Make your own free website on


Home | National History | Purpose and Statements | Becoming a Member | File Downloads | Executive Board | AE Committees | AE Advisors | AE Pledge Class | LFS Photo Gallery | Calendar of Events | Contact Us | Links | AE Guestbook
Welcome to the Alpha Epsilon chapter website!
"Be a Leader, Be a Friend, Be of Service".

After receiving our original charter on May 31, 1932, the Alpha Epsilon chapter of Alpha Phi Omega began here at LSU in an honorable way. Not only had we become the first APO chapter in the state, but when Omicron Delta Kappa, an Honor Fraternity, was founded at LSU in 1933, two out of three officers were also key APO members. During the late 1950s and throughout the 1960s, little is known about our Chapter's existence. Alpha Epsilon did, however, continue until 1972 in order to use the Agricultural Center for the Annual Scout Show. In 1975, $800 was left behind in the Chapter's accounts and was transferred later to the LSU scholarship funds.

Five years later, David Picou and Morris Welch (APO Alumnus from the Delta Chapter) decided to organize a group of LSU students interested in service. On February 1, 1980, Welch and Picou's efforts resulted in the rechartering of the Alpha Epsilon chapter, and our chapter was once again reunited with Alpha Phi Omega and LSU. The Alpha Phi Omega chapter at Texas A&M (Xi Delta) presided at the rechartering ceremony as our big brother chapter. They were responsible for giving us our Alpha Phi Omega banner, and the famous "Golden Grapper" (known as the G.C.). Located in Region VII and in Section 45, Alpha Epsilon has since become one of the largest and most respected chapters in the nation.

The brothers listed below are our recharter members. They are responsible for getting the spirit and purpose of Alpha Phi Omega back on campus.

  • Kathy Barbier
  • Reed Bilbray
  • Tommy Bryson
  • Ruth Elsey
  • John Fourcade
  • Kelly Griggs
  • Debbie Harrell
  • Susan Ladner
  • Don Larson
  • Linda Mailhes
  • Amanda Main
  • Nova McCuller
  • Joe Neal
  • David Picou
  • Bill Schulte
  • Ted Shear
  • Sally Spain
  • Billy Morris (Honorary)
  • Bill Schulte

Recharter Advisors

  • David Bligh
  • Jeff Rials (Scouting)
  • Morris Welch (Chairperson)
  • Jeanne Sievert


Alpha Phi Omega * 14901 East 42nd Street * Independence,MO 64055-7347
The statements and opinions includded in the Alpha Epsilon chapter of Alpha Phi Omega, National Service Fraternity's pages are those only of the Alpha Epsilon chapter. Any statements and opinions included in these pages are not those of Louisiana State University or the LSU Board of Supervisors.

Copywright 2005
Alpha Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega, National Service Fraternity
All rights reserved.