The Haskell Family History
Arms - Vairé argent et sable. Crest - On a mount, an apple tree fructed proper. Motto - Vincit Veritas. (Truth Conquers) Haskell and Allied Families
Arms - Vairé argent et sable.
Crest - On a mount, an apple tree fructed proper.
Motto - Vincit Veritas. (Truth Conquers)
Haskell and Allied Families
By Herbert A. Hull
Americana Illustrated, Volume 21, No. 3 (1927)The surname Haskell meaning "the marsh" is according to some authorities of Welsh origin, but other authorities trace the patronymic as well as the family to Norman sources. The family is said to be descended from a companion of William the Conqueror, and to be of Norman-French stock. That the family is one anciently distinguished is evidenced by the fact that it is an armigerous family and that legend traces the origin of the crest to a definite incident which is said to have occurred at the battle of Hastings. The legend is this: at the battle of Hastings, William the Conqueror, being faint from the lack of food, saw in the distance, near the lines of Harold, an apple tree in fruit. Expressing the belief that some of the apples would revive him until the fortunes of the day should be decided, one of his attendant knights, Roger de Haskell by name, dashed forward amid a shower of the enemy's arrows and brought to his sovereign a scarf filled with the fruit, whereupon the Conqueror bade him bear as his crest a fruit-bearing apple tree pierced by a flying arrow. The arrow seems to have disappeared, but the apple-tree remains as a reminder to posterity of the courage of an early progenitor (the tree appears in the full crest, not on the arms [shield] as depicted here).
Variation of the Haskell name include: Askell, Askill, Achetell, Haskoll, Hascoll, Hascall...
An Interesting Mention of the Haskells
"In the 18th Century, Bearskin Neck was the site of fishermen's shanties, boat building shops, stores which sold boat gear, bait, and clams, an old tavern, and the 'lean-to' where Wm. Haskell, who wore earrings and did up his hair on curl papers, sold home made ginger pop & molasses candy...." (p.135, Saga of Cape Ann by Copeland & Rogers)
William Haskell, the son of William Haskell, was born in 1584 in Wincanton, England. He and his brother Mark appear to have been from Gillingham, or Motcombe-Gillingham. At the Gillingham-Motcombe Manor Court on April 10, 1598, we have the first mention of him: "William Hascall...aged 12 years and upwards was sworn in the assize of the Lady Queen." Generally, you were sworn in at or about age 21 (as his brother Mark was when sworn-in in 1586), his birth would have been around 1577. William and Mark were joint tenants at Motcombe between 1600 and 1610 before moving to Charlton-Musgrove. Tax lists show they paid extra for forges, indicating that they were both blacksmiths. William married "Ellin Foule (Elinor Foule or Frowde) at Berwick, St. John in the precincts of Cranborne Chase where both he and Mark had served as underkeepers of the forest from about 1598-1610. Together, the brothers succeeded to the property of Edward Parsons alias Frowde (Foule) at Charlton-Musgrove in 1610, but William remained underkeeper at Rushmore Walk on Cranborne Chase until after 1611, where he reported catching a greyhound killing deer on October 31, 1613. Roger, first recorded son of William, was baptized at Charlton-Musgrove on March 6, 1614, although it is certainly possible there were other children given that he and Elinor had been married since 1601.
From 1612 until his death in 1630, William was a joint tenant with brother Mark at Charlton Musgrove, but clearly still had ties to Motcombe-Gillingham where he claims a stray colt at the Gillingham manor court on June 20, 1621. In 1624, he was Overseer of the Poor at Charlton Musgrove and again in 1627/28. He was Churchwarden at the Charlton-Musgrove church, with Thomas Simes, from Easter, 1627 to Easter, 1628. He died on May 11, 1630, in Charlton-Musgrove, and his original accounts still survive. He was buried in the parish where he had been warden.
The old village in Wincanton was destroyed during the great plague in 1665. In 1833, there were 57 homes there, with a population of 367. The ancient church where William worked, and its graveyard, are still to be seen on Wincanton Road, not far from the village. After William's death in 1630, Elinor remarried to John Stone. Elinor died about 1650 in Massachusetts, where she and her family emigrated in 1635.
William and Elinor's son, Lt. William Haskell was born on November 8, 1618, in Charlton-Musgrave. He came to Salem, Massachusetts, in 1635 aboard the "Elizabeth" with his stepfather, mother and brothers. He moved from Salem to Gloucester in 1643.
He was a Puritan, and according to Americana Illustrated (American History Magazine), he was a "mariner, engaged in fishing, but found time to attend to much of the town's business, serving as selectman several years, and was represenative to the General Court six times in twenty years. In 1661 he was appointed lieutenant of the 'trayned band' and was later captain. He was one of the officers who refused in 1688 to assess the taxes levied by Sir Edmund Andros, and was fined by the Superior Court at Salem. The repudiated Governor, Andros, was finally driven out of New England by the indignant victims of his tyranny. In 1681 William Haskell joined with others in a petition to the King praying for the interposition of the crown to prevent the disturbance of title to Gloucester lands by Robert Mason, who made claim thereto. He was one of the first two known deacons of the first church at Gloucester..."
William married Mary Tybbott, the daughter of Walter Tybbott, on November 16, 1643, in Gloucester. Mary was born on November 6, 1628, in Chepstow, Wales, England. She died on August 16, 1693, in Gloucester, and William died four days later.
Their son, Mark, was born on April 8, 1658, in Gloucester. Mark married Elizabeth Giddings, the daughter of JOHN GIDDINGS and SARAH ALCOCK, on December 16, 1685, in Gloucester. Elizabeth was born in 1666 in Ipswich, and died September 15, 1725. Mark died on September 8, 1691.
Their son, William, was born on January 1, 1690, in Gloucester and died in 1766. William married Jemima Hubbard in 1712. Jemima was the daughter of RICHARD HUBBARD and MARTHA ALLEN, and was born November 11, 1684, in Salisbury, Massachussetts. Jemima died June 1, 1761, in Gloucester.
Their son, Hubbard, was born on May 3, 1720, in Gloucester. He married Anne/Anna Millet on November 17, 1740 in Gloucester. Anne was the daughter of NATHAN MILLETT and SARAH BABSON, and was born March 25, 1718 in Kettle Cove Villiage, Essex County, Massachusetts. Hubbard died April 9, 1811, in Gloucester, and Anne died October 17th, that same year.
Their son, Nathan, born on June 25, 1751, in Gloucester, married Judith Witham, and eventually settled in New Gloucester, Maine.
Their daughter, Mary Witham Haskell (1797-1864), married George Washington Waite (1793-1870), and eventually settled in Medway, Maine.