Directory of Important Indian Telecom Bodies

If you find the information outdated, would you please mail me:, preferably with the correct information, in which case I'd be happy to acknowledge your contribution to this document. Also if you can add to this list of bodies....


Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)

The Indian regulatory body for telecom.

Panel: Justice SS Sodhi, chairman, BK Zutshi,

Vice-chairman, N Ramachandran, member

Address: 16th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhavan,

1 Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110001

Tel.: 3737272/3738706

Contact: N Sharma


Ministry of Telecommunications

The ministry under central government responsible for policy formulation, licensing, and operating services throughout India except Delhi and Mumbai.

Office Bearer: Beni Prasad Varma, minister

Address: Sanchar Bhavan, 20 Ashoka Road,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel.: 11-3719898, Fax: 11-3711514


Telecom Commission

The top policy making body on telecom in the country

Office bearer(s): AV Gokak, chairman, P Khan, NK Sinha,

PS Saran, RRN Prasad, GC lyer (full-time members)

Address: Sanchar Bhavan, 20 Ashoka Road,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel.: 11-3719898, Fax: 11-3711514


Telecom Engineering Centre (TEC)

The wing of the ministry of telecommunications responsible for all technology and product approval.

Office Bearer: Dilip Sahay, senior DDG

Address: Khurshid Lal Bhavan, Eastern Court, Janpath,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel.: 11-3320252


Wireless Planning & Co-ordination (WPC) Wing

The wing of ministry of communications responsible for wireless planning and spectrum allocation

Office Bearer: RN Agarwal, wireless advisor

Address: Sanchar Bhavan, 20 Ashoka Road,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel: 11-3755420; Fax: 11-3716111


Department of Electronics (DoE)

The department under central government that is responsible for all electronics and software industries.

Office Bearer: Shyamal Ghosh, secretary

Address: Electronics Niketan, CGO Complex,

Lodi Road, New Delhi – 110003

Tel.: 11-4364757, 4364767; Fax: 11-4363134


Planning Commission

The independent commisssion responsible for overall economic planning for the country.

Office Bearer: Prof.Madhu Dandavate, deputy chairman

Address: Yojana Bhavan, Parliament Street,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel.: 11-3715481


Software Technology Park of India

The authority on all the export-oriented software technology parks in India, also an Internet Service Provider for software export companies.

Office Bearer: Sunil K Agarwal, director

Address: Electronics Niketan, CGO Complex, Lodi Road

New Delhi – 110003

Tel.: 11-4362811; Fax: 114364336


Videsh Sanchar Nigam Ltd. (VSNL)

This government managed company is India’s sole international service provider and the sole Internet service

provider. VSNL is also India’s largest telecommunications company.

Office Bearer: BK Syngal, chairman cum managing director

Address: Videsh Sanchar Bhavan, MG Road,

Mumbai – 400001

Tel.: 22-2624020, 2619632; Fax: 22-2624027

Associations & Organizations

Cellular Operators Association of India

The apex association of all mobile (GSM) service providers in India

Office Bearer: RK Takkar, secretary general

Address: F-301, Gauri Sadan, 5 Hailey Road,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel.: 11-3350369; Fax: 11-3350371

Contact: GP Sangal


Confederation of Indian Industry (CII)

One of the biggest industry associations that also has an exclusive committee on telecom.

Office Bearer: Vijai Kapur, chief, National Executive Committee on Telecom

Address: 23-26 Institutional Area, Lodi Road,

New Delhi – 110003

Tel.: 11-462994-6; Fax: 11-4626149

Contact: P Radhakishore


Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FICCI)

One of the top industry associations. It has done extensive work on telecom including a draft proposal.

Office Bearer(s): KK Modi, president; Dr Amit Mitra,

secretary general

Address: Federation House, Tansen Marg,

New Delhi – 110001

Tel.: 11-3319251; Fax: 11-3320714


Contact: Rajpal Singh


Indian Paging Service Association (IPSA)

An association of all paging service providers. The body collectively addresses the issues of the paging industry in the country.

Office Bearer: Pravin Kumar, president

Address: C-233, Sarvodaya Enclave

New Delhi – 110016

Tel.: 11-6864565; Fax: 11-6864474

Contact: PN Uppal