After the war’s end the Flossenbuerg camp was used temporarily to lodge prisoners of war, the UNRRA and refugees. Then in 1946, through the initiative of several local leaders, work was begun on a chapel and a graveyard at the site. The "Valley of Death" with its graves was laid out in the 1950s. Today some of the grounds of the former concentration camp are used as a housing project. The quarry is now run by a private concern. click to enlarge

Kap_But_4soft.GIF (2907 bytes)