Conducting and Composition at the George Enesco Academy of Music, Mr. Pautza served as Music Director and Conductor of the Academy Symphony Orchestra and as Principal Conductor of Romania's International Music Festival.

Maestro Pautza's music has already been released on four Compact Discs by the Swift Record Co., in the Omnia Opera series, which plans to issue his major works in ten volumes.

He made his American debut at Carnegie Hall in January 1985 with the New York University Orchestra, conducting his own composition "Haiku," poems for soprano and orchestra. Mr. Pautza conducts frequently in Europe, and in July 1997 he was invited to conduct in Sydney, Australia.

His composition entitled "Rita Dove Triptych" had its world premiere by the Plainfield Symphony Orchestra in November 1994, and his recent composition "Sinfonietta," which was dedicated to the Plainfield Symphony, premiered in May 1995. In November 1997 the Plainfield Symphony performed his most recent composition, the Saxophone Concerto, with Paul Cohen (who commissioned the work) as soloist.

Maestro Pautza is in his 12th season as Music Director/Conductor of the Plainfield Symphony Orchestra.


[ Home | News | Concert Schedule and Events | Contents | Contacts | Feedback ]

Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 1998 Plainfield Symphony Orchestra
Last modified: August 30, 1998