Highlands Ranch High School - Mr. Sedivy
- Colorado History -
The Rough and Ready Mill was located at the west end of Main Street.
The Rough and Ready Mill burned down a total of three times.
Alamo Street was originally named Malinda Street.
The street names were attributable to Mr. Little's personal inclination. Low, Church, and Vermont Streets run east and west to the south of Main Street, while High and Berry parallel Main Street on its north side. Intersecting Main Street, running north and south are Rapp, Curtice, Nevada, and Prince Streets.
Curtice Street was named for a close friend of Richard Little's, Rodney Curtis.
Rapp Street was named for another of Little's friends, Charles Rapp.
Vermont Street recalled Richard Little's eastern home.
Prince Street was named after Little's favorite horse.
Richard and Angeline Little had only one child, a son named Lute.
The Lilley family had ten children.
Laura and Lewis B. Ames were the first two teachers in Littleton.
Littleton's first school was made of logs and cost $65 to build 1865 - 1866. The restored log school is now on the grounds of the Littleton Historical Museum.
The 74-mile-long Highline Canal drops 32 inches per mile.
Today's Sterne Lake was originally a pond made by John B. Mayers to supply ice to Littleton. The ice was moved to the nearby ice house and covered with sawdust to insulate it for use for the rest of the year.
The home of Fred Bemis was the first house to be built east of the railroad tracks.
In 1890, Ordinance No. 7 prohibited: "The running at large of horses, mules, donkeys, cattle, swine, sheep, goats or geese in the Town of Littleton."
In the 1890s, the speed limit for trains passing through Littleton was 15 miles per hour.
World War I recruits were trained at Ft. Logan.
There was much concern in 1916 regarding chickens running at large through town.
Front-wheel drive was invented in Littleton, Colorado by H. R. Holmes in 1920.
The Ku Klux Klan was a strong force in Colorado in the 1920s.
Rail-riding hobos often wandered through Littleton in the 1920s and '30s.
In 1940, the population of Littleton was only 2244.
In 1942, Denver began buying land south of Littleton's "Pickletown" to be used as an airport to supplement Stapleton. This land's boundaries were: Highline Canal on the north, Broadway on the west, County Line Road on the south, and University Blvd. on the east. (Thankfully, Denver lost interest in the project!)
In 1952, Littleton's median income was $2964, slightly less than Arapahoe County's average of $3095.
In French, "Platte" (South Platte River) means "flat."
The Otoe tribe called the Platte "Ne-Braska" meaning "flat-river."
Bear Creek was called Montana Creek in the 1850s.
The History of Littleton, Colorado
- Colorado History In Depth
The Cheyenne Social Club
Colorado's Role in the US Civil
Cripple Creek District Labor Strikes
More Colorado History
Highlands Ranch High School 9375 South Cresthill Lane Highlands Ranch, Colorado 80126 303-471-7000
Mr. Sedivy's History Classes
| Colorado History | American Government | Advanced Placement Modern European History | Rise of Nation State England | World History |
| Home | Back to the top of page | Site Contents |